4/26 Mannie PMPS 378, +4 134, +5 80 - dental AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi all!

Yesterday's Condo

RBC today! Pink surfin' I gave him a hug, patted his head, scratched "that spot" on his chin that drives him crazy, and told him we will get there, one of these days. He had a great evening last night - with a nice :mrgreen: surfboard. I wish it had continued...

tomorrow is Mannie's dental. My vet suggested that I give him half his regular dose, since he needs to fast, etc. She has assured me that she will monitor his BG while he is there. does anyone here have an opinion on what I should shoot tomorrow? I normally shoot at 4:30 AM, his dental is set for around 9AM I think. anyways - I would appreciate your thoughts. thanks! boy is he going to be mad when there is no breffis....

WCR: lazy boy today, lots of I-) I-) I-) in his bed. We are set for a night of rains, and morning too. Maybe that's good - he won't miss his outdoors tomorrow while he is at that bad place, aka vet. He's been good today, and cuddly. I like that part.

RECAP: PINK! - yuk!
amps 301
+2 342
+6 337
pmps 378
+2 309
+4 134
+5 80
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie AMPS 301, PMPS 378 - dental tomorrow, dose?

Some vets recommend a half dose others say no insulin. The thing to keep in mind is that the anesthesia and probably fluids that are given will lower BG.

A couple of things to remember when you get home:
  • Get a BG when you walk in the door. Because the anesthesia can lower BG, you want to have a test to compare with your PMPS so you'll know if numbers are dropping. You may need to skip your PM dose or lower it.
  • Mannie will be hungry. Feed only a small amount at a time or he may scarf-and-barf. The anesthesia slows gastric motility so barfing is a possibility if you give too much food.
  • If he'll be at the vet's for most of the day, bring some of his LC food 'cause you have no clue what they will feed him otherwise.
  • If he has extractions, you may want something easy on the teeth as a treat. Baby food is a great treat. (Get the kind with nothing other than meat and broth. Usually a stage 2 food is good.)
  • If Mannie seems out of it or agitated, try to keep him in a room where there's limited stimulation and low light.
  • If he has extractions, get pain meds. Insist on pain meds. Get Buperenex. The idea that cats won't mind the pain from having a tooth pulled is nonsense.

That's as much as I can remember. I'm sure if there's more someone will add on. (Sorry if you know all of this!!)
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie AMPS 301, PMPS 378 - dental tomorrow, dose?

Thanks Sienne!

Some of it I knew, some I did not... She did tell me repeatedly that they would keep an eye on his numbers while there, in case they were dropping too much. Today he is surfin' pinks, questionable as to what I will see in the morning. Guess I will see, and then decided on how much to give him.

The last time he went he did have extractions, and they did send home pain med, though I don't remember which one it was. Thanks for the heads up on the type. and the heads up on the baby food too.

Thanks for taking the time to write all that - appreciated!
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie AMPS 301, PMPS 378 - dental tomorrow, dose?

Sorry, it's a little late, but I remembered pretty much (or even less) than what Sienne mentioned. What I do remember, and it may depend a touch on your budget, is to try to get a dental xray.... only one click and lots to tell from a photo.

In anticipation for Tizon's dental I know that I have to insist on Buprenex. My vet doesn't have it in stock. I have to insist that they order it.... hopefully you won't have to go thru that.

Best of luck, we'll be thinking of you and Mannie.
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie PMPS 378, +4 134 - dental tomorrow, dose?

hi and thanks... and no problem on the hour. I remember by vet mentioning x-ray when i made the appt. i know that when i get him there tomorrow I have a new check in procedure there where i need to specify certain available options... should be interesting.

and maybe it is even late to ask this - and showing my lack of knowledge - why buprenex over other pain meds?

and we are at 134 at +4 -- another one of his dramatic drops.... shesshhhh i hope this stabilizes before I have to put him on a fast. ought to be interesting as well.
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie PMPS 378, +4 134 - dental tomorrow, dose?

Hi Michelle and Mannie!!! Scrabble had a dental about 3 weeks or so ago along with surgery on the same day for his absess (poor guy!) . We didn't fast before hand because the dental was a last minute decision since he was already going to be under from the surgery. He dropped quite low from the anethesia and I ended up not giving him a shot that night after his dental. He was hungry when he got home and I fed him small amounts throughout the night. He did not have any xrays or tooth extractions when there. Just thought I would tell you what we went through! Hope for a good day for you guys tomorrow! It was a very good experience though!!
 
Re: 4/26 Mannie PMPS 378, +4 134 - dental tomorrow, dose?

Hi Michelle - and thank you! It does help to read others experiences! I just hope the timing of all this works out - he's on a 4:30am, 4:30pm shoot schedule. I hope to have him home in time to test, etc before shoot time. Guess we shall see :smile: I hope there are no extractions this time - last time there were three. poor guy!, though he didn't seem too bothered by that aspect.

anyways - thanks for the post! no matter how many times i have been through this with all by kitties, i still worry each time. silly, but it is what it is.

Scrabble sure is looking good these days - congrats and way to go!
 
+5 @ 80. i hope for a surf. just a nice :mrgreen: surf...

I also gave him a snack, as this clear is going down fast. mr drama is at it again. more cliff diving, not too sure if he took the bungee cord with him. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top