4/27 Tommy+11 224, PMPS 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo
Hello LL ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) , Can't get enough of the brew this morning. I hope everyone had a some what peaceful rest :smile: .
I have a question this morning, is Tommy ready to come down to a more respectable level today..? Red is not his color! :lol:
HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY KITTIES AND BEANS ALIKE!
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +3 427, +10 424

Hi guys .. I hope tommy comes down off the red floor today, that sure would be nice .. but as we know, it's all about patience with this sugar dance! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +3 427, +10 424

come on down, Tommy boy!

Do you want to try 0.25R again at AMPS? Tommy is tricky, he likes to do the double dip at PS and that makes it hard to know if he is starting to drop for real or if it's just a double dip. If he's pink I think I would stick with 0.1, or if he's red then either 0.1 or 0.25, whatever feels right to you. With 0.1 you won't have to test as much, but with 0.25 you probably should. Let's wait another day or two before deciding to increase the Lantus dose just in case yesterday wasn't just a fluke. :smile:
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R

I went ahead and gave .25R given the a.m number. I'll keep an eye on him this morning!
That crystal ball you and Sienne were speaking of yesterday (Is it always broken :lol: ). I sure could use one with Tommy, you are
right, he does keep me guessing. Oh well, good old fashion trial and error and a whole lotta patience, that's all i need nailbite_smile
Thanks for the advice Libby, have a good day
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R

Gus and I just droppin' in to see how the Tommeister is doing today. That R is really a help! I just hate the frequent testing. Poor ears! Do you use Neosporin? I read here that some people apply the Neosporin With Pain Killer to the area of the ear that has just been tested. It's a surface anesthetic (called topical anesthetic) so I bought some and I think it helps with the discomfort. I hope it does anyway. I use the ointment, not the creme. Anything I can do to make this whole process easier on him. I'm hoping Tommy responds well to the R today and you can go up on his dose in the near future. You have the best expert (Libby) helping you. I don't know what Gus would have done without her help. Good luck. Talk soon.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R, +1R 402

let's talk out loud (in posts) re the dental, because then if i give some kind of wrong info others can correct me.

he had his dental cleaning done on 3/29 - they removed 2 teeth, but didn't call it an infection. apparently one tooth was only being held on by tartar and was disconnected from its roots. the other had severe enamel erosion. one of them, probably the first, the vet said when he put the probe in a hole in the side of the tooth it hit gum. I refused the metacam (for inflammation) and the convenia (a 2 week antibiotic) and they sent him home without anything else. i'm probably a difficult customer. :lol:

on 4/22 i noticed his jaw seemed tender. the site was inflamed, he went on antibiotic #1, #2 and now #3. you probably have been following all of that.

i suspect what you're wanting to know is the connection between numbers and the dental. apparently if there is any infection, inflammation or pain in a kitty, it can be hard to get their blood sugar under control. punkin had had a dental, but it was several years ago. once you get the problem taken care of, you may see the BG numbers drop.

now if i have the info wrong, someone can jump in and correct it.

has tommy had a dental recently? because if not, you probably want to have it done.

ETA: no problem with using the neosporin. i don't think it's a perfect sub for vaseline, but put it on afterwards.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R, +1R 402

Thanks Julie, I just didn't want to take up your condo with questions outside of Punkin. You have your hands full right now.
I am not so much wanting to know about the numbers dropping, apparently that is almost a given that they will after a dental provided there are no other underlying issues. I am curious why you chose no pain killers or antibiotics.. From what i've read about the 2, you had good reasons to refuse them. What would you have done differently when you brought Punkin home? I'll go back and re-read some of your posts from the 22nd and before.
Mine is more protocol and what leads up to a dental, pain killers, which ones to stay away from and which ones to ask for, what questions i should ask the vet.
Tommy has never had a dental. A few years ago he broke off his upper right (fang tooth).
I'm sure that isn't helping. He appears to be in no pain, never really was. I'm sure the rest of the tooth will need to come out as well as a few others i would imagine.
How long did punkins dental take, did you have to get pre blood work done. I was told by my vet that given Tommy's age that he should have blood work done to make sure there are no issues with him going under.
When i do have the dental done would it be wise to have it done on a Monday and just have the IAA and the Acro test done at the same time. I know the 2 tests are time sensitive and that MSU does them on Wednesdays. Has Punkin had either of these two tests done?
I know the initial expense would be more to have both tests and dental done at the same time, but wouldn't it work out better in the long run for me and Tommy, (1) because he would already be having blood drawn and (2) He wouldn't have to go back just to have blood drawn.
I know that Tommy would have to be at the Vets I believe between 7:30-8a.m. they said, what do you do about testing, feeding, dosing as he is supposed to have no food or water after 6pm the night before. That would be 2 cycles without insulin.
I've read here that Buprenex is good pain management, and to stay away from metacam (as it can cause renal failure) and no on Convenia
WHOEVER WANTS TO ANSWER ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS, Please let me have it. Sorry for going on but now I have it out of my head. @-)
Thanks ahead of time for any and all answers :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R, +1R 402

i can try -

punkin had an injection of Bupe for the pain - he didn't seem to be in pain, either before or after the procedure. they did anesthetise him for the procedure, so it's not like he went in cold turkey. that would be bad!

i had the dental done because of everyone's suggestions here that all kitties should do it. total cost on that day was about $400ish. the chaos in the past 5 days has been another approx $65 + $45 + $100 +$40. :shock: but how do you not do it?

