LaurieL
Member Since 2011
Last Wednesday, Gracie spent the day with the vet who treated her at the animal emergency hospital to get a blood glucose curve. These were her numbers: (I fed Gracie and gave her a shot of 1 unit at 8am before leaving)
8:45am 352; 10:45am 271; 12:45pm 253; 2:45pm 262; 5:30pm 288
The vet didn't increase Gracie's dose based on those numbers. I'm supposed to keep giving her 1 U of Lantus twice a day and in a month she said I could do the curve at home and email her the numbers.
Gracie has been getting her insulin shots at home since she was discharged from the hospital on 4/13. (She had been admitted and diagnosed with diabetes and treated for ketoacidosis.)
Gracie likes her new canned food, is tolerating the shots pretty well but has started to protest against the ear pokes. This morning her AMPS was 271. Yesterday she tested 251 +5 hours after her shot, and right before her 8pm shot the number was 308. I wonder if she needs a bigger dose of Lantus?
Thanks for your patience while I'm learning what to do here.
At 1pm (+5) her number was 273. Since this is higher than her AMPS 271 at 8am does this mean that I didn't give the shot properly this morning?
8:45am 352; 10:45am 271; 12:45pm 253; 2:45pm 262; 5:30pm 288
The vet didn't increase Gracie's dose based on those numbers. I'm supposed to keep giving her 1 U of Lantus twice a day and in a month she said I could do the curve at home and email her the numbers.
Gracie has been getting her insulin shots at home since she was discharged from the hospital on 4/13. (She had been admitted and diagnosed with diabetes and treated for ketoacidosis.)
Gracie likes her new canned food, is tolerating the shots pretty well but has started to protest against the ear pokes. This morning her AMPS was 271. Yesterday she tested 251 +5 hours after her shot, and right before her 8pm shot the number was 308. I wonder if she needs a bigger dose of Lantus?
Thanks for your patience while I'm learning what to do here.
At 1pm (+5) her number was 273. Since this is higher than her AMPS 271 at 8am does this mean that I didn't give the shot properly this morning?