4/27 Dimi - AMPS 333, +1 275, +3 302, +4 274, +7 303, +9 330 TR next step?

Bobbi Kraham

Member Since 2022
After our beautiful blue day 2 days ago, yesterday's and today's numbers are a disappointing mix of reds, pinks and yellows. @Wendy&Neko, you suggested he bounced up because his body isn't used to a stretch of blue numbers. What I don't understand is how he will ever get used to lower numbers if after a good day, he has a series of high days. How does that work?

I also have a question about TR dosing. I've held at 1.5 units for 5 days. Do I base tomorrow's increase on today's nadirs, or on the nadirs from the past 5 days? I'm unclear on whether I should increase by .25 or by .5, as within the past 5 days, he has had nadirs under 200, but today's nadir is 274. Thanks in advance for your guidance!

Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-105-6-180-9-169-11-168.262476/#post-2942112
 
He is bouncing again. I personally would wait til he clears the bounce before increasing, because I don't like to potentially increase on the same cycle they break a bounce. They get extra downward momentum from the bounce break, then more from the increase. I suspect he'll break it tonight/tomorrow then I'd increase.

It would be a 0.25U increase either way, we only increase by 0.5U if the cat is always above 300 - no blues or yellows in sight. You know when he isn't bouncing he's capable of nice blues, so that's why only 0.25U.

They do get used to the lower numbers, it just takes time. @Hendrick Cuddleclaw is a good example, he's calmed down quite a bit since he started a few months ago
 
He is bouncing again. I personally would wait til he clears the bounce before increasing, because I don't like to potentially increase on the same cycle they break a bounce. They get extra downward momentum from the bounce break, then more from the increase. I suspect he'll break it tonight/tomorrow then I'd increase.

It would be a 0.25U increase either way, we only increase by 0.5U if the cat is always above 300 - no blues or yellows in sight. You know when he isn't bouncing he's capable of nice blues, so that's why only 0.25U.

They do get used to the lower numbers, it just takes time. @Hendrick Cuddleclaw is a good example, he's calmed down quite a bit since he started a few months ago
Thank you, @FrostD! I will hold off on increasing as you suggest. Surprised it is such a long bounce from blues!
 
@Bobbi Kraham I know exactly how you feel. I remember looking at Hendrick's spreadsheet in dismay just wishing for those nice blues to come back and the bouncing to stop. It took quite a bit of patience and there were some down days where it felt like we were making no progress, but I just trusted in the process of TR and the helpful folks here like Melissa and kept plugging away -- and it paid off bigtime when he finally stopped bouncing, and the progress from there has been exponential.

people kept telling me, it's a marathon not a sprint. Some cats take a much longer time to get regulated than others, ECID. (every cat is different) but I wanted my boy in better numbers NOW, haha. Hard to be patient I know. Hang in there, you're doing great.
 
@Bobbi Kraham I know exactly how you feel. I remember looking at Hendrick's spreadsheet in dismay just wishing for those nice blues to come back and the bouncing to stop. It took quite a bit of patience and there were some down days where it felt like we were making no progress, but I just trusted in the process of TR and the helpful folks here like Melissa and kept plugging away -- and it paid off bigtime when he finally stopped bouncing, and the progress from there has been exponential.

people kept telling me, it's a marathon not a sprint. Some cats take a much longer time to get regulated than others, ECID. (every cat is different) but I wanted my boy in better numbers NOW, haha. Hard to be patient I know. Hang in there, you're doing great.
Thank you so much for the pep talk! I definitely need it. I was so hopeful when we had a full day of blues for the first time, thought we were turning a corner, and then a huge letdown. Seeing Hendrick's spreadsheet gives me hope - you've come so far! Thanks again.
 
With TR, you hold a dose giving you blue nadirs for 6-10 cycles. Tonight will be cycle 10. So he's due for a 0.25 unit increase. He has plenty of room to bring down the nadirs with an increase, so he's good to go.
Do I base tomorrow's increase on today's nadirs, or on the nadirs from the past 5 days?
Ask yourself the question "how low dose this dose take my cat?". That's the number you consider when trying to decide when/if to increase and by how much. Dimi go to the low 100's, but just on one cycle. It wasn't repeated.

The more time he spends in good numbers, the less his body will bounce. The long stretch of blues was both good and bad. His body freaked out and bounced, but he also spent quite a bit of time there so those stretches of good numbers are getting better.
 
