4/29 Trixie PMPS 151 +2 122 +4 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42169

Things are looking much better around here today. Both Frankie and Trixie ate breakfast, although not a huge amount. Trixie is definitely feeling more like herself. (On the other kitty front...everyone has eaten a little something except Noah. However, he at least came down and is being somewhat social.)

Right now I'm calling her 93 "AMPS", but I have to admit that I am strongly leaning towards not shooting again this morning. I hate to skip yet again, but after yesterday, with the possible barf potential, and the fact that once I leave for work at 10:00, I definitely can't come home until around 3:00 or so at the earliest, shooting just makes me nervous...I'm worried about her safety. I feel more comfortable getting back into the game this evening, when I know for 100% sure she's holding down a decent amount of food, and we're around to keep a close eye on her.

I know it's the wee hours....but any thoughts out there?

Amy

ETA: This is what I'm thinking...it's kind of a skewed approah, but under the circumstances, I'm not sure how else to take this. I'm going to test her again at 6:30; that will be an hour after she ate. If the food has made her numbers climb a fair amount (which I'm sure will probably happen), and she's kept her food down, I'll go with a reduced shot of .5U. I know it's a backwards approach, and it's not something I would do under normal circumstances, but I hate the thought of completely skipping, yet I'm nervous about shooting that 93 until I have a little more info....
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie AMPS 93 - shoot?

Good morning Amy.....I am up with the early risers. I-)
Did Trixie eat anything overnight?

I will check back with you in a little while. The 93 is not your AMPS +36, 93 because you did not shoot last night either.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 - shoot?

Hi Miriam-

I didn't leave any food out overnight. She ate a teeny tiny bit right before I went to bed at 11:30,but she wasn't exceptionally enthusiastic about it. I was concerned about the food possibly spoiling over night....

I've got 13 minutes till post-breakfast/re-test time. It's looking good as far as the "no barf" thing goes. Her appetite is back, but not 100%. Progress.

Amy
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

+37.25 - 138. Food is doing it's thing...I'm thinking BCS shot of .5,and hopefully back to normal business this evening. Sound good?
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

The only problem with this number is it is food induced but without any insulin for over 36 hours she should be fine with a reduced dose.
Is anyone home to test today?
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

Yeah, I know the number is a bit off because of food.

I'm home until about 9:45; after that, I can't get back home till around 3:00. Hubby MAY be able to come home around lunchtime, but no guarantees.

Do you think I should skip this morning, then get back on track this evening? That was my initial thought, but now I'm waiver...I hate skipping, but I worry about her going hypo, given the last day.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

I think you will be fine to shoot the reduced dose but you have to be comfortable. If you would rather skip and start tonight back on the regular dose I am sure Trixie will be fine.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

I have to admit, since I'm lacking flexibility to monitor her today - and because it's getting late now, thus reducing my pre-work testing window - I'm going to back to my original thought of skipping and getting back on track this evening.

Ugh...I can't wait to see how long it takes to recover from all this, numbers-wise!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

I am sure the shed will need refilling but you need to feel comfortable leaving her. Does she have food available during the day?
Have a good worry free day. :-D
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - shoot?

Sometimes I leave a little LC out for her...usually only when her numbers call for it, though. Under "normal" circumstances, it's usually past +4 when I leave for work, so I usually don't leave food out. I'll play it by ear today. She's definitely feeling much more like herself (as is Frankie)...a relief to see!

ETA - And thanks for all your help! LantusLand is the BEST!!!!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 - No AM shot again

Just been following along and agree ...

In this case why try and shoot late and then do adjustments all weekend long...just skip and shoot on fully back on schedule tonight.

Glad to read your two are feeling better. Whew...they may not want to go back on their regular fuds for a while....

Take care today and have a great stress free day!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 +40.25 101 no shot/ THOUGH

+40.25 - 106 :shock:

All righty...I'm not sure what I think of these numbers, so I'm turning to you seasoned FD veterans. Trixie has food on board (pretty close to a normal amount, no barfing, no runs), but hasn't had insulin in over 40 hours now...and she dropped over the course of 3 hours. Do we have a little P action going on here, or could she still be working off her shed?

I'm going to run home some time during the afternoon to check again...just not sure when I can do it, since I have a class to teach.

Thanks so much for ideas!

Amy

Edited to fix my type....her +40.25 was 106, not 101...
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 +40.25 106 no shot/ THOUGH

Hi guys .. no dosing/shot advice here but I have to say these are some pretty nice looking numbers for having no insulin for over 40 hours!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 +40.25 106 no shot/ THOUGH

I don't know either, Amy.....it's always possible Mr. P is in the house. These are lovely numbers for her. Just see what she does today and if you can post a +11 then someone can make some suggestions. Hope everyone in your house continues to feel better and eat.
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie +36 93 +37.25 138 +40.25 106 +45 128 THOUGHT

+45 128. I had left a little LC out on the counter when I left this morning, and it's gone...no idea who ate it or when, though. In hindsight, I'm of course wishing I hadn't done that, so I would know if this 128 is food-induced or not. Grrr ohmygod_smile .

Still barf free, but she was licking her lips a bit. Not really the nauseous lip-smacking thing, I don't think. She does still have a few sutures from the dental that haven't fallen out yet, so maybe they're annoying her.

I'll post an 11.5...that' the earliest I can make it back. Stalling for a bit tonight is no biggie, since it's the weekend.

Amy
 
Re: 4/29 Trixie PMPS 151

...and we are back on schedule - F1.0 coming up! Naturally, I was hoping this morning's trend carry on, but I can't complain about a 151 after going 48 hours without insulin.

The entire herd seems to be just about 100% again (anti jinx). Everyone was anxiously awaiting dinner, no barfs today, they're now picking on one another...ah, the good times. What a nightmare yesterday was...thanks for helping us through it, Lantus Land!!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top