4/26 Ruarach AMPS=50; Skip AM insulin; earned REDUCTION to 1 U; PMPS:220

LauraZZ

Member Since 2023
Ruarach had an AMPS of 50 this morning @823. Fed his normal (relatively LC) food. Retested @ 9:19 (+1) = 138. Retested at 946 (+1.25) = 143. These are low numbers for him. I had fed him between 5 & 6 am but didn't test as I was barely awake.

Yesterday his AMPS was 111 and didn't increase much over next hour so I skipped the AM insulin.

This 50 today is the lowest I've seen. For SLGS, guidelines say to drop his insulin by .25U, so that would be 1 U going forward.

Now that his BG has increased, but now he's almost 2 hours past his normal insulin time, am thinking at most I should give him a partial dose - maybe 0.5U for AM, but then 1U going forward, starting this evening, as long as his BG reading indicates that's fine.


Previous day's thread
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nsulin-pmps-19-44-193-gave-pm-insulin.276831/
 
Last edited:
Just retested - 1.46 at 1004 (+1.67 after AMPS reading)

About 1 hr 40 min after the AMPS reading (which was a little late this morning, so about 1.75 after his normal insulin time).

Guidelines say "We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat."

So, maybe should skip? I skipped yesterday AM, and AMPS was low this morning, so maybe safer to skip? Or at most 0.5 U?
 
A reduction to 1.0 has been earned the next time your shoot. I think you should skip. That way you can shoot at your regular time tonight. Otherwise yiur next shot could be no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from now. You are also still lower than suggested when new.
 
Back
Top