wh1rlwind
Member Since 2020
Hi,
New to this group, my cat Pookie was diagosed 22 April with DKA. He has a Freestyle Libre fitted and his numbers have been very erratic lately...he weighs 5kg and is an 11 year old Burmese male.
He was started on 1 IU BID for 10 days, then increased to 2 IU BID due to continued high glucose levels.
Have just completed a spreadsheet - hopefully you can see it in my signature.
I increased his dose to 2.5 IU after 3 days as I was worried about his poor clinical signs and high glucose all day, but now his PMPS is 263 I am not sure if I should give the full 2.5 IU as worried if he goes too low during the night (he went down to 76 a couple of nights ago). I have given 2IU for now and hoping for some advice from someone please to see if I should give the rest of the 0.5 IU to be consistent?
Sorry about the random measurements, he has a CGM so I just scan it at random times during the day when I am watching him!
Thank you all so much in advance for your help...totally new at this and quite anxious.
New to this group, my cat Pookie was diagosed 22 April with DKA. He has a Freestyle Libre fitted and his numbers have been very erratic lately...he weighs 5kg and is an 11 year old Burmese male.
He was started on 1 IU BID for 10 days, then increased to 2 IU BID due to continued high glucose levels.
Have just completed a spreadsheet - hopefully you can see it in my signature.
I increased his dose to 2.5 IU after 3 days as I was worried about his poor clinical signs and high glucose all day, but now his PMPS is 263 I am not sure if I should give the full 2.5 IU as worried if he goes too low during the night (he went down to 76 a couple of nights ago). I have given 2IU for now and hoping for some advice from someone please to see if I should give the rest of the 0.5 IU to be consistent?
Sorry about the random measurements, he has a CGM so I just scan it at random times during the day when I am watching him!
Thank you all so much in advance for your help...totally new at this and quite anxious.