Hi everyone, I just took Lucky's PMPS and was surprised to find an unexpectedly low (for Lucky anyways) reading of 177. Here's his spreadsheet, and these are his numbers so far today:
AMPS 267
+6 225
PMPS 177
Since he hasn't had such a low PMPS in such a long time and was raised to 1.5u bid a few days ago, I'm worried that giving him his shot right now might make his numbers go even lower (perhaps dangerously so?). I guess I'm wondering, should I still give his shot, or hold off on it? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you all again so very much!
The goal here is to get Lucky to spend increasing amounts of time in normal numbers (i.e., 50 - 120). Also, remember that a drop below 50 is that way that you reduce the dose. If it wasn't safe, the research that supports this approach would never have gotten published.
We typically tell people new to FD to not shoot below 150. Many of us will shoot as long as numbers are above 50. However, this is the lowest pre-shot number you've seen. When you have a low pre-shot you have 3 options:
skip -- I don't think this is a good option unless you aren't going to be home to monitor
stall -- you could wait 20 min. and re-test to see if numbers are rising
shoot a reduced dose
Obviously, the other option is to shoot. I'm leaning toward suggesting that you shoot. Remember, you will be feeding so numbers will be rising from the influence of food. Also, Lantus takes at least an hour or two for onset and numbers will be coming up during that time. As long as you can get a +1 and +2 and will be available to monitor, have strips and HC food in case you need it, you should be fine. However, you need to be comfortable with whatever you decide.
Thank you so much for this information and the quick reply. I just now decided to do another reading before checking back here on the forums, and had a big surprise --- Lucky dropped down even further to 115! I'm not sure why his morning shot is kicking in so strongly so late in the day, but I'm guessing based on the guidelines you mentioned that I should hold off on his shot for now. I'm going to do some more glucose readings for the next couple hours to see how low he gets. Thanks again for the information, Lucky and I both really appreciate it!