4/26 Sammy on 1.75U +12 PMPS=428 +2~371 +4.5~335 +6~328

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 Getting SCARED

The difference between your numbers may be meter variance. There's between 10 - 20% that can be attributed to normal measurement error. In addition, you may be seeing a bounce from the blue last night.

I'm also not sure why you gave twice the usual dose of the Miralax. 1/8 teaspoon is what most of us start with. I'd also discuss the use of it with your vet since as I mentioned, there are some situations where it is not recommended.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 Getting SCARED

Neuropathy does not occur overnight. It takes a considerable amount of time to occur - like months.

I would start with 1/8 teasp. and then increase after a few days. You don't want to over do this and end up with diarrhea or give Sammy a bellyache.

I hate to sound like a broken record but talk to your vet about this. The constipation has been going on for quite some time.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 Getting SCARED

I talked to him on Saturday. He told me to use the Lactalose. Sammy's numbers spiked with the sugar. MiraLax seemed safer.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 Getting SCARED

Maureen I understand you are frustrated. Remember Sammy has only been on the Lantus for 6-7 days. His "perfect" dose may take some time. And I agree with Sienne that the rise may be a bounce from the 178 last night. That was a pretty significant drop from 326. Hang in there. I am not familiar with PZI but Lantus works differently and I am sure everyone told you about that already. You have to build up each increase. And his liver needs to learn not to bounce so much when he see's lower numbers. You will get there. Believe me we have all been in your shoes waiting for it to happen and wanting it to happen NOW. :YMHUG:

Can you say how often Sammy has used the LB in the last week? Has it been more the 2 or 3 times? Or only once since you came back from the vet? Have you changed his diet recently? What are you feeding him?

There is a profile that most of us fill out that answers all these sorts of questions (so you won't keep getting asked - like I am asking you now :mrgreen: ) Follow the link below if you want to set one up and attached to your signature along with Sammy's SS.

How to create profile in Google Docs
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 Getting SCARED

Hi Maureen, Lantus needs time to work. Also, since you just increased his dose, some of the insulin that you shot this morning is going into "filling the storage shed", the reserve depot just under the skin. Just keep doing what you are doing and try to be consistent. You will get better results soon. As regards the constipation issue, I can't help you. But I notice that when Stu eats grass or weeds they show up in his stool. Perhaps they help to "move it along". Try getting some of that kitty grass that they sell in pet food shops or farmers' markets and see if that will help.
Good luck, and try not to worry. I agree with Sienne that you should go back to the vet if the constipation doesn't resolve itself soon.

Ella
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +11~462 Do U HAVE To Wait 12 Hr

Recap of Second 1.75U Cycle: AMPS=300 +3~329 +4.5~355 +6.5~315 +9~443 +11~462
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +11~462 Do U HAVE To Wait 12 Hr

no, you don't have to wait until +12 to shoot. you can go ahead and shoot now. however, doing so requires monitoring tonight in case the bounce from yesterday's blue is about to break. it also means the next shot time will be 12 hours from whatever time you shoot tonight.
your decision.

miralax... if 1/8 teaspoon bid is not producing results, up the dose to 1/4 teaspoon bid.
if you're dosing 1/4 teaspoon bid, up the dose to 1/2 teaspoon bid.
jojo has often mentioned starting with a higher dose and then working your way down to a maintenance dose.


edited to add: did your vet ok the use of miralax?
reason i'm asking is cheryl is correct... there are times when the use of miralax is not advised.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +11~462 Do U HAVE To Wait 12 Hr

Since you increased the dose, you should expect to see some weird numbers and even higher ones because the shed needs to be topped up.
As for shooting early, you may end up changing the dose time often.
If your shot is at 8am, then you shoot early at 7pm, then you have to shoot the am shot at 7am, but if you shot that one early you will shot at 6am, and you see where I am going with this? Before you know it, you will be setting your alarm to get up and shoot at 3 or 4am!

Best to stick with the proper 12/12 or you will never know exactly how Sammy is really doing.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U AMPS=300 +11~462 Do U HAVE To Wait 12 Hr

Looks like you had an hour you could use from the +13 yesterday. If you shoot at +11 tonight then you'll be back on schedule.
Try not to focus on all the pink and red, focus on that BG 178 and those yellows you were getting.
Constipation clearing can drop numbers, the clearing of the bounce will dissipate, the dosecrease has not reached it's full settling time, and an early shot -- equals monitoring.

PS. Maybe look at Noisy's ss -- he was pink and red for some time. I know it is frustrating to see pink and red.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U +12 PMPS=428

Maureen, I know its hard to be patient, believe me. It took us weeks to get from 1 unit to 4.25 units, but then we had an awesome breakthrough. It takes time for the shed to fill and you don't want to increase too fast. I hope you get some better lb action from Sammy and then some better numbers.
 
Re: 4/26 Sammy on 1.75U +12 PMPS=428

We went to +12 which was 428, down from +11~462. I was afraid he'd try to break the bank at Monte Carlo so to speak. And I'm trying to get 1/4 tsp of MiraLax into him now. Why would MiraLax be contraindicated?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top