4/26 Yemala PMBG 102 +3 98 +6 123

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 288 +2 266

Davey here. Mala's lookin' good (or better anyway). After a wild night, she's down to 266 at +2 from an AMPS of 288 with a .25 shot.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 288 +2 266

Hi guys ... good luck with the new dose .. a nice slow drop down is a good way to get down to the lower floors without a massive bounce .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 288 +2 266

It's not a new dose really - just a skinny .25. Finding a sweet spot with this kitty is proving difficult. Doesn't help she won't eat willingly when her BGs are low.

Silly pussy cat.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266

That skinny is a new dose! Because Yemala was already on a small dose, we're trying to keep her on insulin to support her pancreas for as long as possible. As a result, I suggested you shave a drop off of the dose. Even a drop can make a difference.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266

"as long as possible" - what do you mean?

I shot the skinniest dose I could shoot without giving her nothing at all. She's bouncing high today in response to her adventures last night.

Tested for ketones. She's negative today.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223

Just managed to catch some urine from Yemala. She's negative for ketones. One less worry on my plate.

She's low energy, though. Rather listless. I managed to get her to eat a little ham from my sandwich, but she very nearly wouldn't. Lack of energy is always a warning sign with this kitty.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200

I know I'm asking for a lot of attention on the board, but I'm really starting to worry about Yemala. Although her BGs look reasonable, she's got no energy at all. If she's picked up or moved, she growls as if she's in pain. My son is sitting with her on his lap, and every time he moves forward to give her a kiss, she groans and growls.

I'm beginning to suspect that something else is wrong with her. :cry: :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200

Oh my gosh, I'm so sorry to hear that something else may be wrong with her! Please keep us posted!!

My kitty also came out of remission due to ear drops 4 weeks ago!! :-x

I'll keep an eye out on Yamala's SS!
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200

Please don't apologize for asking for help! If you think she has something else going on, I would encourage you to take her in to the vet to get checked out...and I wouldn't wait. It sounds like she might be in pain, and with the lethargy, that's an urgent vet visit, in my view.

You also mentioned that she doesn't want to eat...is she eating and/or drinking?
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200

I will take her, if this persists. I am, however, unhappy with all the vets I've seen lately.

The vet who initially diagnosed her in 2006 did not approve of home testing. He wanted her on a 2 unit dose BID. If I hadn't found this board, Mala would have been dead within a few months.

The vet I saw with her lately supports home testing, but even though I told him she was diabetic, he gave her ear drops with steroids for an infection. He only treats cats, and I had hoped he'd keep a better handle on this.

There are other vets around, but every one of them will first charge us for labs, and my money supply is limited. I can't put a price on my love for this cat, but I have no income over the summer, and have to live on what I've saved.

Yes, she eats, but not as much as normal. Usually, by this time of day, she's up and loudly petitioning for an early dinner. Tonight, she's sitting on the floor barely moving her head. This isn't my little cat.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200 +11 136

Her +11 is 136. Please look at her spreadsheet, anyone willing to aid me in determining a shot for this evening. She had VERY low numbers last night, but refused all food. I would bet that she's going to eat little for her dinner, as she's not showing signs of appetite. I shot a skinny .25 this morning; what to shoot this evening?
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200 +11 136

I'm so sorry that I cannot help you! I'm learning the ropes myself but there are wonderful ladies on here who will be by soon!

If she cannot move her head very well that you need to go take her to an emergency vet. Meters can be off by quite a few points so if she is acting that lethargic, I would recommend holding off on shooting her until you hear from one of the dosing experts here.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200 +11 136

I'm very concerned about her behavior and lack of appetite...I really think you should take her to the vet, Renee. Can you take her to the vet who gave her the ear drops?

I'm not comfortable with suggesting that you give insulin if she won't eat...especially since she doesn't like to eat when she's low, and won't eat HC food. I wouldn't shoot if she is dropping, anyway. You would want to stall until she turns around and starts to rise...but even then, I worry about her not eating. Not eating + insulin could become a hypo situation.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala AMPS 228 +2 266 +6 223 +9 200 +11 136

She is moving her head, don't think that she's immobile. I just fed all the kitties, and although she walked away from her own dish, she ate half what I put down for her sister. (Typical behavior in this household - the food given other kitties is always better than your own.)

She is now in the living room, and she's grooming. She's walked around a little, and did go to the kitchen for food. She allowed her slave, Gary, to bathe her a little.

My worry - she's not as active as usual. She has less appetite than usual. She is grumpy.

I'm not shooting any insulin right now. I want to see what she looks like an hour after she eats.

My city has no emergency vet.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala PMBG 102

Where (city/state) are you located? There may be someone here or if you post your location on Health, people may have vets in your area that they could recommend.
 
Re: 4/26 Yemala PMBG 102 +3 98

Davey the DH here; at +3 Mala's at 98. No shot tonight. She's become more responsive in the past couple hours. Sleepy, but not alarmingly listless. We're gonna try and tempt her with a little of last night's chicken parmesan in a little while. And yup, we're here, engaged with her, and generally hovering over her making small worried hoots.
 
My little cat condescended to eat some Parmesan chicken about an hour ago, and her +6 reading is now 123. This is without a PM insulin shot. I don't know what to make of this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top