4/27 Jubalee PMPS 96=0.05u=80/+1=59/+1.5=53/+1.75=52/+2=64/+2.5

Status
Not open for further replies.
We went for it!
Juba is 80 +1 and we're going to get a +2, +3, etc.
@Chris & China thank you so much for the dosage help last night by the way!!
I have been practicing with the drops and it has really helped understand what dose Juba is actually receiving.
Tonight Juba received (one) drop of Lantus!! Hoping she won't go into hypo numbers, but we are pulling a Pj party tonight regardless!
 
That's great Kadie!! I'm happy it has worked out well for you and Jube!!

Give yourself a pat on the back too! I'm sure you went through quite a few syringes and practiced a lot to figure out those drops!!

Thank you so much!!
I practiced quite a bit with drawing a dose in the syringe and twisting down the plunger over and over again until I got just one drop, and then I drew up that specific dose (and repeated the first part about a dozen more times) until I felt good enough to give her that specific dose of insulin.
The last 2 doses I've been practicing with that syringe, just over and over, lol. So each dose is a whole process since many of the syringes aren't the exact same finely dosed.
It takes me about...7-10 minutes to get the specified dosage drop and feel comfortable giving it to Juba, but I know this will all be worth it in the end!
 
Ugh.
Now I'm getting anxious and nervous.
Juba is 59 or 55 (tested 2 strips) at +1.5 and I had a feeling she was lower. She would not leave me alone wanting more food (she ate dinner about 2 hours ago.)
So I checked her to see where she was and she dropped about 30 numbers in half an hour...with just a DROP of insulin!!!
I gave her about 2 teaspoons of her low carb food along with 1 teaspoon of gravy lovers (just to make sure she doesn't drop another 30 points in half and hour.)
This kitty...is she telling us no more insulin??

Now at +1.75 Juba is either 53 or 51. I gave her pure gravy lovers (about 2 teaspoons) and am about to recheck her in 5 minutes (15 minutes from last check.)

It was just a drop!!
 
Last edited:
I was wondering about your decision to go to a one drop dose after she went below 50 on 0.1u. Most of the time with a newly diagnosed cat we wouldn't try to dose under 0.1u without a reason for trying to continue the insulin. Was there some reason you are trying to keep her on insulin longer?

I've asked for some others to take a look at her ss and see if it's time for an OTJ trial.
 
Sounds like she's about through with this dance!!

I agree with Julie...it's time to try the OTJ trial!

For now, just keep testing and keep the gravy handy if you need to use it
 
I was wondering about your decision to go to a one drop dose after she went below 50 on 0.1u. Most of the time with a newly diagnosed cat we wouldn't try to dose under 0.1u without a reason for trying to continue the insulin. Was there some reason you are trying to keep her on insulin longer?

I've asked for some others to take a look at her ss and see if it's time for an OTJ trial.

I think we wanted to give the 0.05u dosage a try just because Juba has been higher in the mornings, and then after her dinner she climbs into the late 100's too.
I still can't believe she's in the 50's and is only 2 hours in.
I've been giving her a tiny amount of the gravy lovers because I'm so nervous Juba might plummet into hypo numbers so quickly since she dropped 30 points in an hour.

OTJ trial...how would I start this? (or is it self explanatory, lol.)
Really excited about that, but I don't want to be discouraged if Juba climbs again. Maybe she's just a once a day girl?

We have a vet appointment tomorrow, and I hope our vet will be pleased with all Juba's
progress!

PS. I totally forgot to update Juba's SS last night. Juba was 208 at +2 if that helps any. Sure isn't that way tonight though!
 
Here are the OTJ Trial Instructions:
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Marje and Wendy are both thinking that you should give this one drop dose a little bit longer and try feeding her a bite to eat at +9 to stimulate her pancreas to hopefully bring down her preshot numbers. The idea with this is that giving just one bite - not enough to provide a lot of carbs - can stimulate the pancreas to put out a little insulin, then 3-4 hours later it can be seen by the way it's pulled down the preshot numbers.

What do you think about that?
 
The reason she spent the day learning to count drops was so that she would REALLY know how much insulin she'd been giving at the .01 dose and find out if there WAS a smaller amount she could try

From what it sounds like, after her counting and experimenting, the 1 drop dose is half the .01 dose she had been giving, so she's trying to give as much support to the pancreas as possible before starting the OTJ trial

At least I think this was her thinking
 
Marje and Wendy are both thinking that you should give this one drop dose a little bit longer and try feeding her a bite to eat at +9 to stimulate her pancreas to hopefully bring down her preshot numbers. The idea with this is that giving just one bite - not enough to provide a lot of carbs - can stimulate the pancreas to put out a little insulin, then 3-4 hours later it can be seen by the way it's pulled down the preshot numbers.

What do you think about that?

I would like to try the 0.05u/2x a day a little bit longer too. I honestly can't believe Juba went into the low greens so fast (+1.5) so I'm thinking if I give her a little more for dinner, that may help?
Both her and our other kitty (who's slowly being transitioned into a low carb wet diet as well) are now getting light lunches between their bigger breakfasts and dinners. I want to increase their mid day meals, and decrease their AM and PM meals a little.

@Chris & China Yes, that's what we're wanting to do with Juba. We'd like for her pancreas to heal as much as possible before starting an OTJ trial (though I would love to now!) But patience is a virtue, and we've come this far with Juba, slow and steady has always won the race.
 
So, if I understand right, you want to continue with the new 1 drop dose 2x/day and give her pancreas the most help possible for as long as possible?

Then if she gets a whole week in normal numbers, THEN start the OTJ trial?

But if during one of these cycles (1 drop) he drops below 50 again, there's really noplace else to go but to try the OTJ trial
 
Usually, but not always, kitties that are ready for OTJ trials are showing all green on their spreadsheets. Of course, some bounce their way to OTJ. It's good to give insulin support as long as it is safe to do so, but safety is first. If Juba drops below 50 on this dose, then I think she's done. I also don't think you need to keep carbing her up the whole time to prevent the drop. Let her tell us when she's ready.
 
So, if I understand right, you want to continue with the new 1 drop dose 2x/day and give her pancreas the most help possible for as long as possible?

Then if she gets a whole week in normal numbers, THEN start the OTJ trial?

But if during one of these cycles (1 drop) he drops below 50 again, there's really noplace else to go but to try the OTJ trial

Yep, that sounds like a good plan.
However....this dropping into the 50's in under 2 hours has me nervous, and maybe thinking to possibly skipping a dose?

But I'd like to get at least a couple of days of this one drop dosage amount just to see if she really likes that amount.
 
Skipping the dose tomorrow will drain the 0.1 depot and might let you know how she does without for a day. I'd still do the +9 snacks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top