4/29 Honey AMPS 407, +6 428, PMPS 349, +6 *141*

I hope Honey comes back down soon. Are you able to get a before going to sleep test? That will help tell what Honey is doing at night.
 
I hope Honey comes back down soon. Are you able to get a before going to sleep test? That will help tell what Honey is doing at night.
Her shots are so late now, I cant stay up to get a mid cycle pm test and an hour or 2 after shot does not show much. I am going to put her back up tonight or tomorrow to 1 unit. Was waiting because she had a 117 after 4 cycles on this dose, so that looked promising, figured she was bouncing, but not sure at this point.
 
Hi Julie. If you want a different schedule for shooting to make getting some test in during the PM cycle, you could skip tonight's shoot and then shoot tomorrow AM the time that would be best for you to do every 12 hours. Then tomorrow AM give the increase to 1 unit. It's looking like she needs more juice.

The +2 is very telling. If it is lower than the pre shot number, it could indicate an active cycle where more testing would be necessary.
 
I guess I’ll do one more .75 tonight to see if the bounce clears from a couple days ago as this would be about 6 cycles from then. Then start 1 unit in the morning. I have had a lot of bubble issues this week too, almost every shot, have thrown out a lot of insulin every day re drawing trying to get rid of large bubbles that just won’t go away, so I think she actually got less than .75 several times this week. I am so sick of problems with these stupid syringes. I throw out about 20% of each box because they have some where needle is at an angle.
 
I guess I’ll do one more .75 tonight to see if the bounce clears from a couple days ago as this would be about 6 cycles from then. Then start 1 unit in the morning. I have had a lot of bubble issues this week too, almost every shot, have thrown out a lot of insulin every day re drawing trying to get rid of large bubbles that just won’t go away, so I think she actually got less than .75 several times this week. I am so sick of problems with these stupid syringes. I throw out about 20% of each box because they have some where needle is at an angle.
Which syringes are you using? I have had some similar problems with the ReliOn brand from Wal-Mart. I can't do anything about the bent needles, but I have a trick that I just discovered recently and has worked for most of my bubble issues. After I have drawn the insulin into the syringe, I almost always have at least 1 big bubble so I remove the needle from the Levemir pen and then move the plunger up and down really quickly several times (spanning about half the length of the syringe) and I would say 80% of the time it takes care of those bubbles. I hope I explained that okay, lol. Good luck!
 
Thanks Bobbie, good to know! I just did one for Ti-Mousse !:)
The +2 is very telling. If it is lower than the pre shot number, it could indicate an active cycle where more testing would be necessary.
The +2 test may be a good one for kitties on Lantus. For many it is, but it was useless for Neko when she was on Lantus. ECID. However, we don't have enough data yet on Honey to know if it works for her. For Levemir kitties and a later onset, it may or not be worthwhile, again ECID.

For my bubbly BD's, I had to draw in about a .5 to 1 units more than needed, then withdraw the needle from the cartridge. Then with the needle pointing up, I continued to draw the plunger down another unit or so, creating a larger bubble up top. Then I flicked the syringe. For some reason, bubbles seem to like to join other bubbles and the lower ones would drift up to the top. Then I could squeeze the plunger to get rid of that big bubble on top.
 
I guess I’ll do one more .75 tonight to see if the bounce clears from a couple days ago as this would be about 6 cycles from then. Then start 1 unit in the morning. I have had a lot of bubble issues this week too, almost every shot, have thrown out a lot of insulin every day re drawing trying to get rid of large bubbles that just won’t go away, so I think she actually got less than .75 several times this week. I am so sick of problems with these stupid syringes. I throw out about 20% of each box because they have some where needle is at an angle.
I think many of us have bubbles issues and needles at an angle, I use BD and experience that also. If you try to have something perfect: perfect shot, straight needle, no bubbles, exact timing, you'll be exhausted pretty soon! Just do your best and try to test more, specially at night, that's the key! You'll be happy when a pattern starts to popup! and try a +2 like Bobbie suggested! You'll get there!
 
I am qualifying the PM +6 because for 20-30 minutes before test I was chasing her with scissors trying to get poop out of her fur, it was not pretty.
So the 141 was likely higher than if she had not been stressed out. I took it thinking it would be high regardless and would have probably had to wait 30 minutes or more for her to calm down. Oh well.

Now am wondering if I should still raise dose in morning as it is looking like she may have stopped bouncing from the last several days. Depending on morning number may wait one more day to bump dose back up to see if she gets any more lower numbers during day on Tuesday.
 
I think many of us have bubbles issues and needles at an angle, I use BD and experience that also. If you try to have something perfect: perfect shot, straight needle, no bubbles, exact timing, you'll be exhausted pretty soon! Just do your best and try to test more, specially at night, that's the key! You'll be happy when a pattern starts to popup! and try a +2 like Bobbie suggested! You'll get there!
That is why I have thrown out so many needles and so much insulin. I need to draw 2 units every time to stand a chance getting rid of bubbles. I have tried less and end up throwing the works out and starting over.
 
Back
Top