4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174,PMPS-242,+3-223

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
I think Racci finally cleared that bounce! I don't know if it was that little fraction of extra insulin that helped her or if she would have anyway but yesterday she was totally yellow so I had a feeling she was regulating and in the wee hours she went blue. I fed her at +4 last night to make sure she didn't go too low and DH tried to feed her for me this morning, but didn't write the time down, so I could sleep late today and it looked like he did alright but she wanted mom to do it and didn't eat it all. She was starving when I got up but not too low (146) so I fed her, got some stuff done, did her meds and was going to feed again but she pooped and went to sleep. :smile:

Today has been totally messed up since I slept so late. I'm going to wake her now and test and feed. She may bounce again from the blues now since she's no longer used to them so I really don't want to let her hit green today.

I am so so glad she has finally got off that bounce!!!!!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69557
4/25-Racci-AMPS-290,+5-211,+11-225,PMPS-266,+10-146
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77 too late!

Ugh! Next bounce here we come! :roll: I was half an hour late and she went green. I was hoping to let her get used to the blues again first but will have to deal with what is. I got caught up talking to DH and wound up late. Hopefully it will be a bounce that clears quickly. I'm sure she's in for a lot of them again.

Edit: I may have given her too much high carb after her 77 @ +3. She'll probably finish the day yellow now if she doesn't start bouncing. I just gave her a small lo carb after the +6 with a lot of water so maybe that will help her. Those small watered down lo carb meals usually do.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

Hi Melanie. You asked in Checkers' condo if I like levemir. Yes, he still bounces, from low greens, or if he drops too quickly in blues, but even if he does bounce,it is much flatter, than on Lantus.
He doesn't have those horrid dives now.

I see you're expecting Racci to bounce now, from the drop at +3.5. Maybe she'll surprise you, and give nice blues tomorrow. :smile:
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

Thanks for coming over to reply Barb. I've been curious about Levemir & wondering if Racci would do better on it. I think my vet also had that in mind but then saw how well Racci was doing and changed her mind. I'm going to discuss it with her when we go in for Racci's haircut/shave/demat. :lol: I have to test Racci now but think I'll go visit you and ask a couple more questions when I get back.

I hope she surprises me with no bounce but I don't think so. That would be very un-Racci-like after all this bouncing she's been doing. :razz:

Thanks for all.
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

I think Racci is doing well, today was nice...Do what you think is best for your baby..
Guess She will look lovely after her haircut/demat!! Hugs & Love from us! Have a good night!
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

I'm not sure that increasing by such a small amount is particularly helpful. Generally, unless you are close to a good dose (i.e., lots of green and blue), it's best to stick with the protocol and increase by 0.25u. Often, increasing will help to overcome the bouncing.
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

Never too late Melaine! Hugs! Tomorrow is another day, stay positive!
 
Re: 4/26-Racci-AMPS-166,+3.5-77,+6-174 too late!

Hi Roni,

No doubt about it, compared to this time last year, or even a few months ago, she is doing really well but it's been such a long time to get to this point and she's still so sensitive to change. Although maybe I'm counting wrong and should really count from when she switched to wet food which was a very short time ago and then she had the loss of Calli to deal with so maybe I'm just being impatient. I think it's only been about a month since she's been on only wet food without any dry at all except treats.

Today she did well again finally and I hope we're over the hump with this last big bounce and back to her fast clearing bounces. She felt much better too. She actually let me brush her back legs and stomach today, as well as cut out a few knots in other places! I couldn't believe it! I started giving her a double dose of zobaline every other day a few days ago. I wonder if that has anything to do with it. hmm.

I can't wait for the haircut and shave either. I just need to wait for the weather to get a little better and stop changing so I don't give her a cold from the cold floors. We're almost there. I thought we were there and then this week it got nasty again.

Thanks for the support and words of encouragement. I needed it. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top