4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385|+3 265|+5 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good morning Lantus Land!!

Woke up to a very vocal, hungry kitty. Had to restrain myself from giving him a little extra food this am since he's headed to his thyroid scan and will be put under later. I convinced the center to let me feed him this am so that I could give him his shot. I normally feed at 4:30am, so supposedly it's safe because they won't do the scan until after 10am.

I will post results when I get them, but from what I understand under my circumstances, that the results will be faxed to my vet and then she will call me with the results. It's being done this way so that I could pay my vet directly at her cost, rather then the marked up charge of the scan center. The thyroid scan will tell us if he's hyper-t and the cardiac ultrasound will give us, hopefully, an idea of the seriousness of his enlarged heart. I'm hoping this will bring some answers to his trip back from the falls.

Here's the link to yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42018

One Last Question:
I will have to take my Lantus later today to the imagining center to possibly shoot him at is PM shot there. Can I travel with the insulin in a cooler to keep it from getting too warm? I will be out and about all day and will need to keep it with me? How cold can it get? I was thinking of putting it in a thermos with some ice to insure it stayed cool, but that will keep it really cool.
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 Question re: traveling with Lantu

Hi guys ... sorry to hear guinness was such a hungry boy this morning .. I know it's hard not to give in to their little meows .. I hope the testing goes well today and you get the results soon .. Do you have a lunch box you could put an ice pack in and then put the lantus in there? I hope others will be here soon to answer your question .. good luck today guys!
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 Question re: traveling with Lantu

I'd be concerned about having the Lantus directly on ice -- it could freeze. How about adding a few cubes of ice to water so you have really cold water? You want to keep the Lantus cold but above freezing.
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 Question re: traveling with Lantu

Hi Linda,
We travel with insulin a lot. I put it in a small cooler. First I wrap it in bubble wrap and some newspaper or small paper bags and put it into a small cardboard box (to keep it from moving around). Then into the cooler with a layer of newspaper on top of it. Then the freezer block(s). Do not let the insulin come in direct contact with the freezer blocks and certainly do not put it into a thermous with ice cubes!!! You will freeze it for sure.
As long as it stays cool (between 40 and 50 degrees) it will be fine.

Good luck today. We'll be thinking of you,

Ella
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 Question re: traveling with Lantu

Thank you all for your answers! I was just about to put it in the thermos with ice, so I'm glad I checked one last time before I ran out! You are all very kind and helpful! Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347

Champ and I are sending our best wishes with Guinness!!! We KNOW (yes we do) that he will be fine!!!
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347

Scan Results:

Hyper-T: NEGATIVE (Thyroid normal size, no tumors, etc)
Enlarged Heart/Heart Disease: NEGATIVE (he just is a big hearted kitty)

Imaging Ctr Doctor: "How would you like to add on an ultra-sound of the abdomen to see if there might be something going on there? it's only a couple hundred dollars more and would rule out cancer, kidney disease, tumors, etc."

Me: "Sure add it on, what's a little more poor at this point?"

Results of abdomen ultrasound: Slightly inflamed pancreas. Can't say for sure it's pancreatitis (we need a blood test from our vet for that - probably a couple hundred more for that), but she said it wouldn't hurt to treat it with some anti-inflammatory and a diet change.

So the research into the best food for diabetic/pancreatitis cats begins. If you have any dietary suggestions, I would welcome them. My guess is I'm going to get a lot of raw suggestions, I welcome those, but would also like to know if anyone is feeding a good canned OR slightly cooked food for their diabetic/pancreatic cat. Your advice would be greatly appreciated. Also any advice or warnings regarding anti-inflammatories that my vet might suggest would be welcomed as well!Thanks all!
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347

linda and guinness said:
....
Also any advice or warnings regarding anti-inflammatories that my vet might suggest would be welcomed as well!....

No Metacam; it has an FDA black box warning for cats and has been associated with an increased risk of renal failure.

If prednisone, it may temporarily raise BG; you just adjust the insulin for that.

If pancreatitis, there is often pain; an appropriate pain reliever will reduce pain and stress. Sometimes cats become very disoriented on opiate or opiate agonist meds such as Tramadol or fentanyl, so start low, go slow with those and monitor behavior. It the cat becomes agitated or disoriented, a different drug may be needed.
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 SCAN RESULTS

Oh I am so happy to hear the results that you do have! I don't have any advice on the food change.

Do you have any ideas as to why he came out of remission?
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 SCAN RESULTS

I'm not sure what to look for as symptoms of pancreatitis. He rarely throws up his food, unless he just eats it too darn fast (or eats too many liver treats). He doesn't seem to be in any pain, but it's hard to tell with cats. Anything else I should be looking for (aside from an unexplained lapse in remission and elevated BG numbers)?

Thanks for the well wishes and info regarding the anti-inflammatories.I stay away from the metacam and think about the prednisone, I don't really want him on that either. I'm not sure what my vet is going to suggest yet. We will see.
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347 SCAN RESULTS

Very good news, Linda, though I know you're thinking like me that you wish he had hyperthyroidism so you could just treat it and he would get better. But...he went into remission once and he will do it again. It will just take a bit longer this time. I choose to think he's hanging around to keep Champ company. :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385 Up Dose SCAN RESULTS

Upped his dose to 3.0u. Shooting in his side belly area,rather than flank - hoping for faster absorption? Will test tonight to see affects. Glad to have him home, it was a long day.

Bean need wine now. :?
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385 Up Dose SCAN RESULTS

i'll bet you're wiped out. nothing like stress to leave you exhausted. so glad it wasn't anything terrible turning up in the ultrasound. you must be very relieved.

no experience on the pancreatitis but it is talked about so much here, i'm sure someone with experience will offer more ideas. you might post that in your subject line to get more eyes on it.
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385 Up Dose SCAN RESULTS

Linda, what a day you've had too. Great news about the tests being Neg. I would say the reason he has a large heart is just more love to give his Bean.
He's gonna be just fine with you taking care of him, No doubt.
Have a glass for me too would ya ;-)
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385 Up Dose SCAN RESULTS

Great news that Guinness has a normal thyroid...whew...and I hope that he doesn't have pancreatitis....but it's good to treat him a is if he did just in case.....Feel better Guinness!! :razz:
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385 Up Dose SCAN RESULTS

Wonderful news, Linda! You are so lucky! I don't know much about pancreatitis except that lots of kitties get it, so you should have lots of support and advice here.
Have a wonderful evening!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Guinness AMPS 347|PMPS 385|+3 265

Hey, that's a nice yellow number. Maybe he's starting to realize if he would get his numbers under control I might stop taking him to the vet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top