4/26 Jesse AMPS 512, PMPS 433 inc to 2.25u

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wasn't begging for food this morning so I was afraid he wouldn't eat. I brought the dish to him on my bed and he ate normally - thank God! Can't figure out why he's so high, but he does still have a cold.
 
Re: 4/27 Jesse AMPS 512

Hi guys .. ouch on that number jesse .. hope the cold goes away soon and the numbers start coming down ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/26 Jesse AMPS 512

Whenever you're ready, I'd suggest increasing Jesse's dose. Have you been able to get a ketone test?

Also, please get at least a before bed test every night. L-lysine may help with the cold. I linked the brand I use. There are no additives. You mix 1/8 teaspoon into food x2/day.
 
Re: 4/26 Jesse AMPS 512

I will increase Jesse's done tonight. Because he's so high, should I increase by .5u?

I attempt to test before I go to bed every night (at +3), but it always seems he's just snacked. I'm going to have to pick the food up after dinner I guess (and try to explain to the others why they can't snack).

I know it's important but I haven't been able to test for ketones yet - I never catch him peeing. Any hints? I've read what some people put in the litter box, but I can't remember what it s.
 
Re: 4/26 Jesse AMPS 512

Hi Carolyn, I haven't posted in your condo before...welcome!

His nadirs are not all over 300, so you would follow the protocol guidelines for nadirs over 200 but less than 300...that calls for an increase of 0.25u. Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Regarding spot checks before bed (and other times during the cycle): It's ok if he just snacked, you don't need to hold off on spot checks because of that. The only time you want to not feed before you test is the 2 hours right before PS time...you want a clean PS test to make sure it's safe to give the insulin. It is ok for him to snack...some people give small frequent meals during the cycle, others free feed. You just want to pick up the food 2 hours before shot time. You may not want to feed after nadir, because it tends to drive up the PS numbers, but you don't need to only feed at PS time.

For ketone testing...you can use clean aquarium gravel in the litter box, it won't interfere with the test.
 
Re: 4/26 Jesse AMPS 512

Thanks Laurie, this is my 2nd go 'round, so I'm rusty. I was looking at the +6's as nadirs when they actually aren't.
I will increase by .25u

I do always get a fasting PS, I just thought getting a spot check after he's just eaten (say at +3) would be a meaningless number.

Thanks for the litter box tip!
 
Re: 4/26 Jesse AMPS 512

I feed at pre-shot, +1, +2 and +3. I test every time because Gabby likes to plummet early in the cycle. Food doesn't make a difference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top