4/3, Falafel, AMPS 231 +3.25 143 +6 61

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-2-falafel-pmps-180-2-25-128-3-93-4-80-5-91.288333/

I took the reduction today but am a bit worried because Falafel still exhibits excessive thirst - this is a symptom that went away during the first week of Lantus but came back and hasn’t gone away since. Does anyone else experience this still?

Also, last night I was thinking about switching to TR since I have more data on how she reacts to insulin. How would I go about doing that?
 
I can always tell when Gravys numbers are over 250 or so, as she drinks more, and then pees more. The vet was afraid maybe it was her kidneys but they were fine. I try not to worry (which can be difficult) and just concentrate on improving her numbers overall.
 
Also, last night I was thinking about switching to TR since I have more data on how she reacts to insulin. How would I go about doing that?
Great thought! You are testing more than enough for TR. :)
With TR, reductions are taken only below 50 on a human meter (I know that's a scary thought when you're new to green, but once get used to greens, they become addictive). If you decide to switch to TR, you want to take her back up to 0.25U tonight. Then give it 6-8 cycles on 0.25U to see if she needs more juice.
 
I can always tell when Gravys numbers are over 250 or so, as she drinks more, and then pees more. The vet was afraid maybe it was her kidneys but they were fine. I try not to worry (which can be difficult) and just concentrate on improving her numbers overall.
One day I will not worry! Lol. My worry definitely manifests in doing lots of research and then catastrophizing. So this was a good reality check.
 
Great thought! You are testing more than enough for TR. :)
With TR, reductions are taken only below 50 on a human meter (I know that's a scary thought when you're new to green, but once get used to greens, they become addictive). If you decide to switch to TR, you want to take her back up to 0.25U tonight. Then give it 6-8 cycles on 0.25U to see if she needs more juice.
Okay!!! Gonna do it tonight!

@Bandit's Mom @Karolina KJ & Nestle @tiffmaxee
Thank you team :cat:
I feel like we are graduating in our diabetes management lol. Falafel is also pooping (and eating) normally, FINALLY, so the number of things I've been constantly worrying about is decreasing and feels like I have more mental room for TR. On Friday I'll have an update to share because we're doing updated labs and another urinalysis. Hopefully good results.

Also in case anybody else reads this, this post that Bhooma shared with me a while back really helped me think about TR in a manageable way: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
Woah okay - +6 is 61 and I gave 0.1U this morning! (I begged to WFH because it's storming outside so I can test :P but this is going to change because my manager is getting tired of me...)

Should I still go back to 0.25U for PMPS tonight to start TR?

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top