4/28 Cobb PMPS 115 +1.5 143 +3.25 109 +5 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Sweet preshot this morning. It's like he knew the increase was coming and tried to head me off. I'm not falling for that, Mr. Cobb!! :lol:

Since it is a new day, I'll answer the questions from last night's condo here, and bold follow up questions.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Could Cobb be having any pain or discomfort from the dental?
I don't think so. We found some bupe left over from awhile ago and gave it to him for a day or so. He is coming around more than he did before the dental. He doesn't seem to be in any pain when Matt scratches under his chin and he is eating well. So I don't think he is any pain.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
On the R scale - are those numbers in conjunction with preshot numbers?
Not necessarily with preshot number. I agree. I think I could give more R after the nadir on some days, in hopes of bringing down that PMPS. I was studying BK's SS and saw Sandy shot R as low as 200, until that last chart. I haven't shot R below 250, so I will have to see if there is an opportunity to do that and see how Cobb tolerates it, and maybe shooting it a little lower will bring him into some lower numbers.

Question: Can the R have a different effect depending on when it is shot? For example, at a pre-shot the Lantus is pretty much gone. Should I shoot a higher dose of R at preshot versus when the Lantus is still working in the system like at +6? I notice in BK's SS the doses were the same at PS and +6 at the beginning. +6 was a little less in the last 2 charts.

Hypothetical Situational Question: Cobb started at 123/154 this morning. I'm anticipating a bounce. Say his +2 is above 200. That could either be a food spike (which he doesn't always have) or it could be the beginning of a bounce. I don't give R at +2 because of the overlapping nadirs. Say at +6, he is still climbing and is around 275. Per my current scale that would be 1uR. But you know if he's bouncing, he's most likely going up even higher. Do I adjust the scale for a bounce and give a little extra R to see if I can quash the bounce?

IAA Question: How do you tell if it is a bounce or if it is the antibodies grabbing on? Does it matter which it is? I would think it does because if it is the antibodies you want to push through and try to kill them. If it's a bounce you risk the bounce breaking after you've given more insulin, a quick drop and setting up another bounce.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
looking at his spreadsheet, i'm just wondering why he was so good the day after you traveled. can you recall if he ate less that day? did you give him Rescue Remedy to help him settle in at your folks' house? He didn't have any painkiller at that point, right? that was before the dental.
No Rescue Remedy. He was in a bathroom by himself in the back of the house, so fairly quiet unless we were coming in and out of the garage. Did he eat less? He ate a big meal (a 5.5oz can) about an hour before we left - to avoid him getting hungry on the trip. So he didn't have any mini meals the day of travel. At my parents house, I gave him a bigger dinner so I wouldn't have to get up as often throughout the night. I didn't take our timed feeder. I like the times feeder, in theory, but if he hadn't woken me for food last night, I wouldn't have gotten that 154.

Question: I know smaller meals are typically recommended because it's easier on the pancreas, perhaps Cobb is the exception to this? Should I try bigger meals at shot time?

The vet we saw last week suggested adding some lower carb food into Cobb's diet. She agreed that 5% carb is really low, but said he might benefit from mixing in some zero carb food throughout the day as well. So offer the 5% food at shot time, and supplement with zero carb food during the cycles. We are off to PetSmart today to look for the food.

Wendy&Neko said:
Sorry your nights seem to be hectic lately. You must be so tired.
Tired doesn't begin to describe it. I try to nap during the day when Matty sleeps. But he is working on dropping naps, so those are getting to be fewer and fewer. Thank you though! We're pushing through. It's amazing how little sleep the body can function on, although I can't imagine working a full-time job right now. It's been a biatch of a sleep regression, probably linked directly to him starting to walk, but we'll figure it out. My fear is that when Matty starts to sleep better, Cobb will start dropping. :roll: It's a conspiracy, I tell you! Thank goodness I got all that sleep as a teenager. :lol:

I think those are all the questions that needed answers. If not, ask me again please. Let's get this figured out! :smile:

I did return to 23uL this morning. He was lower than normal too. 123 on the first test, 154 on the retest. I'm guessing those low numbers are R-induced, but maybe they'll stick around long enough to let the Lantus do some good work!

Have a great Monday everyone!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/28 Cobb AMPS 123 - Q&A from last night's condo

Hi guys .. nice start this morning cobb!! Sure does seem like you are super mom over there :lol: Make sure you take some time for yourself! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/28 Cobb AMPS 123 +3.5 181 +4.5 179 +5.5 145 +8.5 145

Oh my - I am LOVING this cycle! :cool: Way to go Cobb!
upozna12.png


To me it didn't matter if Neko was seeing a bounce or the IAA was taking hold, cause I wasn't using R. I'd give the bounce a chance to clear and if I didn't get a reduction or close to it, it was time to go up again. Typically you can see the event that caused a bounce and you get a feeling for how long bounces last. And numbers tend to bobble around a bit during a bounce, like it attempts a bit of clearing, goes back up, then finally down again. I found that what I thought of as "the dose going stale", was the IAA getting used to that dose and the numbers gradually getting getting worse over time. I think this is a lot like what happens when a dose reduction fails.

