4/25 punkin pmps 165 +3/158

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday's condo

starting off the day with one pudding poo and little appetite. and one tired bean who overslept. so everything was an hour late.

got the cerenia in him - he nixed the salmon so i rewrapped it in beef. in 2 hours i need to get the clindamycin in him though. gave him the regular dose of insulin when he started eating, but he only ate a bit of it. he lapped up the watery parts and left most of the solids. i had added yogurt and a tsp of pumpkin to the beef, so maybe i had messed with it too much. he did get the watery stuff, though, total of maybe 1/3 normal breakfast.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265

Morning Julie. I missed so much of what was happening yesterday with Punkin. I hope he is improving, and I am so sorry that he is having such a hard time. It sounds like you have the meds on board now that he will tolerate. I wish you luck, and really hope that he feels better today. And that the infection is clearing up.

Numbers are better too. Good luck! Healing vines for Punkin!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265

thanks michelle! i have the horrible feeling that a train wreck is coming because he's not eating & i gave the regular insulin. i guess all i can do is what i've been doing. at least he's not vomiting.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265

yeah - i know what you mean on the train wreck. that has happened to me before too. You've done great with him through this whole ordeal. and yes - at least he is not vomiting! With Mannie I ended up finger feeding him until he was better - I wonder though if Punkin would tolerate that with a sore mouth. Poor little fella...
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265

Hi guys .. so sorry to hear punkin has been having some rough days lately .. I hope he starts feeling better real soon .. hang in there guys!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265

When Champ doesn't want to eat enough of his breakfast so I can shoot him, I sit down next to him and scoop up the solid parts of his food with my finger and feed it to him. For some reason, he will eat it that way even if he doesn't want to eat from his dish. I'm sure you probably already tried that, but thought I would mention it just in case. Good luck today!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230

haven't really tried finger feeding him, but i will. he's eating little bits - he doesn't like my messing with his food, but now he's suspicious. he did finish what was on Anya's plate, though - you know how someone else's tastes better. :lol:

he also doesn't like the duck and pea pill pockets. sigh. anya thinks they're great - i thought if he saw her eating them it might pique his interest, but no go. i got one clindamycin in him and will try the second in 15 minutes or so. had to wrap it in beef ff and shove it in his mouth.

i would say the fun just goes on, but at least there's no pukus or liquipoos so far today. i just keep thinking if i can keep him limping along til he gets enough antibiotic in him to address the mouth issue (and i sure hope it doesn't flare up from root fragments) that a certain amount of upset tummy can be endured.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170

still not much appetite, but at least he's back down in the blue #s after 2 days in all pinks and yellows.

poked the last clindamycin down his throat wrapped in the pill pocket. he took it and i apologized for poking my thumb down there!

not interested in food off my fingers.

I set 5 open cans of fancy feast in front of him and got absolutely zero interest. If only there were some nutritive value to my skin we'd be set. he's been grooming my arms constantly. hmmm, maybe i'll go smear ff on me. :shock: eww. but anything for my bud.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188

still no interest in eating. I did try putting food on my arm, but he was just as repulsed by it as i was!

vet appt in an hour-ish to check tooth site. should i ask the vet for something to help his appetite?

summary:
he's not vomiting.
1 pudding poo today, 1 liquipoo a couple of hours later

acting pretty good, purring, showing interest in things, drinking water (turned down tuna water), moving around, hopped up on back of sofa, watching birds outside, etc.

giving him clindamycin 2x day for gum inflammation
giving him cerenia 1x day for nausea


Q: if he's still showing little interest in eating, do i shoot the full amount tonight? we're at +6 and i think he's had about 1/4-1/3 can of ff today instead of the normal 1.5 cans by this point. i will continue testing & posting numbers, but we are scheduled to shoot 5 hours from now.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

I hate it that Punkin's not wanting to eat...I can image how you feel :roll:

I hope things turn around fast for both of you.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188

my opinion (and it's just my opinion) based on what I see on Punkin's SS:
You've had 3 cycles @7.5U, and some halfsies/skips before that.
If he's just not gonna eat for you, it seems OK to skip/half the dose. His numbers look pretty good now and he has the previous full shots to work off of.

EAT PUNKIN, EAT!
(and keep it down pls)
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Hi Julie

Keep ur updates coming
We'll see what can be added by pmps time
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Julie, so sorry Punkin still not feeling well! Keep us posted on Vetty visit. Sending positive thoughts and vines. You could check with your Vet about an appetite stimulant. The only one I'm familiar with is Mirtazapine, and it mady my cat extremely talkative and restless.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Smokey and I are sorry to hear your baby isn't doing well! Please keep us posted!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Julie, so sorry about Punkin not eating. I know sometimes AB will upset a tummy. But you've got a positive attitude and are focused on the improvement that he's made. This is probably going to be 'baby steps' until he's better. But who knows with these guys! After a good night's sleep and a good meal, he could be back to his ol' self. Good luck to you both.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Can you see if your vet has any FortiFlora in stock? Most cats think it's kitty crack and it has the added value of addressing the puddingpoo. Gabby won't go near yogurt or pumpkin but luvs FortiFlora!! You can buy it online but it's quicker if your vet carries it.

