4/27 Rusty PMPS 113, +4 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42025

Good Morning Everyone,

Rusty is down to a somewhat normal AMPS, but it was sure hard to give him his shot this morning. He has become needle shy ever since I apparently hit muscle last week. He meows plaintively while I am "looking for skin", before I even have the syringe near him. Today he even took his head out of his dish and slumped down on the floor. When I finally got him back at his food and found skin, he tried to bite me!! The shot got in, but I am worried that this kind of shot-aversion can only lead to more fur shots.
We had a good night. Rusty enjoyed his snack of FF at bedtime and then ate all of his Wellness overnight food right away. He woke me up early, not with a kiss, but with a paw pound. Today was the first full day being back on our old schedule and I think he thought we had overslept! At the moment he is sleeping in his basket.

Very heavy rain and thunderstorms last night. Our cellar is much worse; I just finished mopping and shop-vacing for over an hour. It's a good thing we didn't go to NYC this week. The ground is saturated. Several major roads in the Adirondacks are closed because of flooding. This is a serious problem, because there aren't very many alternatives for getting from "here to there." (Sorry for the off-topic flood report, but I am missing LL Loose Lips, as I imagine many are.)

Continued healing thoughts and vines for all our kitties and their beans who need them
Everyone have a good day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

Hi guys .. glad to see that rusty is back down to the lower blues, but sorry to hear shot time is getting more difficult .. Shot times in this house with mocha were horrible .. lots of hissing, biting, swatting .. she never took them well ... I'm sorry to hear that your cellar is having all these water problems .. Lots more rain to come in the next few days from what I understand too ... I hope it doesn't get any worse for you ..
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

Rusty has always been kind of ticklish about shots - meowing and flinching more than Norton or Tiggy. I think his skin is more tender.

Maybe get him more used to the tenting by adding that to petting time and play time and grooming time and any touching time. If he gets that skin-lifting feeling 12 times a day and only gets a shot twice .... maybe he won't be so flinchy.

Good luck!
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

I'm glad Rusty is getting back to his normal wonderful numbers.

I had a similar problem last fall when i messed up a few shots too. Tess got over it fairly quickly, I'm sure Rusty will too. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

Good advice, Phoebe. Thanks so much! Developing a technique to deal with the long hair has been a challenge for me; sometimes I even worry that I forgot how to give shots. (Stu never even noticed them.)
Rusty never complains about the ear pricks and now is even jumping up on his test site in anticipation of the tests. So we're good on that count!!
Thanks for checking in on us. Rusty sends love,

Ella
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

Morning guys!

It is good to see Rusty posting more normal numbers. YAY! Sorry for the shot problem. I sometimes have issues with Mannie being a long hair, but over time I have gotten good at parting the fur where I want to shoot. He never seems to notice any more. Maybe it's because I shoot while he eats and he is so focused on the food that everything else he is oblivious too. :lol:

And so very sorry for your cellar! You guys must be very very tired.... DO they anticipate the conditions that are causing this to last much longer? Over-saturation is such a problem.. and the flooding! I sure do wish you guys luck!

Too funny on the pounding to wake you up! Go Rusty!

have a good one guys.

Sous Chef Grill Specialist Rusty!! On my way - pontoons installed on the roadster, will see you soon! ~~ Chef Mannie
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

the weather has been awful, sorry to hear about the cellar and the clean up. Hope the rains stop.

Long hair kitties are hard to shoot, this is why I shoot Tray in the stomach and not the scruff, just too hard to see skin there. Hope the shot went through well and good luck
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

Oh Ella!!! I have just raced through condo lines and saw Rusty was up because of fur shots. I"m so sorry he's afaid now and I hope some successful shots will help him....or extra treats maybe? Poor Rusty.

You have your hands full with that basement....is there anyone with a heavier duty pump or vac that can help out? I've been out of the loop but I hope you can get it under control. It IS a good thing you didn't go....holy cow.
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128

wow, i haven't seen the news or realized flooding was so bad there. what a challenge! good call on staying home - your crystal ball was working on that one.

like the idea of tenting him throughout the day. might be just the trick!
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128, +5.25 100, +9 92

Hi all, Just to let you know that if you don't hear from me later it's because we are under a flood watch and possible evacuation order owing to the possibility that the bridge that connects our part of the village to the rest of the village may be under water soon. There would be no way to get to the main highway by car (we could go over a small mountain by foot, but that would be hard with Rusty!). I'm busy getting an evacuation kit ready for him, just in case.

Good numbers today, huh?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128, +5.25 100, +9 92, PMPS 113

Hi again, We're still here. They released water from the dam and that saved the bridge (but closed a smaller bridge). Rusty got a good shot tonight (I think), even though he complained mightily. He came down nicely from the fur shots.

As I type this I can hear the spring peepers for the first time this year. Wonderful sound! We had close to 80 degrees today.

Have a good night, everyone,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Rusty AMPS 128, +5.25 100, +9 92, PMPS 113

Nice to see Rusty back to his nice numbers. I'm sorry you are still suffering from weather woes. You have certainly had wild weather this winter and now spring. Sending sun and warm breezes for a quick drying out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top