Re: 4/27 Lucky AMPS 107 120 NOW
Linda
Now that the decision process is over and you are shooting, I'd like to just throw some info out there for you.
With TR, we shoot low to stay low but the lowest we shoot is 50. We don't expect new members to start shooting green numbers right off the bat....we help them get to that gradually as you are doing

and once they have some data.
When deciding whether to shoot or stall, look at the preceding numbers to the preshot. If his numbers have been sliding down through the entire cycle so the lowest number is the preshot, then it's a dropping number. Once you have some experience with dropping numbers, it can be very good to shoot them...as long as they are above 50... Because it allows you to take advantage of the overlap between two cycles and hopefully keep numbers down. But, often, numbers which are dropping into the preshot continue dropping after it and then the insulin onsets at around +2. So it requires alot of early testing but it can really result in a nice cycle. I always think it's a good idea to ask an experienced member to help you the first time if the preshot is less than 150 and it's a dropping number.
Contrast a dropping number to a second dip which is what Lucky has today. Lantus is known for second dips. Again, look at preceding numbers to the preshot. Is there a nadir? If there is a nadir and then numbers come up, then go back down, it's a second dip and safe to shoot without stalling as long as the preshot is above 50. Usually with a second dip, the preshot is not lower than the nadir bit is lower than +10/+11.
Of course, anytime you shoot low, you must be able to be home and monitor and should have plenty of test strips, HC food/gravy or whatever works to manage low numbers, and syrup/honey.
Good job!