4/28 Eleanor AMPS 277 +5 271 Help Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69573

I had to go to the ER AM 4/27 . I was an hour late giving Eleanor her shot, her bg was 293 and she hasn't come down since. I was 10 minutes late today because I couldn't catch her. I had to have my cat Wendy PTS, Eleanor saw the carrier and wasn't about to get hauled off to the vet.
I don't know what to do, I guess I've messed her up again and I don't have a clue what I'm doing or how to try to help her. Anyone?
She's pretty much completely quit eating on her own again, she never had fully started again but now it looks like we are going back to when her whole not eating thing started.
 
Oh, Julie...so terribly sorry to hear about Wendy-
my heart goes out to you.

I was late with Binksy's dose a few times, and he generally bounced back within a couple of cycles.

I can't recall- is it Eleanor that turns her nose up at any of the tricks we try to entice them to eat?

If so- one of the wise ones once gave me a great suggestion-

I put some forbidden kibble in a coffee grinder, and sprinkled a little of the dust over the canned food.
Granted...it raises the carb % a little- but at the time, it was important to get Binks eating- and it worked like a charm.

celi
 
hi julie!

just curious - how old is your insulin?

i wouldn't worry one bit about the late shots. they aren't the reason for her high numbers, i don't think.

i gotta go shoot punkin and will be back in a minute. want to look more at the spreadsheet, but my first thought was maybe the insulin is toast.
 
Julie, we are so very sorry to read about Wendy. :YMHUG: Maybe that is having an effect on Eleanor not eating too. Our kitty Zener has appy issues, and we've had some luck with sprinkling fortiflora on his foods.
 
I'm sorry to hear about losing your Wendy (((Julie and Eleanor too))) my heart aches for you.
FortiFlora has the same stuff in it that they use in the dry food to make it so apealing to cats, and it's not high in carbs. I would try a bit of FortiFlora sprinkled on top of her food.
It's okay if shots are late sometimes. It happens. She'll get back on track. Sending eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines to Eleanor now.
 
ok, nevermind about the insulin - i saw you just had a new pen and it was barely one month old anyway. you ought to be able to use them far longer than one month, btw. jill updated the sticky on taking care of your insulin and added that people have had them last months as long as they are taken care of.

hmmm. i know you're thinking SLGS, but you test plenty, and if you were following the TR protocol, you would increase the dose by .25u with the next shot. you've had 6 at the 2.5 with constant nadirs in the 200. i'd increase with your next shot.

i don't think what you did has anything to do with her numbers.

my heart goes out to you in the loss of wendy. that's so hard. :YMHUG:
 
((((Julie)))) I'm so sorry about Wendy. And your trip to the ER too. I think Eleanor didn't like the fortiflora? Have you tried Parmesan cheese? Freeze dried chicken, tuna juice, baby food, those are other things that people have suggested to us.

Does Eleanor like Wellness Chicken? We have a case of big cans, 13 oz, that we could send to you. We also have some individual cans of other foods that Zener wouldn't eat but are supposed to be good for inappetance. Actually, Anne is coming to Phoenix on Friday for a meeting and could bring it to you.
Liz
 
do you think the not-eating is from a medical issue or because she wants something different to eat? what i mean is, are there signs that she's sick? does she let you scratch her cheeks or chin?

if she's got an infection of some sort, that could explain both the higher numbers and not wanting to eat.

there are appetite stimulants that the vet could prescribe. sometimes people can get their cat to eat by putting a little food in the mouth to get them interested.

can you review for us what you've tried with the food and maybe we can come up with something not yet tried.

and actually, if she's not eating at all, it might not be the time to increase the dose. any cat getting insulin needs to be eating.

can you also tell us the total volume she's eaten today? when you say not eating, do you mean zero food or ?
 
I'm so sorry about Wendy :YMHUG: . You didn't do anything to mess Eleanor up...FD is just a tricky, confounding disease, even to the most experience of caregivers. Eleanor could definitely be grieving for Wendy, too. We're all here for you...you're not alone!!
 
Others have provided some good suggestions. I don't think you've messed up. Honestly, Eleanor's numbers have been sitting in the mid to high yellows for several days.

Don't underestimate Eleanor's picking up on your stress. If you had a trip to the ER and you helped Wendy cross the Bridge, Eleanor is going to be sensitive to your mood. Give her time to get back on track. If you have to start over to get her back to eating again, that's fine. Cats really like routine and Eleanor's routine has been disrupted. Just give her lots of love and attention -- she's lost a companion, too -- and re-start the process of getting her back to eating.
 
((((Julie and Eleanor))))
We are so sorry to hear that you lost Wendy. I agree with the others that Wendy's passing is causing Eleanor to grieve, and perhaps that is the primary reason why she doesn't want to eat. Give her lots of love and try to incorporate a food that she has liked in the past into a loving routine. It is important that she eat. Much more important than her numbers right now. Explain to her that Wendy had to leave this world, but that she is in a safe place and that she wants Eleanor to know that.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top