Regarding meals - I do break Neko's meals into smaller ones. I just wish I hadn't broken them into as many small ones when I started here. Before Dx, she got about 5 meals a day, 2 in the morning, 2 in the evening and one before bed. That latter one was my attempt to be able to sleep through the night. Now I hate to admit it's more like 9 meals a day. :oops: I just need some tough love to reduce that down. With cats that are just IAA, they typically have "regular" diabetes which means the pancreas not working 100% and more smaller meals would be better. With an acro/IAA combo, it's hard to say what shape the pancreas is in. I wish I knew for Neko. She does get some small snacks of freeze dried/0 carb fresh meat in the later part of the cycle. You could try adding some boiled chicken or turkey breast pieces in as snacks during the cycle. And when Neko gets fed on Lev should be different than Lantus because the nadir and onset are later. What you want to do is look at the cycle and see when the major drops typically occur and make sure Cobb has some carbs on board to balance the insulin when that happens. In my defense, Neko used to have some pretty good drops early in the cycle so many smaller meals early made sense for her on Lantus.
 
Re: 4/28 Cobb AMPS 123 - Q&A from last night's condo

Hi there :cool:

This cycle sure is purdy. . . . :-D

Regarding your questions-

Something to keep in mind is that when I started using R, we had no idea BK had IAA.
The R scales tab on his ss are all pre IAA diagnosis.(the blood was drawn for the test on 09/18/2008)
There may have been R scales after the IAA dx (for a short time) however the hard drive of the computer I had them on crashed in June of 2009 and I lost everything.

We started using R because of ketones - we could not afford another episode of DKA.
We needed to make sure enough insulin was on board.

So the strategy was to shoot at PS and +6 for both AM & PM cycles, shooting R along with BKs Lantus shot so that by the time Lantus onset occurs the R has brought BG down to something easier for Lantus to work with. Being that R is fast acting it does the heavy lifting the first 4 or so hours and then Lantus can (in a perfect world) pick up the ball and run. The +6 was to try and sustain whatever positive effect may have been gained in the top half of the cycle.

Suzanne & Cobb said:
Question: Can the R have a different effect depending on when it is shot? For example, at a pre-shot the Lantus is pretty much gone. Should I shoot a higher dose of R at preshot versus when the Lantus is still working in the system like at +6? I notice in BK's SS the doses were the same at PS and +6 at the beginning. +6 was a little less in the last 2 charts.
Yes, in general it can have a different effect depending on:
when in the cycle it is shot
BG at time of shot
dose

Additionally for IAA kitties: antibodies activity
the antibodies can limit, delay or diminish insulin action, or serve as a carrier leading to unexpected hypoglycemia.
Additionally antibody characteristics (yes, the little devils have characteristics), such as insulin-binding affinity, insulin-binding capacity and/or percentage of insulin binding can vary. In humans,IAA can prolong insulin half-life (the time required for the concentration of insulin to reach half of its original value) up to 8-fold greater.
I don't think these variables can be quantified. This is why with an IAA kitty developing a 'go with the flow' mindset is key. You are often navigating 1 cycle at a time and flying by the seat of your pants.
Suzanne & Cobb said:
Hypothetical Situational Question: Cobb started at 123/154 this morning. I'm anticipating a bounce. Say his +2 is above 200. That could either be a food spike (which he doesn't always have) or it could be the beginning of a bounce. I don't give R at +2 because of the overlapping nadirs. Say at +6, he is still climbing and is around 275. Per my current scale that would be 1uR. But you know if he's bouncing, he's most likely going up even higher. Do I adjust the scale for a bounce and give a little extra R to see if I can quash the bounce?
The scale is a guideline to help you navigate. It evolves and changes along the way. It's not something written in stone . You are in the drivers seat.
If you think he is bouncing and will likely go higher you can test that strategy if the situation presents itself. Just be cautious about how much more R- remember the variables inherent to IAA .

Suzanne & Cobb said:
IAA Question: How do you tell if it is a bounce or if it is the antibodies grabbing on? Does it matter which it is? I would think it does because if it is the antibodies you want to push through and try to kill them. If it's a bounce you risk the bounce breaking after you've given more insulin, a quick drop and setting up another bounce.
That's a tough one - I don't think it's possible to know for sure if high BG is due to antibodies or a bounce. However though close observation, in time a pattern may emerge. Also, you can't kill the antibodies, you can only try and overwhelm them by shooting enough insulin so that enough remains circulating free in the bloodstream to support metabolism of sugars.

Suzanne & Cobb said:
Question: I know smaller meals are typically recommended because it's easier on the pancreas, perhaps Cobb is the exception to this? Should I try bigger meals at shot time?
I don't know. I did however feed more at shot times and the mini meals in between were about 1/4 can FF.

Keep the questions coming. . . .
 
Re: 4/28 Cobb AMPS 123 +3.5 181 +5.5 145 +8.5 145 PMPS 115

Wow Cobb! What a nice cycle today. :smile: I hope tonight's storms don't throw him off. It looks like he likes this dose.
 
Re: 4/28 Cobb AMPS 123 +3.5 181 +5.5 145 +8.5 145 PMPS 115

Very nice cycle Suzanne! I like all those blues..
 
GREAT day for Cobb!!! and night too - but oh, i sure hope you can sleep some!

i think everyone else has answered your questions! Our power was off for several hours after i got home from work today and i'm just getting online.

i would only add that i gave punkin 1 can of FF at shot time and 1/2 can at +3, both am and pm cycles. besides that, i used high carb food if he had low numbers and boiled chicken for pokey treats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top