4/3 Dexter AMPS 358 +6 78

Rena

Member Since 2021
Hello, friends! I am looking for guidance, as Dexter's blood gluclose numbers seem to be getting higher as of late. I was wondering if I should increase his dose. I have been working too much to do a curve, but today at six hours after his dose, he was down to 76, so perhaps increasing dose is NOT the answer. I just updated his spreadsheet and hopefully saved it accurately. Please note when there are blanks, it was just because I lost the data, not because I forgot to test/medicate. I am in the process from switching from Friskies to Weruva because my other cat, Jolene, was diagnosed with kidney disease a few weeks ago. Am switching from low carb canned Friskies to low carb canned Weruva. Don't worry, I am only feeding Weruva and Friskies that are safely within the limits for both diabetics and kidney disease cats. All advice/input VERY appreciated. Thank you so much. Xo, Rena and Dexter.
 
Given that you are using at AT, 1.5 units is too much insulin for him. You don't want to see any numbers under 90 on the AT with the amount of testing you can do, below that is what shows the dose is too high. I would reduce his dose immediately to 1.25 units. I suspect the higher numbers you are seeing is bouncing from from lower numbers you are not seeing mid cycle.

Would it be possible to try to get a curve done once a week, or more spot checks mid cycle on weekends (or when you can) or just before going to bed? We really need to get a better idea what he is doing between the shots. We make dosing decisions based on how low the dose is taking the cat.

For history, here is the link to your last post here.
 
Back
Top