He is bouncing again. I personally would wait til he clears the bounce before increasing, because I don't like to potentially increase on the same cycle they break a bounce. They get extra downward momentum from the bounce break, then more from the increase. I suspect he'll break it tonight/tomorrow then I'd increase.

It would be a 0.25U increase either way, we only increase by 0.5U if the cat is always above 300 - no blues or yellows in sight. You know when he isn't bouncing he's capable of nice blues, so that's why only 0.25U.

They do get used to the lower numbers, it just takes time. @Hendrick Cuddleclaw is a good example, he's calmed down quite a bit since he started a few months ago
Should have asked earlier - how do I know when he's cleared the bounce and it's ok to increase?
 
With TR, you hold a dose giving you blue nadirs for 6-10 cycles. Tonight will be cycle 10. So he's due for a 0.25 unit increase. He has plenty of room to bring down the nadirs with an increase, so he's good to go.

Ask yourself the question "how low dose this dose take my cat?". That's the number you consider when trying to decide when/if to increase and by how much. Dimi go to the low 100's, but just on one cycle. It wasn't repeated.

The more time he spends in good numbers, the less his body will bounce. The long stretch of blues was both good and bad. His body freaked out and bounced, but he also spent quite a bit of time there so those stretches of good numbers are getting better.
Ah, ok, that makes sense. Thanks for explaining. FrostD suggested we hold off on increasing until he clears the bounce. How do we know when he's cleared it? Yellows?
 
how do I know when he's cleared the bounce and it's ok to increase?
At this dose, he gets down to blues when he's not bouncing, so you know he's done bouncing when you see blues again. If you count the number of cycles between those blues, you can see how long he's taking to clear the bounce. A cycle like yesterday where he went from over 400 and AMPS and slid all the way down to blues for PMPS is a classic bounce breaking cycle. Some cats will actually go up before they go down, which is probably the explanation for yesterday mornings reds.
 
At this dose, he gets down to blues when he's not bouncing, so you know he's done bouncing when you see blues again. If you count the number of cycles between those blues, you can see how long he's taking to clear the bounce. A cycle like yesterday where he went from over 400 and AMPS and slid all the way down to blues for PMPS is a classic bounce breaking cycle. Some cats will actually go up before they go down, which is probably the explanation for yesterday mornings reds.
Just want to make sure I understand...his brief return to blues yesterday means he cleared the bounce after 2 cycles (PM and AM)? Does that mean his higher numbers today are not considered to be part of the bounce? Sorry for all the questions but I really want to understand.
 
Just want to make sure I understand...his brief return to blues yesterday means he cleared the bounce after 2 cycles (PM and AM)? Does that mean his higher numbers today are not considered to be part of the bounce? Sorry for all the questions but I really want to understand.
He had the stretch of blues 4/25 AM, then he bounced as evidenced by the meteoric rise up to 375. So 4/25 PM cycle was cycle 1 of the bounce. 4/26 AM he was high but started to break it in the very late part of the cycle back down to blue. So like 1.5 cycles that time. Bounced back up during the PM cycle, continued to bounce today (so currently at about 1.5 cycles of bounce). The +11 you had tonight looks like he may have started to break, but your +2 tonight says not quite yet. Very possible he will later tonight, so I'd grab a +6.

When you think they might break a bounce, a +10 or +11 is always a good idea. That way you know when you do your preshot which way he's heading.

So once you see blues again, you'll increase the next shot...unless he throws some wildcard greens, then you'll want to double check here what to do.
 
He had the stretch of blues 4/25 AM, then he bounced as evidenced by the meteoric rise up to 375. So 4/25 PM cycle was cycle 1 of the bounce. 4/26 AM he was high but started to break it in the very late part of the cycle back down to blue. So like 1.5 cycles that time. Bounced back up during the PM cycle, continued to bounce today (so currently at about 1.5 cycles of bounce). The +11 you had tonight looks like he may have started to break, but your +2 tonight says not quite yet. Very possible he will later tonight, so I'd grab a +6.

When you think they might break a bounce, a +10 or +11 is always a good idea. That way you know when you do your preshot which way he's heading.

So once you see blues again, you'll increase the next shot...unless he throws some wildcard greens, then you'll want to double check here what to do.
Thanks so much for your patient and thorough explanation! I get it now. He usually wakes me up sometime between +6 and +10, so I'll try to grab those numbers.
 
Back
Top