4/29 MOUSE AMPS 286...PMPS 195 glucose toxicity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mouse & Me

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-259-6-218-pmps-216-glucose-toxicity.194830/
Finally, a blue number!
Tomorrow, I'm supposed to up to dosage to 2.0 units, IF she stays in the high blues, OR stays in the 200s?
What if tonight, she goes lower? Still up the dose, as long as she doesn't go below a certain number?

She's acting hungry. I expected her to go down in numbers, but it's been rainy, cold, and bad sinus days for everyone here. She gets affected also. If she gets a runny eye, I give her 1/4 zyrtec. She's just been hungry, and blinking a lot, which means a headache. Been there many times. It makes her numbers go up when she's feeling off like today & yesterday.
Should I hold dose, because of the off days?
 
Check your PM dosages on your SS. I think there maybe one you didn't change to 1.75U? If this IS the 6th cycle on 1.75U and she is eating and you can monitor and are prepared I would increase tomorrow AM if you don't get low blues tonight. When trying to break through it is best to just keep going until you get her to better numbers.

Now, with that being said, you know her best and if you are not comfortable increasing, then don't but I wouldn't hold the dose too much longer. That's my opinion, I hope someone else will chime in but it is pretty quiet around here today :bighug:
 
I would increase tomorrow as planned, assuming she doesn't see some green tonight. They can have various things that affect their numbers and we try to dose the insulin around those conditions in a supportive way (by giving more when they have an episode which requires it, or less if say they aren't eating) rather than wait it out and see if they come down when the issue has passed. Especially true for a case where glucose toxicity has set in, it's enough of an effort to break it without holding a dose too long.

Yay for a blue preshot! I'm seeing the stinky pinkies become a thing of the past! Progress is happening! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top