4/26 Rocky AMPS 354 +1 398 +3 415 +6 476 - is low carb really low carb?

Jen & Rocky

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

So, I switched my cat to a different low carb food two days ago, Wellness Chicken Pate Smooth Loaf Grain Free, and his numbers have been way high since then.

I studied the nutritional info closely before switching the food and it says it has less than 1% carbs. Below, I've pasted the PDF link that Wellness provides for this food:
https://www.wellnesspetfood.com/sites/default/files/media/documents/WCC CH Chicken Q3-2020.pdf

Is it possible that I'm misreading the label and it's not actually low carb?

If it IS low carb, then I suppose the only other explanation is that I missed the last 3 shots? I think I would have noticed though because the areas where I shoot (flank, hip) are shaved so I'm pretty sure I would have noticed if I had missed.

I would really appreciate if someone could take a look at the label and let me know if this food is appropriate for a sugar cat.

Thanks so much in advance!
Jennifer
 
Hi all,

So, I switched my cat to a different low carb food two days ago, Wellness Chicken Pate Smooth Loaf Grain Free, and his numbers have been way high since then.

I studied the nutritional info closely before switching the food and it says it has less than 1% carbs. Below, I've pasted the PDF link that Wellness provides for this food:
https://www.wellnesspetfood.com/sites/default/files/media/documents/WCC CH Chicken Q3-2020.pdf

Is it possible that I'm misreading the label and it's not actually low carb?

If it IS low carb, then I suppose the only other explanation is that I missed the last 3 shots? I think I would have noticed though because the areas where I shoot (flank, hip) are shaved so I'm pretty sure I would have noticed if I had missed.

I would really appreciate if someone could take a look at the label and let me know if this food is appropriate for a sugar cat.

Thanks so much in advance!
Jennifer
Jennifer , see if you can find that food on this list I have pasted here.
https://catinfo.org/docs/SortableCatFoodChartCatinfo.org2-22-13.htm
 
I believe the Wellness pates are all low carb, but it could be that your cat is sensitive to an ingredient in the food that is causing the spike in BGs. I would switch brands and see how he reacts. When I took Ruby off commercial foods and transitioned to raw her BGs went down overall. There was something in the foods that was making her not feel so good.
 
Hi! I fed Jax Wellness Complete Health Chicken pate and it is indeed very low carb (0.58%) - using the PDF you posted, you then take the As Fed (or Dry Matter Basis) values and use them to determine the % of total calories that are carbs. The calculation for doing this is explained in this post (and talks about why other values are not sufficient for determining the carb %). Unfortunately, one cannot just read the label and determine the % carbs (thanks pet food industry :rolleyes:).

Are you by chance double-checking the LO Libre values? I've never used the Libre but I've seen others been advised to do an earprick to double check the lower values. With that said, if one does take the LO at face value, it means the BG was <40 (unless you changed a setting? I'm just going off what I found online). Any reading <40 means an automatic 0.25u reduction. Perhaps @Wendy&Neko can stop by again and advise to dosing if you want advice there.

BTW, are you following a dosing method from here? no matter the dosing method, Gooey has still earned reductions with any LO reading.

Lastly, any time you have a suspected Fur Shot, it's good to note it in your unit's cell as it can impact future cycles - e.g., on 04/15 AM, you would write "1.25u FS" in your units cell. As an aside, if there's anyway to get all of your glucose data on one SS, data and patterns would be so much easier to read IMHO.

Just going to link two previous posts for continuity -
Previous Post
First Post


Hope that helps some - all of your kitties sure are lucky to have you looking after them :bighug:
 
I believe wellness pates are low carb. I have been feeding wellness venison flavor and it doesn't affect Sabrina's number. Can you switch back to his old food and see if numbers go down? There are other factors that could spike the numbers.
 
Some cats do what we call "going high before breaking the bounce". Yesterday was the sixth cycle after that Lo so could have meant he came down last night. And Susanne is corrent, you need to reduce the dose by a full 0.25 units. This is for Rocky's safety.
 
Thank you all for taking the time to comment on my post. Rocky and I appreciate it! :cat:

I will take all of your comments/feedback into account. :bighug:
 
Back
Top