Early in Henry's journey we started out shooting 2x a day at 2U. This was after he spent 2 days at vets during the day with them testing to determine what his starting dose should be. The first day we started testing he got a 70 at +8 or something. Then he got high 500+ numbers in the mornings for months. Early on he had the high 500 numbers in the AM mostly 400's at nadir and high 400's or above 500 in the PM. We would hold the dose for a few cycles and my vet would have me increase him a 1/2 unit. This seemed to only worsen his high numbers all day long and going up on the dose seemed to only make it worse. At one point he was up to 5U. The vet suggested I try once a day dosing. I know it sounds crazy but he started getting better mid numbers and PM readings were not as high even without shooting. Thats where that came from. I've never missed an AM shot since we started testing. Once he was 200 or below and I waited an our and 1/2 til he came up to 321 to shoot.
His AM numbers started dropping around the first of Feb. while we were on once a day dosing. He now is in lower 400's most mornings ( I know that is not ideal at all but when you had seen always above 500 and usually mid to upper 500's every morning for months it seems an improvement). He even has been in 300's a few times AM in the last few weeks. Sue contacted me around mid Feb. to see if I would like some help. At this time he was on 4 or 4.1 U SID and Sue suggested I try 2U BID. He had some numbers that were under 150 at +!2 and +!3. Then I reduced to 1.50U to see if that would help at other's suggestions. Then some suggested maybe he would get some movement by going down to 1.25, tried that for a while, then 1.35, now just in the last 2 days went back up to 1.50.
I feel comfortable shooting 200 or a small amount below but not a 150-170 particularly at night. I have checked him in the middle of the night a few times and he was holding in 140's at +9 and +10. He seems to shoot up sometime after that to 400's
The reason I am afraid is he has steep drops in the mornings sometimes from 400's down to lower 100's by +4.
I have tested your theory about dropping after eating at +11 until time for AMPS and that seems to be the case. I also have noticed sometimes he gets lower when he eats more during the day.
I appreciate all your input. Joanna suggested I try early dosing at +11, but since I had just changed his dose again, want to do one thing at a time. Too many coals in the fire and if get improvement won't be sure what helped.
I think he can do it too but he has other factors that I feel contribute mainly the walking difficulty and possible pain with that and need of a dental.
Thanks for your help, Lori.