what would i have done differently? maybe gone to a vet that had a full dental set-up - including the dental x-ray machine. i still don't know if he has roots left in there, or if we're going to have a problem reappear when the AB is done.

yes on the pre-dental bloodwork. i think absolutely important - i had a full panel done, i think it was $150. it would've been another $150 (i think) for the IAA and acro tests, and i did debate having it done at the same time, mainly because of comfort for punkin. didn't do it, mainly because he got to a high dose through the error on the needles, i don't see him having the symptoms listed for either of those, and you don't really do anything differently in your treatment, as far as i can tell. except if they are acro you don't let them get under 100 because it can be too hard to get them back up - punkin responds fine to high carb, so i don't think he's got that. insulin resistance - you press on and up til you hit that magic dose, so again, same procedure you'd use with a non-iaa cat, i think.

the vet had me go ahead and feed punkin and give him insulin at 6am. i brought him in at 8am and they did him maybe at 11ish. the vet said 100% dose on insulin, i gave 1/2 because of advice here. so he didn't miss any insulin. i picked him up about 4pm. the procedure itself was less than an hour.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy AMPS 458~.25R,+1R 402,+2R 345,+3R 315

Julie, that certainly does answer a lot of what i needed to know before hand.
Are you saying that if my vet does not have the dental x-raying abilities i should look elsewhere?
That does seem to be a big deal. I mean A Dentist for humans isn't going to just go at your mouth and start pulling and filling cavities with out seeing what's deep down inside the gum. :shock:
I saw on 4/21 that you requested a substitute for metacam. What was it he finally gave you that he didn't know much about?
I just got done re-reading the entire thread. How, How, How can vets still be so completely uninformed and careless :twisted: ?
I saw you were able to give Punkin his morning dose. What about the one the night before. Tommy's Schedule right now is 9am-9pm.
The injection of Bupe was given for the pain after the Dental, or when he got his infection after the dental?
You guys have been through a lot. I can't begin to tell you how empowering it his to have the kind of knowledge i have learned here when i talk to my vet. I will in no way let him give Tommy metacam or Convenia and i will inquire about the dental x-ray and how much it would cost.
Thanks again Julie for letting me know your experience with this. It helps a lot.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy.25R,+1R 402,+2R 345,+3R 315,+4R 256, +5 247

the few days before punkin's dental, people here gave me advice. so i tried to find the mix of what i was comfortable with on following the vet's advice and the advice here - and here weighed heavier. buncha women, you know! :lol: but seriously, there is value in the collective experience of people and i always think i'd be a fool to disregard it.

i wouldn't necessarily automatically go elsewhere, but i might ask what the procedure is if, for example, they pull out a tooth and can't get the root. I would want to be satisfied that there is a plan there. I read around a bunch of places online and it sounds like it is legitimate to leave a root tip behind in people. in people they are saying that up to 1/3 of the root can be left and because it's not a foreign body, your body will wall it off or absorb it.

the vet didn't give us a sub for the metacam or the convenia. he said metacam is an anti-inflammatory, much like ibuprofin or tylenol, that not only relieves pain but reduces inflammation. punkin did get Bupe while he was at the vet's but none sent home. He came home without an antibiotic, which was probably a mistake. likely their normal process is to give a shot of convenia and not worry about infection - but when i refused the convenia i probably threw their normal routine out of whack.

btw, when i fed punkin that morning i gave him 1/2 food and i think 1/2 shot.

tommy's doing great today with the R. nice to have a back-up system like that to get a little more success for tommy.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy.25R,+1R 402,+2R 345,+3R 315,+4R 256, +5 247

Squirrel: Julie has given you alot of great info. I totally agree on the pre-dental bloodwork and I prefer to go in a few days before so it can be sent to the lab....not just the quickie stuff the vet runs right before the dental. I also agree that a vet that can do dental xrays (esp digital) is really best. Do you have an AAHA vet near you? These clinics must meet a higher standard of care, have certain equipment, get inspected, etc. Also agreed that withholding food is not a good idea. My vet always tells me they can have water any time they want as long as they are not gorging themselves on it and food up until about five hours before anesthesia. Not a lot of food but small helpings. I would also give him a reduced dose of insulin since you won't be able to manage with food once he is under the anesthesia. Also, even with just a dental, I would ask for a little bupe for a day or so. If there are any extractions or other work done, I'd definitely get bupe for 3-4 days at least AND an AB. Even with just a dental, they are stirring up bacteria but if they do any real work, they'll really get it going. Be sure you get a dental-specific AB.
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy+3R 315,+4R 256, +5 247, +9 230

Hi Squirrel,
Good luck with Tommy's dental. Just in case you might have missed it when it was posted, Sienne's vet has a checklist of what to inquire about before a dental. Here's the URL:
http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/library/comparing_veterinary_dental_services.html

Sienne has also posted guidelines for dentals here in LL, but I can't find the post at present. You could PM her and ask her to post it again.

Nice to see Tommy come down today.

Have a good evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Tommy+3R 315,+4R 256, +5 247, +9 230

Well, i haven't made the appt yet, I want to be as prepared as i can be, have all my questions ready to make sure all goes as smooth as it can.
Thank you for the Link from Siennes vet.
I know it might seem like i'm being a little too overprotective or anal, but my Husband calls me the research queen, because I'll spend
weeks researching a certain product or item before i purchase it.
And well, this is faaaaaaar more important to me and I want to have all my ducks in a row before we do this. I'm a little nervous.
If you do find that other link, please post it. Otherwise I'll ask Sienne for it again.
Thank you again so much for the info.
You have wonderful evening as well,
Squirrel & Tommy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top