4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1, 38 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley is 114 tonight. I am trying to get an answer to a bounce question. Is there a way to keep Harley from bouncing. He has IAA and I have been told (heard, read) that he should get to 40 before a dose decrease. When he gets there (or below), he will bounce to the high 300's or 400's. Is there a way to not bounce but still get to a point where I can reduce his dose.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114 - bounce question

Hey Pattie...I don't have an answer for your question. But wanted to say hi and bounce this back up so the 'perts can take a looksie.

Have a good evening.
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1 - bounce question

Yikes - Harley has dropped 40 points in 1 hour. This may be another dose decrease.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1 - bounce question

Hi guys .. sorry I can't answer your question .. we went through the same with mocha, even though she didn't have IAA but when she went low she bounced really hard .. I hope others can help answer this for you ..
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1 - bounce question

Pattie:

I've never heard that an IAA kitty shouldn't drop below 40. I just took a look at Emma/Kristen's and Do Lou/Lisa's SSs. Both of the cats have dropped below 40 (and in some cases in the 20s) and there were not big bounces. This may be a matter of ECID and Harley may be a cat who's more prone to bounces. I'd also factor in how big and/or how fast the drop is.

One thing you could try is to use the alternative 3 drops below 50 to earn a decrease. Let's see what some of the others have to say.

I've also seen some of the IAA beans take a larger than 0.25u dose. I think you'd have to go carefully, though, so you don't lose momentum. Some of those times when you've had to really work to keep Harley's numbers up seems like maybe a larger reduction wouldn't be a bad thing.
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1 - bounce question

I thought that dropping into the 20's was dangerous. I might try the 3x's below 50 sometime to see how he responds. Tonight I am worried for some reason. I think because he is dropping so fast. He is now 43 +2.5. I have not given HC but might see what he is over the next 30 min to 1 hour.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/26 Harley PMPS 114, 74 +1 - bounce question

you really DO know Harley, so don't be afraid to HC. I would, if Lucy or Jazzy was in the 40s and dropping that early in the cycle.

I've been looking at your spreadsheet, and I think there is a possibility Harley's dose is too high. I see that every 2-3 days he drops very low, then bounces for 2-3 days, then drops very low again. He might be bouncing because he is getting too much insulin. I would keep taking reductions as they are earned, and hope that when he gets to a better dose he will flatten out.

Looking at Sandy/Black Kitty's spreadsheet, at the time when he turned around and started going down the dosing scale, there was one period where she took a big reduction and it held. Look on BK's spreadsheet on around 6/24/09. She had a bunch of BCS doses in a row, a whole unit less than his regular dose, and that dose actually stuck and he kept going down from there. I don't know this for sure, but it seems logical that if the IAA resistance has broken then Harley might need a much lower dose than he did before. What I'm saying is, don't be afraid to go with your gut. If a reduction doesn't hold, you can always go back up, but I wouldn't hesitate to take reductions that he earns.
 
I will see how Harley is tomorrow AM (or even what he does tonight), but I may go for a full .5u reduction instead of the .25 that I have gone with. Keeping fingers crossed.

pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top