4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136 - Another record low

that's super! that +2 will tell you where he's headed.

having the pmps numbers come down is a great sign. orange is doing great!

usually when you shoot a number that's lower than you've done before, it's also a good idea to get a +1, just to make sure there's no surprises.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136 - Another record low, +1 168

+1 is 168. I just realized I've never tested at +1 before. This increase is normal, right? Since the insulin hasn't kicked in yet?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136 - Another record low, +1 168

very nice!

+1 is good data because it will give you an idea of how much your cat rises from food. +2 is good because it will give you an idea of about what time the insulin starts to kick in for Orange. That's good data to have when you are shooting low, because when he has his first green preshot (which will probably be soon!) you'll have a decent idea of how long he will continue to rise before the insulin starts to work. When you start shooting green, you'll be happy that you gathered this data in advance. ;-)
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81

+2 at 81.

I've got some HC and karo ready to go if he needs it tonight.

Not sure if he'll eat the HC though, I haven't tried it with him yet and he's pretty picky.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81

Yep, he had some right after the test.

He usually eats about 1/4 of a can with the shot and finishes the can by around mid cycle.

He's done with about 1/2 can at this point.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60

you might want to check again in 30 minutes.

just so's you know - if you see below 50, pop open a can of high carb cat food, press out one teaspoon of gravy (some people squish with the lid), give it to mr orange. wait 20-30 minutes and retest.

if he's below 50 again, repeat.

if he's above 50, wait 30 minutes and retest again. you can give him a teaspoon or so of low carb food to help him surf.

your goal is to keep him above 50 and let him stay in green numbers as long as possible.

yay Orange! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60

here are your "official" directions from the yellow starred sticky above on how to handle low numbers:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Janet & Binky's Food Chart for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60

+3.5 = 51

He's finishing off the last few bites of his dinner right now.

Should I give him extra LC right now or hold off for another reading and if dropping go to HC?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51

i would feed him the regular way you always feed him for now. but i think you're going to need to check him every half hour when he's this close to 50. you don't need to do anything differently until he goes below 50. it's not freak-worthy, just fyi! but just time for paying attention.

looking absolutely awesome, though. this is fabulous! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51

You're doing great. I agree with Julie -- another test at +4. Orange may be wanting a dose reduction tonight!!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51

OK - he's done with his dinner (way earlier than normal), so no more food for him right now.

+ 4 = 56
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

i know it's late for you, but if i were you, i'd keep it up every 30ish minutes as long as he's in the 50's, til he was past the nadir and had a couple of rising numbers.

i'm not positive when his nadir is, but it looks like it's somewhere around +5 or +6 on the tests that show both.

if it's too much to stay up, you can snooze in between tests. that's a good way to cope. when i do that, i stay on the sofa & leave the light on, and turn up the alarm volume just to make sure i don't miss the alarm.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

I'm wide awake right now :)

While I'm awake anyway, I have lots of stuff to keep me busy... Folding laundry. Then some work to prep for a meeting tomorrow morning. Testing every 30 min won't be a problem, at least not for the next 2 hrs or so.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

perfect! every once in a while someone will just disappear after their cat has tested in the 30's or something and those of us who were watching are wondering if they will come back or not, and if their cat is ok.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

Woohoo Orange. Those are beautiful numbers...surf right along now, and don't worry your Momma too much!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

hi julie! i just wanted to tell you that marje and patty said they would keep an eye out to see if you need a hand. my son is here, so i'm gonna go pay attention to him.

looks like you might be getting off easy tonight! enjoy it! ;-) :lol:

you're doing great! see ya tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

Hi Julie

The other Julie had to step off board for a bit so I'm popping in to watch and help if you need it. I'd keep testing every 30 minutes and posting for us. You can feed after you test and if he is in the 50s, LC food is best to see if he will surf.

I'll be watching for your next test.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

Hi Julie!! We haven't met since I don't post regularly anymore because of work crap!! I'm glad Marje is here to help you out, but I'll be keeping an eye out just in case!! Marje has me beat hands down in the knowledge department so I'm going to keep my mouth shut unless she needs me. Looks like you've got a good handle on this.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

Hi Juie - I too will be around for about another hour or so, and will check to make sure you are doing OK. Looks like you have a good a handle on things. Well done job! I too agree with what the others have posted. test every thirty, LC is good if the surf will hold. Good luck - you are doing great!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

+5 = 67

Thank you SOOOOO much Julie!

Hi Marjorie, Patty, and Michelle!

It looks like we are rising a bit now. He usually nadirs at +5 or +6 i think. I'm going to hold off on the LC food right now (unless thats really bad). He doesn't seem to be very hungry at the moment, but if he starts looking for food I'll give him a little.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3 60, +3.5 51, +4

I think you do not need to feed him if he is. It hungry. If he's in mid 70s or higher st next test, you can give him an hour.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

This is looking really similar to the evening of 4/23 - just a little bit lower.

A couple questions assuming we start going up:
- any idea why he would drop so fast on these days to a +3/+4 nadir? Other days its normally closer to +5 or +6.
- with a low of 51 this cycle we hold his current dose, right?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Julie....nadirs can change..even from cycle to cycle. Plus, there is some influence by feeding and carbbing and the more you do it close to the nadir, the more it slows them down.

Yes...hold the dose if he never got below 50.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Yes...I'd wait an hour now. You are keeping track of when you last fed and gave HC right? That way we know when it's been a couple hours without any food influence with still rising numbers. lC is ok to feed if he's hungry. They don't usually turn around on LC so it's the HC and gravy/syrup that we worry about wearing off and numbers coming down.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Since you've only given him LC, and I think it had been a while since he had eaten when you did his last test, I think you're good to go to bed if you want. I would leave food out for him, though, in case he wants it during the night. Marje may think differently, though, so go with whatever she says if she posts!!

Edit: Looks like Marje posted before me. Marje....I don't think Julie's given Orange anything but LC. Julie...confirm?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Marjorie, I haven't given him any HC tonight, just his normal food. Merrick Turducken - thats 9% carb, so not all that low but still an under 10%. The last time he ate was just before +4.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Since you have two rising numbers without food influence, I'd say you're safe for bed. I usually put out 0.5 oz of LC when I go to bed, just in case.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Great. Then I think if you get a Test in an hour and he's still up, you can hit the sack.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

OK - the hour will be up fairly soon anyway, so I'll get that test in before bed and report.

One more question before I go. Tomorrow I'm going to have to be at work in the morning. I have to leave an hour after his shot and won't be able to get back for any readings until +6. Given that he's started dipping lower, what numbers would be safe to shoot at and leave him for the first half of his cycle?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

If he does as he normally has been doing, he'll bounce. Do you have a way to leave food out and will he eat it if you do?
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Yes, I can leave food out and I'm pretty sure he will eat it.
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

+6.5 = 100

Looks like its my bed time :)

I am so proud of my Orange kitty tonight!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

A big THANK YOU to Marjorie and Patty and everyone else who stayed up and helped me out tonight!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

Based on what he did tonight, I'd say 150. I hate to have you skip if hes below that but we want to keep him safe. Nif he's at that number, I'd leave out MC. How do you feel about that?i
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

OK, 150 sounds like a plan. I had in my head 200, but looking at his SS I think you are right. He was below 150 today and I didn't have to do anything special - he would have been just fine without me here.

THANKS AGAIN!
 
Re: 4/26 Orange PMPS 136, +1 168, +2 81, +3.5 51, +4 56, +5

You're welcome. Nice cyccle for him tonight and you did great, Julie.

Hope you get some rest! Ni ni
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top