? 4/27 Rocky PMPS 226 - Still give 1.25?

SDBennison

Member Since 2021
Good evening - think I have my spreadsheet fixed.....
Started 1.25 yesterday and tonight he is at 226 prior to feed and insulin. Still give 1.25 or hold back at 1.00??

Thanks in advance for help.....scared to dose.
 
Hello there, I am not going to provide advice on dosing but wondering if you have tested your cat during the day cycle today. The dosing is based on his nadir (lowest value of the day) and it does not seem like you have been tested enough during his cycles to see how low he goes. Sorry if you are already aware of this.

You need to know what the nadir is. I will repeat what experienced members say: if you shoot, are you able to monitor, do you have plenty of strips, do you have maple syrup or honey in case he goes too low...those are considerations when you lack data or when you increase the dose...
 
I am wondering what other will say but I would not increase the dose of my cat without having proper data. You never know what happens during amps and pmps - my cat used to go from 600 to 100 in 5 hours so you cannot assume anything. I would encourage you to test more.
 
I see you went with the 1.25 units tonight. Any chance you could get some night times tests in? Even one just before bed? Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the Lantus dose based on how low that dose takes the cat. Hence the important of those night time spot checks.
 
Thank you all. I am working so those in between tests are difficult for me. I will be trying to do more in between at night because it seems like he is having higher test in the AMPS. I am able to test him but he is leary of me right now always playing with his ears. I did a test +1 after last night and was 265 but this morning was 383 so I need to learn what is happening between. I'll come back with more questions I'm sure.
 
It is not safe to provide insulin without knowing what is going on during the cycle. I hope you find time to test your cat more. A +2 provides more information - it indicates whether the cycle will be active if the value is equal or lower the pre-shot. However, the cat can also drop later on (See Djoko's SS - yesterday his +2 was higher than his PS but this has not prevented him from dropping later on. I do not want to lecture you - just being cautious with the marvelous drug that is insulin. Please come back with more questions - people here have helped me so much and my cat is now doing well which seemed unlikely at first.
 
Back
Top