4/3 Elizabeth AMPS 92, +5 106, PMPS 110, +3.25 103

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am having a very hard time determining if there is any insulin transferring to Elizabeth with the zero line shot. I know when I try it with food coloring, it is one drop, but I don't know that it's necessarily working the same way with Liz's shot. Should I move back from the line a bit?
 
I think I'd trust that if you can measure out a drop when you're practicing, you're probably also giving her a drop when you're really shooting. I don't think i'd increase the dose, I think i'd just keep on as you are.
 
Thanks, Julie. I have been watching Princess a bit, as I saw she used AT and was considering a trial. I just read today's thread you sent the link for and printed out some of the information. The most notable difference between Princess and Liz is that Liz free feeds all day, and eats the majority of her food during the night time hours. She's still on Hill's canned m/d because I didn't want to rush into introducing a new food until I saw how she was doing. Since she's been doing well, I haven't changed it. She sometimes eats a bit of the Fancy Feast Salmon (the classic with and without shrimp), along with her m/d just because I bought some, before learning here that it is considered too low in carbs to be the major part of regular diet. Is Hill's m/d considered medium carb?
Thanks! :cat:
 
Hill's m/d is 16% DM carbs. Generally for diabetic kitties you want to be under 10% carbs. Foods in the 5% or so range seem to work well. Changing to a lower carb food might help Liz finally go OTJ and stay OTJ. I'd make sure to watch her BG numbers if you do decide to change her food. It's was definitely a wise move to not try changing insulin doses and food at the same time. That makes it difficult to tell whether the food or the dosage is causing the changes in the BG numbers.

I'm glad that Princess is in a somewhat similar place as Liz (yay for more kitties doing well) so you have another current thread to watch and get additional information from.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top