4/25 Sassy AMPS 81 - Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sassy1815

New Member
Yesterdays +11 was 61

These numbers were a surprise, that's for sure! Didn't give a shot last night or this morning. Will check on Sassy again later today. She's been running and playing and generally doing great.

She has been on 1 unit of Lantus twice a day for the last two weeks (the vet had originally started her on 1 unit once a day). We generally only feed her the fish as a treat for testing, so she doesn't get it everyday. I know we should be testing her more often, but she's a fighter so it's a little difficult.

Should I be giving her a reduced dose, or just not shoot and continue to monitor?

Update: have not given her any insulin yet

Thanks for the input/suggestions Pat :smile:
 
Re: 4/25 AMPS 81

Morning....maybe edit the header in your post (first with Sassy's name :lol: ) and then write "Dose Question" in the header and someone will be hopefully be along to give you some thoughts...
Good notes on SS and I wanted to just say that Sassy is doing very well!! Wow!!
We have found that feeding fish once a week is the best route to take though....so maybe watch how many times you feed her fish, k?
Did you shoot yet or what? Do you have any other numbers to fill in on the SS. Wondering if Sassy has been on 1.0u for all this past month...
 
Hi, I see you have not heard anything regarding dose, what did you end up doing? She is doing VERY well!! Congrats on that!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 Sassy AMPS 81, +10 72 - Dose Question

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the delayed update and thank you so much for responding. We did not shoot this morning or tonight. We managed to test her a bit before we give her dinner and she was at 72. With the numbers being that low, I wasn't comfortable giving any insulin. It's been 36 hours since her last dose, and we'll test her again in the morning.

We did hit a milestone tonight. She jumped on to the couch tonight without any assistance :-D She hasn't been able to jump for months due to the neuropathy in her hind legs, so it's been quite the weekend.

Thanks again everyone! Will update with the next numbers.
 
wonderful number AND wonderful that she can jump onto the couch! Please keep us posted.

Multiple small meals can help the newly functioning pancreas work without becoming overwhelmed. Seems like she's doing fine as it is, but if you are able to divide her meals up that might help even more. If she does start to show some higher numbers (low 100's), I would try that before trying insulin, just to see if she can correct that problem on her own.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top