4/3 Eeyore AMPS 248, +3 107, +5 81, +8 40 PMPS 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Previous Post

Thank you all for helping me last night with advice on Eeyore's lower preshot number!
After I gave him the 1.5 dose of insulin he got up and ate the rest of his dinner about 45 minutes later so that was at like 9:30-10pm. I was up working on a project so I was watching him and he was just chilling out in his bed, grooming himself and snoozing. I couldn't bring myself to poke him again, his poor ears needed a break. (thank you, julie for the neosporin tip) I tested at +4 and got 125. This morning he his up a little from where he has been recently at 248. I suppose he could have gotten lower than 125, I was curious how low he would get, but just couldn't poke him. I will monitor close again today, I had told myself if he was 400 or higher this morning I would go back to the 1.75 dose but since he was only 248 I will hold him at 1.5 for a few cycles and see what happens.
 
Re: 4/3 Eeyore +4 125, AMPS 248

Nice 125 that you got there! WTG!!! I, too, would hold the 1.5u just to be on the safe side, and then increase to 1.75u if need be. Hoping that Eeyore gives you a very lovely surf today. Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 4/3 Eeyore +4 125, AMPS 248

Hi guys .. not a bad start to the day at all! Mid yellows often lead to some nice blues :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/3 Eeyore AMPS 248, +3 107, +5 81, +8 40

Eeyore is hitting his nadir sooner today, he was at 50 at PMPS last night but its only +8 and he is already to 40!! I will be testing him frequently now until his pre-shot. I just fed him a small teaspoon of boiled chicken. I suppose this means he earns another decrease already to 1.25? Or depending on if he hasn't gone back up by the time of his PMPS I may stall shooting again.
 
Re: 4/3 Eeyore AMPS 248, +3 107, +5 81, +8 40

I'm posting from my phone do this'll be brief...

With that 40, I would give Eeyore some high carb, and since he's newly-diagnosed, I would reduce his dose by .25. And, of course, keep testing to make sure he is over 50 and stays there.
 
Re: 4/3 Eeyore AMPS 248, +3 107, +5 81, +8 40

i'm not following exactly on his schedule. can you clarify?

I know you stalled last night - what + number did you end up shooting?

were his last 2 shots 12 hours apart?

Amy's right about reducing the dose, but the question is, is the 40 from the 1.5u dose or is it leftover depot from the 1.75 shots? I'd think it's likely still from the previous dose, but this is a gray zone type of decision. 40 isn't a number to be taken lightly, so if you'd feel better going to 1.25u tonight, go ahead. If you are up for the potential of low numbers, you could hold the dose at 1.5u and monitor. All of that is assuming that the past several shots have all been either 12 hrs or more apart.
 
I ended up shooting Eeyore 45 min past the normal time last night. This morning I held his AM shot off by about 25 minutes so he would be as close to 12 hours as I could get him without now having tonight have to inadvertently be later also. So, basically yes, he is still, and has been on a 12 hour shot schedule. His pre shot now is 94 and Im letting him eat dinner so I think I feel ok with keeping the 1.5 instead of reducing down further to 1.25. I bought some smaller lancets today too so I feel more ok with testing him more often. I agree with you Julie, that possibly some of his numbers today are results of left over from the 1.75 dose.
 
how exciting! a lower preshot number can often lower the whole range - so wahoo!

would you get a +1 and a +2, please, so we make sure he's not diving? In fact, it looks like the +1 would be now-ish.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top