I'd try adding some rotisserie, baked, broiled, or boiled chicken to the canned food. Also, warming the canned food -- add some very warm water -- to make it smelly. You can try deli turkey, as well.

Any chance you can tell Punkin it's Anya's food?
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

Julie - I'm sorry Punkin is still feeling so yucky. C'mon Punkin - time to feel better!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 Q not eating

I'll second the recommendation for Fortiflora. I had never used it before but got it when Jazzy was on antibiotics. I ended up having to give it to all 4 cats because they were trying to steal Jazzy's food!

I have heard that many cats can't resist Kentucky Fried Chicken. When Lucy was sick, what got her eating again was rotisserie-style chicken with extra low-sodium chicken broth, all warmed up so it was nice and smelly. I think she liked the salt and flavoring in the chicken.

Have you gotten a ketone test recently? Need to get one if you're thinking of skipping or reducing a shot.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin amps 265 +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169

:lol: on the Kentucky Fried Chicken! I can't resist it either, as long as i don't think about what i'm eating! :lol:

i do have some leftover rotisserie chicken in the fridge - i'll try that.

the vet sent us home with Fortiflora - so i'll try that, too. kitty crack, eh!?

I also asked about increasing the dose of cerenia and he said that was ok. Looked online and while the normal kitty dose is 1/2 tab per 24 hours, punkin is taking 1 tab and i can see it wearing off. while it's working it seems pretty good, but huge difference when the dose is worn off. i'm going to try giving him another 1/2 tab (8mg) at night and see if that makes the morning a little better for him. all the online info i could find referred to a study on cats that even at 10x the recommended dose (.5mg/lb) there were no side effects seen. i wouldn't ordinarily be keen on doing this, but it's all a balancing act.

the vet's thought was as long as he can tolerate the current situation, some looseypoos, his mouth is looking better like this antibiotic is working. So we'll plod on.

even though it's past the nadir, i'm going to see if he'll eat a bit with the fortiflora so i know if he'll eat come shot time.

he's a sneaky pee-er, libby. I have yet to be able to catch him to check the ketones. he can wait for hours while i'm watching him, then he's snuck in and peed while i've been washing my hands, or turn my back to do something. i can't just leave the lentil box out because anya keeps wanting to play in it. at the moment we have a trail of lentils around the bathroom, courtesy of the little scoundrel.

and now i've had a haagen das bar for a mid-afternoon snacky and am feeling more cheery myself. :-D

thanks everybody!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

down to 140 at +10, but he was MORE than happy to eat. i put out a plate with 2 chunks of FF chicken on it, a fav, and sprinkled the fortiflora on one and not the other. he went first for the one sprinkled. then when he stopped to breathe, anya tried to get that chunk too and he pushed her away so he could finish it. his head is bigger than hers. :lol:

so i think i'm going to feel ok giving his shot, unless someone waves a flag at me and tells me not to. those high numbers from skipped doses were making me nervous!

i think that cerenia really helps knock out the nausea. i'm going to give him a 1/2 tab tonight to hopefully make morning better. see if we can get his weight back on him. he was 14.3 on Thursday, 14 on Saturday and 13.1 today.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

That's a lot of weight loss in a little kitty in a short amount of time. Do whatever you have to to get him to continue to eat!!
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

A fine day of trial and error!! Hopefully tomorrow Punkin will get straightened out. Have you thought of using a pill shooter for the pills? I had to use one with Stu, who was impossible to pill, and it worked pretty well.

Have a good evening, guys, and Punkin, eat your food!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

evil pill shooters. i have one but never had any success with it. he's a wiley little coyote - i have to basically push it down his throat with my thumb. we all hate it.

and now i have a weirdo fingernail thing going since i cut the nail completely off my thumb. but it's a sacrifice i'm willing to make for my bud. ;-)

if he starts giving me grief like he usually does with pills, i now know how to burrito him. mwahahahaha. :twisted:
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

I'm so glad I stopped in to read about Punkin's day. How relieved you must be, Julie. And I'm real happy to her that the mouth is looking better. That's the whole thing that threw poor Punkin under the bus. You talk about me having Gus' back. Look no farther than what you've done for your sweet friend. That really makes my night. You two have had an awful couple days. Get some good rest tonight.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

Hi Julie - I'm so happy to hear that things are starting to look better for Punkin.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin +2/230 +4/170 +6/188 +8/169 +10/140 success!

YAY!! I am so very glad that he is eating! What good news. Good luck with the rest of the evening - shot included. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin pmps 165 eating!

all righty! nice of you ladies to cheer us on!

punkin did his usual intermittent meowing to cheer me on while i was making his dish.

he ate quite a bit, left some but it was at least 2/3 of a regular meal, so i'm content. quite a bit of water mixed in. liked the fortiflora crack. it might take a little while for it to kick in and help his gut, but at least i'm encouraged.

regular insulin shot.
 
Re: 4/25 punkin pmps 165 eating!

ahhh, fortiflora. seems to work every time!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sooo happy to see that punkin is finally eating! You just be so relieved! Fingers and paws crossed that he continues to do so and puts back some weight on soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top