4/25 Willie PMPS (+12.5) 72, +1~93, +3~65 , +4~68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo

wasn't expecting that number this morning! :shock: in my fog, I retested 4 more times, poor guy. Fed a little GPP to get him up before this hits. I can work from home today if I really need to, though I'd prefer not to.... my boss is still touchy about it, but in a few weeks i'll have a laptop for work, which will make it easier. not sure if insulin went in, so maybe it's a moot point. he squirmed, so I thought I readjusted before pushing the plunger, but at .5u, it is hard to tell. going to practice micro dosing today... we may (antijinx) be at .25u soon.

Willie has assumed the btb position. setting alarm for a +1. back later!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61 poss. fur shot

Isn't it weird with furshots? We never expect them because if we did, we would always readjust. But, as many times as we all have done this, we misfire once in a while. I have never, but wondered if any one gives a second, partial dose with a furshot. Or is it pretty much a taboo to do that? I'd think I would want to err with safety.
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61 poss. fur shot

What a nice unexpected AMPS! I also think I may have given a fur shot this morning. With the small doses, it is so hard to tell.

Hope you and Willie have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61 poss. fur shot

It seems to be "Squirmy Kitteh" day today! I'm sure I didn't give a fur shot, but Trix didn't make it easy this morning.

Nice AMPS, Willie!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61 poss. fur shot

Wow, that's a nice AMPS for Willie. I just did two furshots trying to microdose! The laptop will be nice if you can work more from home. Enjoy your btd cuddles with Willie.
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45

Gah. Overslept his +1 and awoke to him hungrily eating. Having trouble getting droplets for the advocate last night and today... got a 57 and a 37, and the freestyle says 45, so a bit of HC it is.

Guess it wasn't a fur shot!

Should I dosecrease to .25u tonight or try and measure a shave?
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45 dose ? for pm

Christie, can you update your SS when you get a minute? I'd like to see all the data....

Also, can you please clarify what numbers are with which meter? I really wish you would pick one meter and use it..... :!:
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61 poss. fur shot

bev5477 said:
Isn't it weird with furshots? We never expect them because if we did, we would always readjust. But, as many times as we all have done this, we misfire once in a while. I have never, but wondered if any one gives a second, partial dose with a furshot. Or is it pretty much a taboo to do that? I'd think I would want to err with safety.

For others reading.....never re-shoot any insulin after a fur shot or a suspected fur shot. A lot of the time what we think was a fur shot turns out that it wasn't and we never really know how much insulin actually went in.

Looks like a dosecrease for Willie. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45 dose ? for pm

Spreadsheet is updated... sorry, had to get ready for work. I have noted which meter was used. Our normal meter is the Advocate, which I use almost exclusively. However, it does require a bigger droplet of blood, and there are days where Willie's ears, for whatever reason, don't want to bleed. Because that meter will still give a number without a large enough blood drop, I am hesitant to use it in those circumstances when he is also running low, so I switch to the FSL or the Relion (this morning, the FSL) so I can get a number that is accurate within the 20% range. This morning, I've had to do double pokes to get drops big enough for those meters... it can be 3, 4 or even 5 pokes to get a drop for the Advocate on days like today... and with testing every 30 minutes, it's just too much for him. Sorry if it is creating any confusion.

ETA-- He's gone through 3/4 can of 18% FF this morning and is still surfing the 50s. I can be home until +6 or maybe +7, so I haven't busted out the karo yet.
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45, +2.5~56, +3~59, +3.5~55, +4~

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and WOW!! What a morning! Willie - you sure are looking good.

No dose advice here... but I think i'd shave if it were me. I'd wait to see what the experts think. Good luck with the microdose. :-D

Willie!! Where you been? Or maybe it's me that's been kinda not here.... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45, +2.5~56, +3~59, +3.5~55, +4~

Guess this wasnt a fur shot ohmygod_smile --Great numbers for Willie today!
Look at all the Green!!! :mrgreen: -Hugs from Us!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45, +2.5~56, +3~59, +3.5~55, +4~

Here's the problem....you got the PS test with one meter, then you switched to another meter. In my view, the numbers are like apples and oranges...hard to compare and see what really happened between PS and +2. Since I *think* you have previously stated that the FS reads lower than the Advocate, I guess would shave.

Please, please, please....pick a meter that you can use consistently! If the Advocate needs too much blood, I would pick a different meter. It's very important to have as much consistency as possible in the lower ranges...there is enough variability in ONE meter, you are adding too many variables into the mix.

