Jessica Hamberger
Member Since 2020
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...0gjFGBa6hBdTXfK8qHdNQQlQGo/edit#gid=361360320
Hi Leo was on 1 unit Lantus am and .5 pm. Diagnosed 3/16/2020. Blood test from 3/14/2020 bg was at 543 and Only 7 weeks had passed between then and last blood test in which his bg was normal. He was on 5mg prednisolone a day and he is down to 1.25 mg every 3 days. He has controlled IBD, severe asthma, early stage CKD, pancreatitis. He is diet is cooked elk/venison with bison liver and alnutrin supplement. One of the things I noticed on his last blood test was that his pancrea...s numbers was at a 45 which is very high and his triglycerides and cholesterol was through the roof. I think it was caused from the pork loin and duck fat (for constipation) caused all 3 of them to go very high which was all stopped on 3/16/2020. I am wondering if the steroids and high fat content stressed his pancreas even more which caused the diabetes. We are doing another blood test in two weeks to see if his numbers have changed. I spoke with my vet last night and she said his numbers are getting too low and thinks he holds on to the insulin longer so wants me to do only one unit in the morning. I feel like I should do .5 in am and .5 in pm because the lantus is supposed to be given every 12 hours. I only gave .25 this morning because he was 79. I am hoping remission will be possible.
Hi Leo was on 1 unit Lantus am and .5 pm. Diagnosed 3/16/2020. Blood test from 3/14/2020 bg was at 543 and Only 7 weeks had passed between then and last blood test in which his bg was normal. He was on 5mg prednisolone a day and he is down to 1.25 mg every 3 days. He has controlled IBD, severe asthma, early stage CKD, pancreatitis. He is diet is cooked elk/venison with bison liver and alnutrin supplement. One of the things I noticed on his last blood test was that his pancrea...s numbers was at a 45 which is very high and his triglycerides and cholesterol was through the roof. I think it was caused from the pork loin and duck fat (for constipation) caused all 3 of them to go very high which was all stopped on 3/16/2020. I am wondering if the steroids and high fat content stressed his pancreas even more which caused the diabetes. We are doing another blood test in two weeks to see if his numbers have changed. I spoke with my vet last night and she said his numbers are getting too low and thinks he holds on to the insulin longer so wants me to do only one unit in the morning. I feel like I should do .5 in am and .5 in pm because the lantus is supposed to be given every 12 hours. I only gave .25 this morning because he was 79. I am hoping remission will be possible.