4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69, +8 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
I'm finally taking the time to post a Champ condo this morning. It's been waaaaay too long!!! (I think about a month)

Champ is doing really pretty well. He's now on a dose of a fat 1.5 units and typically has blues and greens, mostly in the evenings (of course). He throws a pink every once in a while to make sure I'm paying attention!! For some reason, just about every evening he starts at any given number and then continues to drop right up until his next shot time. Because I've gotten so used to this, I've taken to doing something most of you would never do.....I just feed him some Fancy Feast Elegant Medley's (11%) and go to bed. Because Champ has been so good about waking me up for food when he's low, this has worked out pretty well. I got up this morning at 4:00 to get some work done and he was fast asleep under the dining room chair. I called to him to see if he wanted a bite to eat (and so I could test him) and he looked at me, twisted his head upside down, and put his paws over his face. I do believe he was telling me to leave him alone so he could get his beauty sleep!! Finally, at 4:30, he strolled into my office. I gave him a mouthful of food and tested him and he was at 53. Because I'm finally trusting my insticts about how Champ reacts to food and what his patterns are, I'm getting much more sleep these days!!

I've finally scheduled Champ for his first dental. I know he has gingivitis, though his vet says his teeth really don't look horrible. Of course, he also said we really don't know what his teeth are really like until he has x-rays and he takes a look when he's under anesthesia. The first available appointment wasn't until May 22 so that's the date. I'll be needing lots of reassurance at that time because this will be the first time Champ's ever undergone anesthesia.

I know I don't post regularly anymore...work keeps me busy and I'm trying really hard to focus on things other than Champ's diabetes all the time. It had gotten to the point where, if I wasn't working, I was on FDMB. Sometimes I was on FDMB when I should have been working!! I still get on FDMB and keep tabs on all the kitties and their beans, but I only post a comment every once in a while. To be honest, I miss all of you so much. I feel true friendships with so many of you. I've gone from spending too much time posting to not enough....I'll try to find a good balance and stop in and say hi more often!!! I love you all!!!

I can't remember whose condo it was in, but someone was talking about looking at where your cat's BG was last year and comparing it to where they are now. Was that in Julie and Punkin's condo? Anyway, I took a look...last year on this day, Champ had an AMPS of 315 (the day before that it was 399). Today, his AMPS is 81. Last year at this time, Champ had only seen a couple of blues and no greens. He had been diagnosed with diabetes for exactly one month. He was still so sick and I still cried a lot. Wow!!! How time's have changed!!! Champ is healthy and happy. I'm happy and broke!! :lol: His diabetes is now just something that "is" and no longer the all consuming worry that it once was.

I hope you all have a fabulous Friday. I'm going to be getting ready for a garage sale tomorrow (ugh!). Twice a year, my community opens the gates and lets us have a community-wide garage sale. This is the first time I'm participating and it had better be worth my while!!!
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81

aw, that's a very nice WCR. it was punkin that CD observed was doing so much better than a year ago. although his amps a year ago was 97, according to my browser this morning.

you're right - it's hard to believe it's been a year. taking care of a diabetic cat now is pretty routine, although yes, it sure sucks up the money! helps to be farther into it and have found the less-expensive places to buy supplies, of course.

i'm just glad to see you whenever you're here, patty. i understand what you mean about getting pulled in here and spending too much time. it's easy to do.

hugs hugs and more hugs! thanks for looking in on Lucy & Orange last night, too.
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63

Looks like Champ has decided to detour from his usual....as usual!! :lol: I guess I'll need to keep an eye out for him today. He just consumed his third breakfast of the day and is busy giving his face a good washing. He gets 3 oz spread out over each cycle, with 2.5 oz usually eaten by +4 and the last 0.5 oz at about +9 to tide him over until dinnertime. And he's still a fatso!!
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63

Wow! Champ is looking good! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We've missed you! It is good to see that all is going well. I know only too well how time consuming it is once you get on the board, and you feel guilty about not getting to everyone! We need to live our lives to, but please, try to squeeze us in sometimes. Once a week? :lol: :cool:
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63

Look at Champ go! So nice to hear from you. I understand what you are saying. It is easy to get caught up in FDMB and not live. Hugs to you. You are doing a great job with Champ!

