4/25 Nellie AMPS 338 +2 344 possible UTI?

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
4/18 thread https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-6-192-increase-or-stay.262187/#post-2939193

Hi everyone - Nellie has been on 2.5 units now for a couple of days. I accidently gave a FS evening of 4/19 and her BG spiked. Ever since then, she has been getting in the 300's in her AMPS these last couple of days. I noticed she has been drinking more and urinating more, although it is getting significantly warmer so it could be that. I got the litter that is supposed to monitor their health and it's showing possibly elevated PH levels (it's Pretty Litter and I'm getting a little bit of blue mixed in with mostly normal yellow/olive green colors). So far no peeing outside the box and doesn't seem like she's straining to urinate. She has a vet apt tomorrow and they'll do a urinalysis then, figured above all else it can give me some peace of mind even if nothing shows up.

I know she might be due for an increase, but I figured I'd wait to see what the results of the vet visit tomorrow are and go from there - does that seem right?

Anyone else have a UTI happen because of a FS?
 
It’s been a long time since the fs. Might be a bounce from the 98 the other day. Today’s amps is hopefully the high before it clears. If not clearing I would increase.
 
It’s been a long time since the fs. Might be a bounce from the 98 the other day. Today’s amps is hopefully the high before it clears. If not clearing I would increase.
thanks Elise - If she clears before going to the vet tomorrow do you think I should still increase, even if I haven't gotten the results of the urinalysis?
 
If she has a UTI it makes even more sense to increase. She’s not prone to ketones thankfully but infection can cause them. We don’t want to cause glucose resistance by holding the dose too long. If she has a UTI you would just watch carefully once the infection clears as the numbers might come down more quickly.
 
If she has a UTI it makes even more sense to increase. She’s not prone to ketones thankfully but infection can cause them. We don’t want to cause glucose resistance by holding the dose too long. If she has a UTI you would just watch carefully once the infection clears as the numbers might come down more quickly.

ok gotcha. She's down to 254 at +4 so makes me wonder if she is clearing the bounce but I'll continue to test. I'm good with increasing, just wondering when. If I'm understanding correctly, if she is clearing the bounce and goes to the 100's later today and for her PMPS, should I stay at 2.5 for tonight? But if she stays at 200's and 300s increase to 2.75 tonight?
 
Back
Top