Also, when you see a lower than expected PS, please stall and retest in 15-20 minutes. You want to make sure he isn't dropping before shooting. I know you went btb and missed the +1 also...this could have been a bad situation. :shock: If you are going to shoot low, you need to stay more on top of the numbers than you were this morning. Safety first!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie AMPS 61, +2~45...+3~59, +3.5~55, +4~60, +5~4

I got two tests at +2 with the Advocate but didn't put them in my spreadsheet, but they are in my second post here. They both appeared to have good blood droplets, and one was a 37 and one was a 55. The only overlap between those numbers is a 44. At that point, I pulled out the Freestyle because I wanted to make sure that the meter wasn't just going wonky and I needed to make sure that he was, in fact, that low so I didn't overreact. The Freestyle gave me a 45.

I will continue to use the advocate because, for now, it is the most cost effective. The fact that maybe once a month Willie will have a day where he doesn't want to bleed, and even more occasionally that will fall on a time where he is going low, is not, in my opinion, reason enough to drop a meter that allows me to keep costs at $0.05-0.10/strip. We all have occasion to use a backup, and today, I felt it was appropriate, just as it would have been appropriate if I had needed to go to the backup because I ran out of strips, or flushed the advocate down the toilet.

I agree that the 61 perhaps deserved a short stall to confirm there wasn't a drop. I should have waited, but we are very used to shooting the 60s, and it wasn't a crazy drop from our last test of 74 last night. He's been dropping off at the end of cycles a bit lately, whether from late nadirs or double dips, I'm not sure. If I could do it over, I'd have waited the extra 15 minutes. Instead, I shot and immediately fed a large portion of a higher carb food before laying back down. In an ideal world, I would always respond accordingly when an alarm goes off. Instead, I'm human, and doing the best I can, even on very little sleep.
 
Re: 4/25 Willie PMPS 72(FS)

*sigh* the one time I have to stay home for Wilie's numbers would be the day before my midyear evaluation. Left for tbp right at +7.5, and got home at +12.25. I think I ended up shooting a .25u because I tried practicing a shave, but I can only measure 2, barely 3 drops between .5u and empty... counting drops as a large enough drop to slide down the needle. I am going to read up on micro dosing and practice more this evening. The dose I shot showed a tiny bit of daylight under the zero line. It's a nervewracking thing to measure, and feels like nothing it all when you shoot it! Kudos to everyone who has been doing this long term!

Sticking with the FS meter for consistency's sake tonight, but where I have big enough blood droplets, getting comparisons with the Advocate for my own measurement purposes. Both meters got good blood drops on their PS measurements... 72 vs. 99. Assuming both meters are "accurate" within 20%, Willie was between 79 and 86 at shot time.

After all the MC and HC goodness today, Willie isn't all that interested in his LC dinner, but did manage to get in a few licks with the purebites sprinkled on top. He's had his evening pets and LB action and I think will have some time with the toys before the bean settles in to have dinner, watch TV and read all about microdosing!

Hope everyone has a great night!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie PMPS 72(FS)

Great #s & I although I know it can sound harsh.. I am beyond happy to hear that you are sticking with 1 meter.. I know to many on here it is a joke (support group talking, etc).. but really it isn't.. it is comparing apples to oranges & makes data skewed.
Willie is looking wonderful & I am so very happy for you both!!
 
Re: 4/25 Willie PMPS 72(FS)

Hi Christie! I wish you good fortune tomorrow on your review. I do hope that it goes well. I used to have those too when I worked - hated them - ours always ended up being so counter-productive, and way too opinion and ego oriented, rather than work/job. I hope yours is good. I am sure it will be - :-D :-D :cool:

I know on the microdosing.... I struggle with them. I can't imagine measuring something that small. I suppose one would get used to it. Mannie is so far away from that I guess I don't have to worry! :lol: :lol: Good luck - I am sure you'll figure it out.

I am so impressed with how well Willie is doing. You've done such a great job with him. I remember when you first started with LL, all the issues you two went through: diet, doses, skin, fur... and look at Willie now. It is simply fantastic! Kudos to you and your commitment.

have a good evening - enjoy your dinner, and that intellectual reading you have on your agenda. Mannie says once you get it all down that you have to come and educate his bean, who truly sucks at it.

psssttttt.... Willie! lagoon, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top