Good luck on the garage sale. I hope you at least get rid of a lot of stuff and make some $$$. Good luck on the dental as well. Champ will do great!

Mason is staying in Norman this summer. He has a good research assistant job there with a decent stipend and can start on his graduate research. He is coming home a few weekends.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41

I think Champ is playin' me. He slides down like this when he's in the mood for Elegent Medley's!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

Awesome WCR...we miss you too! I know it's tough to balance all of it...lately I haven't had as much time to post, either.

How's Champ doing the Adequan?
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

Hi Amy!! Champ is doing great on the Adequan. We just finished up his first vial and he has one more shot of the "one shot every other week" before going to the once a month shot. However, I'm going to talk to his vet and ask if I can keep him on once every two weeks because he's not doing as well as he was when he had a shot every week, but it's still a big improvement. I just don't want him to get worse again. The wobbliness of his front legs continues along with the twitching of his face every once in a while. I believe he has a neurological problem, something in his spine, but nothing I can prove. I'm going to ask his vet to really think on any neurological problems that can manifest those symptoms and see if he can come up with any ideas. It's nice to hear from you!!
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

I can't remember, sre you using methyl-B12 as well? I won't hurt and is supposed to help repair damaged nerves.
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

Ann--I'm glad you reminded me of that!!! Champ's vet had told me to go ahead and restart that along with the Dasequan and fish oil. I need to order all of that right now so I don't forget again.

BTW...I just put in my first order for Lantus through a Canadian pharmacy. It was $113 with shipping for five pens. So much cheaper than the $43 I'm paying for each pen now!!! I was told that the insulin will be coming from Turkey so I look forward to seeing how they reach me. I deliberately waited until this time of year because the temperatures are usually mild everywhere so there shouldn't be any freezing/boiling issues. We'll soon see. They said it will take 8-12 business days to get here, but will be packed with cold packs.
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

Patty & Champ said:
Hi Amy!! Champ is doing great on the Adequan. We just finished up his first vial and he has one more shot of the "one shot every other week" before going to the once a month shot. However, I'm going to talk to his vet and ask if I can keep him on once every two weeks because he's not doing as well as he was when he had a shot every week, but it's still a big improvement. I just don't want him to get worse again. The wobbliness of his front legs continues along with the twitching of his face every once in a while. I believe he has a neurological problem, something in his spine, but nothing I can prove. I'm going to ask his vet to really think on any neurological problems that can manifest those symptoms and see if he can come up with any ideas. It's nice to hear from you!!

I'm glad to hear it's helping him! With Mario, we kept him at the "every other week" stage longer than the dosing protocol stated, because he needed it, too. He's been on the adequan for almost a year now, and at this point we dose him about every 3 - 3.5 weeks. Basically, I watch his posture and behaviors (ie, bunnyhopping down the stairs), and dose him when I feel like he needs it. It's been a bit slow, but over time we have been able to inch the time between doses out a bit. But, I'll always go on his behavioral cues, rather than follow a rigid calendar.

Champ could have a pinched nerve or something like that. I also wonder the same for Mario. His front legs twitch when he lowers his head to the food bowl...one twitch, and that's it. They wobble a bit, too. And, he hasn't sat with his butt on the floor like a "regular" cat does in years. But, even if there is something going on, I don't want to stress him with any further tests...these "sympotoms" have been stable for years now.

I've always been nervous about mail-ordering Lantus...I'm looking forward to hearing about your experience once it arrives!
 
Re: 4/27/12 Champ AMPS 81, +2.5 63, +4 41, +5 69

Nice to see you here, Patty, and nice WCR on little Champs. I call everyone little; it's an affectionate term! :-D It looks like Champ was wanting a reducie with that 41! Yes, I know what you mean about spending so much time here. I need to be on another board and should be dividing up my time! Whatever you're doing with the food at night seems to be working. I've had to work around a couple things with Mags, too! Good luck with the garage sale. Scritches to Champs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top