4/27 Junior AMPS 432, Vomited again before AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning all,

About 2 hours before his preshot (last night's +10), Junior vomited again. Normal barf quantity of yellow liquid. He also barfed on 4/25 and yesterday though yesterday's was probably a scarf and barf. Any thoughts?

Oh I just remembered I should've tested him before I went to bed last night. Dang it!
 
Is Junior's last meal at PMPS? If so, he may be experiencing a bit of an acid stomach from going for 12 hours without food. Can you give him part of his PM meal at shot time and spread out some mini-meals? A timed feeder may also help. Maybe if you give him some snacks over the course of the evening it will help you remember to get some PM tests in.

Do you have a game plan for when you want to increase Junior's dose?
 
Is Junior on meds? Are you giving them on an empty stomach? That can cause vomiting..You need to feed some small amounts of food to keep something in his stomach..IMHO.
Does he typically vomit a lot?
 
Hi guys ... sorry to hear that junior is throwing up so often .. hopefully you can get that figured out .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Yes, PMPS was his last meal. I didn't give him anything add'l last night because I thought we weren't to feed him after nadir and he didn't seem hungry for a snack. Will definitely spread his meals out for the first few hours of the shot.

And yes, he's on tapazol (2x/day) and atenolol (1x/day) for his hyperthyroidism. I bury it in his wet food at each meal. He barfs 8-10 hours after his meal so could it be the meds?

Game plan for Junior's increase was to see how his numbers are doing today and finish putting together my hypo tool kit. I'd prefer to start with the increase in the morning so that I can be here to see how he's coming along and then test every 3 hours. Am I missing anything?

I'm also having a hard time finding 1/2u syringes. I live in the city of Chicago. Any pointers?

Thanks and hope everyone is having a smoother day!
 
I'm in Chicago and I order my syringes on-line from Hocks. I linked the ones I buy. The syringes can be hard to find. Walmart's Relion brand are one of the few that stock 1/2 unit syringes. Hocks prices are good and they ship quickly. Also, I think you may need a prescription to buy syringes in a store -- you don't need an Rx if you buy on-line.

If Junior wasn't throwing up on his meds before the diabetes, it's probably not his meds that are the issue. It's not ideal to feed post-nadir but you have to weigh the pros and cons. Also, we don't know if it's a matter of not having food. Did you previously let Junior free feed?

What I would do is start spreading out his food. You're already keeping good notes on your SS. Keep track of whether he's barfing once you have food around later in the cycle. If that doesn't solve the problem, you can also try leaving a small amount (and I mean a really small amount -- 1/2 teaspoon) for Junior at +8. You'll have to compare whether his AMPS is higher vs. whether he's barfing. If that doesn't work, maybe you should talk to your vet.

I'd also suggest trying to sort out whether it's one flavor of food or a particular variety that is related to the vomiting. You're going to have to be a detective.
 
Great! I just ordered the syringes from Hocks and would will raise the dose when I get them. Half units were easy to see but I don't want to be guessing 1/4 units. Plus this morning he was kind of blah but back to normal in the evening. I'd like to keep an eye on him for the next couple of days.

For Chicago, you don't need a Rx when you buy 2 packets of syringes at a time. What a dumb law. I just go to Dominicks, then hop over to Walgreens, then over to CVS.

I'm sure the vomiting is from the acid in his stomach and not the meds. Before he got diagnosed, he would vomit when he didn't eat.

And you're both right -- lots of detective work is in order!
 
no evening barfing tonight, i gather? we can be grateful for little favors from the furry people!

i answered you in my condo, but i'll put it here - thanks for asking about the interview! nice of you to remember - i thought it was a blur of people's names and cat's names when i first started. the interview went well, she offered me the job and i accepted. mostly i'll be working from home, so punkin will still get all the TLC he needs.

funny how laws vary state to state - i buy a box of needles at a time from anywhere local or online without hassle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top