4/25 KiKi AMPS 481 +4 278 PMPS 204 +1 256 +2 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Active Member
GASP! KiKi, you're headed in the wrong direction :YMSIGH: Imma going to hafta stick with my original plan of shooting the s0.50 until his numbers come back down a bit. Maybe our first dosecrease will hafta be somewheres between 0.25 and s0.50. He seems to need something right in between the two doses. (Eventually tanks out on s0.50 and 0.25 isn't enough to sustain the progress he's made)
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481

Morning Donna...here is yesterday's condo link for you:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12828

While on the .50u have you ever tried giving Kiki mini meals to keep Kiki's numbers from dropping too much? I am doing that with Shadow right now. The idea is to keep feeding about a tablespoon of food at maybe +2 and +4 or whenever you think the hour is right before Kiki is going to drop. You monitor the number so you are giving the added insulin and yet keeping them high with little bites of food.

It is a bit of extra work for us, but it does do the trick. Not sure about your meal schedule presently. But it might be somethig to think about....Hope you have a good day today! And Kiki....get out of that ugly red zone, k? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481

oops I even copied the link too yet -- forgot to paste it -- thanks.
I will try the feeding schedule every couple hours -- see how that works for us. Although what do you do when you're going to be gone or sleeping? Just leave out food and hope he eats? Do you shoot less? I can usually leave extra Friskies in the dish for KiKi -- the other 2 would just as soon sit and watch it dry up in the dish :lol: -- they'd have to REALLY be hungry
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481

You don't shoot less. Remember, Lantus likes consistency and if you dose hop, you are going to be constantly needing to refill Kiki's shed.

Most of us leave food out or have a timed feeder.
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481

Even if you already know that shooting a full dose will most likely tank him out if he doesn't eat? I'm really confused -- from what I am shooting as s0.50 there is literally only 2 to 3 drops of insulin left in the syringe (I've been playing around with the old pen) If I remove just 1 drop...we are pretty much at the 0.25 that isn't enuf again. OMG this is so frustrating! angry(2)_cat
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481 +4 278

I guess it depends on your shooting time. I shoot at 8am and 8pm. I can do the mini meals during the hours before I go to bed.
Then, I feed at +8 which is 3:45am. The idea is, if I give the higher dose of insulin for Shadow, I can keep his numbers up usually by feeding the drops...or right before I expect him to drop. If I give him less insulin, there isn't too much action. KWIM? If they are between dose amounts....one is too little and one is too much, you can adjust the outcome with food.
+4 is coming down...that is a good thing!
A timed feeder is what has solved problems for many on the board. They can time them to open just when food is needed. That way, they don't eat it all at once.
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481 +4 278

just a reminder that you'll see better results if you pick a dose and stick with it. Adjusting the dose every couple of shots, even if you're only adjusting by a drop, can drive the numbers higher because it means his shed is never getting full. It seems like you're only changing by a drop, but if your dose is 3 drops and you remove 1 drop, that is a 33% change, same as dropping from 3 units all the way to 2 units.

I suggest sticking with the 0.25 and holding it for at least 6 full cycles before deciding if the dose needs to go up.

Did you happen to re-test the 481? It doesn't really fit with the rest of his numbers, I'm wondering if it was a bad test.
 
Re: 4/25 KiKi AMPS 481 +4 278 PMPS 204

Libby and Lucy said:
just a reminder that you'll see better results if you pick a dose and stick with it.
I will stick with .40 -- since it seems my s0.50 is actually .40
Libby and Lucy said:
Did you happen to re-test the 481? It doesn't really fit with the rest of his numbers, I'm wondering if it was a bad test.
Didn't re-test. I think maybe he did same thing on the 20th tho.

Fine dose gradations from Steve and Jock:
0.5U = exactly half a unit
0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
0.1U = fat zero touching the line


I will start using this chart to "name the shots" -- but it certainly doesnt mesh with what our SS says UP TO THIS POINT. I wasn't expecting it to be nearly as tedious as it's been nearing OTJ -- with Vetsulin we went down to .50U and then went OTJ (I figured w/Lantus: .50, .25 and THEN off -- boy was I wrong, huh?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top