Re: 4/27 Tommy +10 424, AMPS 458~.25R, +1R 402
Thanks Julie, I just didn't want to take up your condo with questions outside of Punkin. You have your hands full right now.
I am not so much wanting to know about the numbers dropping, apparently that is almost a given that they will after a dental provided there are no other underlying issues. I am curious why you chose no pain killers or antibiotics.. From what i've read about the 2, you had good reasons to refuse them. What would you have done differently when you brought Punkin home? I'll go back and re-read some of your posts from the 22nd and before.
Mine is more protocol and what leads up to a dental, pain killers, which ones to stay away from and which ones to ask for, what questions i should ask the vet.
Tommy has never had a dental. A few years ago he broke off his upper right (fang tooth).
I'm sure that isn't helping. He appears to be in no pain, never really was. I'm sure the rest of the tooth will need to come out as well as a few others i would imagine.
How long did punkins dental take, did you have to get pre blood work done. I was told by my vet that given Tommy's age that he should have blood work done to make sure there are no issues with him going under.
When i do have the dental done would it be wise to have it done on a Monday and just have the IAA and the Acro test done at the same time. I know the 2 tests are time sensitive and that MSU does them on Wednesdays. Has Punkin had either of these two tests done?
I know the initial expense would be more to have both tests and dental done at the same time, but wouldn't it work out better in the long run for me and Tommy, (1) because he would already be having blood drawn and (2) He wouldn't have to go back just to have blood drawn.
I know that Tommy would have to be at the Vets I believe between 7:30-8a.m. they said, what do you do about testing, feeding, dosing as he is supposed to have no food or water after 6pm the night before. That would be 2 cycles without insulin.
I've read here that Buprenex is good pain management, and to stay away from metacam (as it can cause renal failure) and no on Convenia
WHOEVER WANTS TO ANSWER ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS, Please let me have it. Sorry for going on but now I have it out of my head. @-)
Thanks ahead of time for any and all answers
