4/25 Junior AMPS 419 +4 304 PMPS 327 +6 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!

Hope you all had a good Easter.

After being on 2-5 units since Feb, reducing to 1.5u last week has exceeded our expectations. His personality is back and he's drinking normal quantities of water.

Hoping for another stable day!
Bonnie
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 AlphaTrak

I'm glad to hear that he's getting back to his normal self :-D Doesn't that make this so much easier to bear? I think that's when I started acting normal again myself. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 AlphaTrak

I know you're waiting on strips. I'd like to add a couple of things to your "to do" list.

  • Get at least one spot check (e.g., a "before bed" check) every night. PM cycle tests are important. Often a cat's numbers will be lower at night.
  • Plan on a mini-curve -- testing at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9 on a regular basis. You can shift around the times to fill in the gaps. You need to get either a full curve (testing every 2 hours) or a mini-curve in order to know when Lantus onset and nadir are and its duration. Nadir is not necessarily at +6 and it can move around.

I think Junior needs more insulin but, I think you need to have strips in order to raise the dose. Also, without some of the PM data, I'm not entirely comfortable suggesting that you raise Junior's dose.
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 AlphaTrak

Hi guys ... I'm go glad to hear that Junior is getting back to his old self .. hopefully your strips arrive soon and you can figure out junior's best dose .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 +4 304 AlphaTrak

Hello again everyone!

Junior is still getting back to normal (and yes, even I feel like I'm getting back to normal!) but I noticed that he seems to be more hungry today. I suspect it's the diabetes working its magic again and can't do anything until I get more numbers. Unfortunately I'm out for the rest of the afternoon but should be able to get more frequent numbers starting tonight. Totally agree that I need to do more frequent intervals! And thanks for the tip on the spot check.

Normally I'd call the vet today with Junior's numbers but I've decided to hold off until next week. He's always told me to raise by 1u (which is why we wound up at 5u) so calling in would be fruitless. It would be more effective to talk to him in person and than over the phone. But since he works M-Th and is an hour drive, the earliest I can talk to him would be next Monday (Sienne, I'm behind Tribune Tower and vet is in Aurora). The good thing is I'd be able to share more data points.

Will be leaning on you guys more for the next week so thanks again for all your help!
Bonnie
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 +4 304 PMPS 327 Yay strips arrived!

Yay strips arrived! Will be sticking with Alphatrak for the time being so that it's not confusing on my spreadsheet.

Tonight I'll do +2, +4, and +6 tonight so we can get some more data points in.

Junior seemed extra hungry today. He had already eaten a regular sized can of Friskies by 3 and was begging for food by 6pm. He has eaten 1-1/3 can today and will probably get a snack later and finish the day off at 1-1/2 cans.
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 +4 304 PMPS 327 Yay strips arrived!

just stopping to say YAY on the strips arriving and the plans to test more. you'll be amazed at what you'll learn with more numbers!
 
Re: 4/25 Junior AMPS 419 +4 304 PMPS 327 +6 289 Vomited a bi

Hi all,

I wasn't expecting to post anything before going to bed but wanted to note this.

15 minutes before I was to do his +6, Junior jumped off the couch and barfed on the floor. There wasn't much, about 1 tablespoonful and it was clear yellow. Ketone sticks ready and I tried to sniff around for fruity breath. Instead I got an air full of cat breath. Other than this, no unusual behavior from him tonight.

Here are tonight's (4/25) results:
PMPS 327
+1 327
+2 285
+3 284
+4 235
+5 273
+6 289
+7 202

He just got a midnight snack after the +6 (1/8 can Friskies) and is sleeping like a baby. Heading to bed now myself.

See you in the morning.
Bonnie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top