4/29 Simon PMPS 88 +4 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I was very happy to see lots of green yesterday from Simon, but last night, I noticed something that is getting me very worried. Simon wasn't a member of the CPC yesterday, which is unusual for him if i feed him FF. He always will eat FF. I gave him a pepcid thinking his tummy was bothering him and then decided to give him a brushing. While brushing him, I noticed some bright red blood in and around Simon's anus and also a little dry white patch next to the opening. I thought Simon was constipated so I massaged his tummy and then he went right in and had some LB action. No worms noted in the stool, but the stool was hard and had a very, very small amount of blood in it.

Does anyone have any idea what this is and how worried should I be? The vet is not open today so I was going to bring him in tomorrow if I can wait until then. He did eat a little more this morning after much encouragement and also because I added a couple of crushed Tempations to his meal. Thanks so much for your help and advice!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69745
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

He may be constipated but I am only guessing. If his behavior or anything changes, I'd get him to the ER. If he's impacted, it can be dangerous. I would not give him Miralax unless you know what's going on.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but lots of get well thoughts sent simon's way .. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

Thanks Sienne and Devon. I am definitely going to watch his behavior and if I notice changes, I will bring him to ER. Right now, he is acting pretty normal...resting on his favorite blanket. He is alert and purring. No LB action so far this morning.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

Georgia, so sorry and I can understand the worry especially if Simon isn't eating as normal! Sending some vines for him to feel better. Keep us updated.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

Georgia --

Jill reminded me that this could be a ruptured anal sac. Here's what she said:

besides constipation, there's also the possibility simon has ruptured an anal sac. anal sacs can be found at 4 & 8 o'clock. the little white spot may be dead skin or dried pus from infection. it would also explain the blood. she can use a warm compress and then look to see if she can see a tiny tear in the skin.

if simon will let her...
she can use a warm spray of water to wash the area so she can see better. the "hydro therapy" will also be soothing. i put alex's rear end in the kitchen sink, front paws on the counter, and used the sprayer to accomplish this.

if it is a ruptured & infected anal sac, he'll be sore so proceed with caution. although, the warm compress/warm spray of water will probably bring him some relief.

i highly recomend antibiotics (ab ointment, metronidazole, & clindamycin) and laser therapy if it turns out the sac has ruptured. after an initial dose of bupe for pain, alex did not require any more pain meds while getting laser therapy along with the antibiotics... and she had a bad tear.

i also had to increase her insulin dose accordingly during all this. hopefully, simon's just constipated.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 Worried, advice please

Sienne, thanks for sending along Jill's post. The white spot looks like it is at about 11:00, not 4 or 8 so I don't know if that rules out an anal sac. I think it looks a little like a hemorroid (I'm thinking cats don't get hemorroids), so maybe it has to do with an anal sac issue. I will try the warm compress but I don't think Simon will tolerate the spray. He hates water and will freak out over the littlest drop on him.

Unfortunately, I have to go into work for a few hours but will come back for Simon's 12:00 feeding and will check on him. I'll do the warm compress before I leave. If he doesn't eat his lunch, I will try to get in touch with Simon's vet by phone.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 +3.5 148 advice please

I put the warm compress on Simon and he really liked it. He just sat there and purred. I can't see if there is a tear, but my eyes are not the greatest. When I go into work, I'll get a magnifying glass and bring it back so I can check Simon better.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon AMPS 168 +3.5 148 +6 143 advice please

Came home from work to check on Simon. He didn't greet me at the door, even when I started getting his food together. He was upstairs underneath the futon in the room where I test him. He usually does not hang out there. He did come out on his own for the test and ate about 3/4 of the food I gave him (with chicken pieces in it). I looked at his rear again and now I don't see any blood or any tears.

I did find out from DH that Simon did have a poop this morning but DH didn't look at it before he scooped it up and threw it away and didn't tell me so I could look at it. Bad daddy bean!

I have to go back to work but will be back in another couple of hours. I just hope this isn't anything too serious.
 
Re: 4/29 Simon PMPS 88

Healing vines coming at you from Tulsa! Hope Simon is feeling better. Nice greens but the eating and blood are a huge concern. ((((Georgia))))
 
Re: 4/29 Simon PMPS 88

Sending Simon healing vines. Impacted anal sacs can be very painful. I hope he feels better soon and you can figure out if it is constipation or something else.

nice PMPS!
 
Simon seems like he is feeling better tonight. Ate all his dinner and snack. Any other time, I would be excited about these green numbers, but not so much since he is not feeling like his normal self. I am calling the vet in the AM to bring him in for a check-up. He is due for his normal bloodwork and urinalysis/culture so he'll get the complete exam.

Thanks for everyone's well wishes and healing thoughts and vines. I can feel the love!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top