4/27 Lucky PMPS 347 411+2 299+9

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtncat58

Member Since 2013
AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 147+6 423+10
2/26 Lucky AMPS 373 223+10 PMPS 334 163+2 108+6 53+9 84+10 107+12

Do I just skip again? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 Dosing Question

That looks like a rising number as you had a 53 a few hours earlier.

Are you able to monitor today?
You can stall and confirm that the number is rising now.

There is a good possibility that you can earn a dose reduction if you shoot.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 SHOOT WHOLE DOSE

i F i GIVE HIM THE WHOLE SHOT IS HE GOING TO DROP REAL FAST? i WILL BE HOME ALL DAY AND CANN TEST.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 SHOOT WHOLE DOSE?

Getting an second test now if you haven't fed yet is a good idea. If you shoot get a +1 and/or a +2 to keep ahead of a drop if there is one,
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 SHOOT WHOLE DOSE?

It looks like the lowest you have ever shot is 126 on 4/13.

If you shoot, get a +1 and a +2.

If you are more comfortable stalling, test soon and see if Lucky is rising.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 SHOOT WHOLE DOSE?

i WILL TEST NOE SEE IF IT'S COME UP ANY HAVE NOT FED SINCE 5;30 ALMOST 3 HOURS HAVE TO GET DOSE INN HE IS LATE SCARY
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 120 AFTER HALF HOUR

oK GUESS i TRY THE SHOT SHOULD i FEED SOME REG FOOD
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 SHOOT WHOLE DOSE?

Linda

If you haven't shot, I would go ahead and shoot the full dose. His nadir last night was in the 60s so he's either on the way up, or he might be getting a second dip. I'd shoot and test at +1 and +2 as Ann said.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 120 NOW

If you shot the 120.... that is now your AMPS.

the 107 is your +12 or +11.5.... or whatever time it was when you took it in relation to your pmps from last night.....
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 GAVE SHOT

AW OK i WILL CHANGE THX HE IS EATING i WILL BE BACK IN A BIT SO WILL i BE ABLE TO SHOOT HIM AT REG TIME i SHOT HALF HOUR LATE TODAY, DO i JUST DO 15 MIN AT TIME TO GO BACK TO HIS REG DOSING TIME
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 120 NOW

Linda

Now that the decision process is over and you are shooting, I'd like to just throw some info out there for you.

With TR, we shoot low to stay low but the lowest we shoot is 50. We don't expect new members to start shooting green numbers right off the bat....we help them get to that gradually as you are doing :-D and once they have some data.

When deciding whether to shoot or stall, look at the preceding numbers to the preshot. If his numbers have been sliding down through the entire cycle so the lowest number is the preshot, then it's a dropping number. Once you have some experience with dropping numbers, it can be very good to shoot them...as long as they are above 50... Because it allows you to take advantage of the overlap between two cycles and hopefully keep numbers down. But, often, numbers which are dropping into the preshot continue dropping after it and then the insulin onsets at around +2. So it requires alot of early testing but it can really result in a nice cycle. I always think it's a good idea to ask an experienced member to help you the first time if the preshot is less than 150 and it's a dropping number.

Contrast a dropping number to a second dip which is what Lucky has today. Lantus is known for second dips. Again, look at preceding numbers to the preshot. Is there a nadir? If there is a nadir and then numbers come up, then go back down, it's a second dip and safe to shoot without stalling as long as the preshot is above 50. Usually with a second dip, the preshot is not lower than the nadir bit is lower than +10/+11.

Of course, anytime you shoot low, you must be able to be home and monitor and should have plenty of test strips, HC food/gravy or whatever works to manage low numbers, and syrup/honey.

Good job!
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 GAVE SHOT

I KNOW THIS WILL ALL SINK IN AND I WILL GET THESE TERMS ALL DOWN,TOOK AWHILE TO KNOW WHAT DADIR WAS LOL
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1

ALLOWS YOU TO TAKE, LOL" I GOT THAT" LUCKY ON THE RISE. I HOPE THATS WHAT SHE SAID MOL
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 NEXT TEST WHEN?

Should I keep testing every hour? he has dropped some more again.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 NEXT TEST WHEN?

Those are practically the same numbers from +1 to +2.

Back when Shadow was on insulin, I learned over time that since she ate at shot time, and sometimes took 15 minutes to eat.... I would often test at +2.25 to see if her drop was a little delayed.
Each cat is different so you learn this over time for your own cat.

Plus onset for the shot is usually right at +2.


You are probably good to wait until a +4 or so.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 NEXT TEST WHEN?

I think while you are building data and learning his patterns, it's a good idea to get a +3. He's at a very safe number but it might give you an idea of when, exactly, that he onsets. Because his +2 is about the same as his AMPS, it has the potential to be an active lantus cycle.

I'm glad you read iPadese, Linda :lol: sorry....not enough coffee this morning when I wrote that earlier post and I didn't catch the error. Glad you knew what I meant.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 NEXT TEST WHEN?

I have friends that can't spell, I'm getting good at figuring out what they have written. if you see when I write you may see a missing N well kitties knocked mine off keyboard can't put back on. mol yes mornings are hard I can't think before coffee. I will check him again, he is giving me those eyes again mol getting tired of this he says
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 were going down ag

We are active he dropped, Im going to give him a snack I guess I''l have to test again maybe +6 ?
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 were going down ag

You could probably do a +5. He's coming down slowly...which is good.

Sarah...he hasn't earned a reduction. We were just talking about how a late shot acts like a reduced dose.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 were going down ag

He was a half hour late for his shot this morning, so if he is good he will get less tonight?
he seems to feel good he was very playful so that I love seeing. :smile:
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 were going down ag

30 minutes isn't that much. I'd shoot your normal dose...1.5u at your regular time which will let you make up those 30 minutes.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 120 135+1 127+2 113+3 147+6

Ok Lucky has been such a good boy today,I couldn't ask for a more patient kitty,my other's wouldn't tolerate what he goes through.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky 423+10 we are not blue anymore

Well we are on the rise Lucky always has surprises
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky 423+10 we are not blue anymore

Nope - Lucky is no longer blue. Lucky decided to take a trip to Rebound City. Hopefully, he will turn around quickly.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky PMPS 347 411+2

Really hope I don't need to stay up and test tonight,mom needs sleep tonight MOL He will wake me if he want food he has so far when he has been low.cross fingers he keeps doing that.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky PMPS 347 411+2

Linda...his +2 is higher than his PS. I'd get a before bed and if he's the same or rising, I would go to bed for the night.
 
Re: 4/27 Lucky PMPS 347 411+2

Thank you, Lucky has had enough he went to bed, he is in his cage where he feels safe.Night thank you for all the help. :smile: If I get up I will check him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top