? 4/27 Pia. Dosage help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GinnyBarr

Member Since 2017
So Pia's numbers have been ok. I'm not sure about increasing the dose because she seems to drop really fast and really low. Like she will drop almost 80-100 in 2 hours. She sees some green, but mostly at night. The day sees mostly blue, with a smidge of green. She went hypo on the .5, so idk if I should go back to that or even increase at all. As she drops super fast on the .25. She just doesn't stay in the green long enough. I think. I do t even really know. I'm still a noob. What do you guys recommend?
 
Hi Ginny, because she saw some nice greens last night, I would hold this dose. She is bouncing today and looks like she bounces during the day and goes lower at night. Eventually, she will start to flatten out with her numbers.
 
Hi Ginny, because she saw some nice greens last night, I would hold this dose. She is bouncing today and looks like she bounces during the day and goes lower at night. Eventually, she will start to flatten out with her numbers.
Ok cool. Ty. I'm still learning about the whole bounce thing. Is there a link to better explain that? Thanks in advance.
 
This is the definition taking from the stickie NEW TO THE GROUP and I think is one of the best explanations.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Most kitties once they get used to being in normal numbers will stop bouncing and their cycles will flatten out. But, some kitties bounce all the way into remission.
 
This is the definition taking from the stickie NEW TO THE GROUP and I think is one of the best explanations.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Most kitties once they get used to being in normal numbers will stop bouncing and their cycles will flatten out. But, some kitties bounce all the way into remission.
Ty. This makes it much clearer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top