4/29 Brutus +3 155 thanks Jill

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/29 Brutus high numbers after two good days?

yes, the high numbers are probably because of the late shot.
think of it this way... the shot was 5 hours late and then it took another 2 - 3 hours for onset to occur when you did shoot. the shed drained. time to fill it up. no worries... brutus will definitely come back down again.

just a suggestion... when you'll be around to monitor, try to hit those +12s unless they're extraordinarily low (like below 50). when shooting low, you'll want to get a +1 and +2. they will often provide clues as to which direction brutus will be heading.

+12 ~ 75
+14 ~ 77 <----- by +14, his numbers were the same. i would have shot here at the latest... keeping in mind that it would take another 2 - 3 hours before onset to occur
+15.5 ~ 140
+16 ~ 133
+17 AMPS ~ 150 <----- if you had shot at +12, nadir would have been occurring somewhere around here

we have a saying around here... "shoot low to stay low". a good time to try it is when you'll be around to monitor...
 
Re: 4/29 Brutus high numbers after two good days?

in the beginning, it was very difficult for me to wrap my head around shooting low preshot numbers. after all, i had seen alex drop from a ps number in the 200s to double digits at nadir. something we don't say often enough around here... you'll see a bigger drop from a higher ps number than you'll see shooting a lower ps number when shooting the exact same dose.

when alex was on lantus in 2006, it took me awhile to "get" how one could use carryover and overlap to one's advantage. in those days, most lantus users (including myself) didn't shoot low ps numbers. we delayed shots and we often skipped shots. grasping the concept of overlap and carryover is essential in obtaining that "gentle flat curve" lantus/levemir are known for.

here's some clickable links from the pet diabetes wiki:
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body

fast forward to a few years later... i was able to get alex's numbers under control rather quickly because i understood overlap and carryover. her 2009 levemir spreadsheet illustrates the benefits of shooting low to stay low. her recent illness and latest stint on insulin has been a frustrating experience as far as treating her diabetes goes because up until the past few days, i have not been able to count on her eating normally. now that her appetite is back, i'm pulling out all the stops. i've begun to dose her aggressively. if it's possible to get her off insulin for a third time... we're going for it. to get there, i'll have to shoot green ps numbers in order for her to stay green.

ss links are in my signature. take a look. experience has shown us it's harder to get a cat off insulin a second time.
being as aggressive as safely possible helps... a lot.
 
Re: 4/29 Brutus high numbers after two good days?

+ 3 155 this is much better.Jill, if you happen to check the board , thanks for your expertise.I think I really needed a confidence booster.logically I understand what you have pointed out , but to the detriment of Brutus sometimes I am a little tenative(chicken) in shooting low.Thanks for the kick in the backside.I need to trust the protocol.Hope you get Alex off off the juice soon.Thats our goal with Brutus- thanks again

Brutus, Steve and leah.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top