? 4/26 Gizzy, Food bump question, AMPS=316, admin 1.25, +2=272, +6=204

Steph&Pippie

Member Since 2021
Good evening!
I have a question about food bumps, I understand the concept obviously but how is that taken into consideration when following what his numbers are doing? If I feed him every time I check his blood glucose aren't I getting a false high number the next time? Thanks!
 
Hi Stephanie,

Here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-dosed-1-25-2-298-5-245.246607/#post-2781993

I test the cat before I feed. The drill around here is usually test-feed-shoot. The feeding and shooting part is usually done at the same time, with the cat's head in the bowl eating. :) I break Ruby's meals into three meals in the AM and three in the PM with about 2-3 hours in between and I test before I give food so I have an idea of how she's doing in between food bumps. Make sense? That way she also positively associates testing with a yummy meal so she's all for the poke. :cat: Since Gizzy isn't regulated yet and his reactions to food is still a little unpredictable, you should pick up food two hours before shooting to make sure you're not artificially inflating a number that may not be safe to shoot.
 
Good evening!
I have a question about food bumps, I understand the concept obviously but how is that taken into consideration when following what his numbers are doing? If I feed him every time I check his blood glucose aren't I getting a false high number the next time? Thanks!
We ask new members to not feed for the 2 hours preshot because we don’t want the preshot number influenced by food. As time goes by you will get to know what sort of food bump your cat gets. Some cats get none and some cats get quite a food bump
During the cycles it is normal for the cat to eat...the food and the insulin work hand in hand. What we are wanting to see, during a cycle, is how the cat is managing that dose of insulin with the food he is normally eating throughout the day. If you didnt give food during the cycle, the BGs would probably be different to if you did give food during the cycle. That is why it is important to feed consistently during every cycle and not give a lot during one cycle and nothing the next.
So do your test/feed/ shoot at preshot then feed at +3 and +6 or whatever routine you have.....and do your spot checks during each cycle..and give a treat each time. Ignore when he has eaten during the cycle when you test. That will give you a true indication what the BGs are doing during his normal day.
Does that make sense.?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top