4/25 Guinness AM354|+2 289|+10 447|PM339|+3.5 357|+5.5 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning All!

Hoping to get a call from the vet today confirming an appointment this week for Guinness's thyroid scan and cardiac ultrasound. All of this seems to be taking so long and all I want is my kitty to be back to normal. :cry:

Still not moving out of the 300's on this increased dose of 2.75u. Wondering how high is dosage will go and if there's more I could be doing. He seemed extra ravenous this am.

Here's a link to yesterday's predictable 300 condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41872
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354

Looks like Guinness and Champ are just about the same this morning! Champ was mighty hungry this morning, too, but that's because the doofus didn't eat the food I left out for him when I went to bed last night. He ate a spoonful of it at about 4:30 when I got up and then I took it away from him. Not easy to do!! :lol:

I hope your vet gets back to you soon. Once those tests are done and out of the way, you'll be able to know where you stand and what needs to be done. I should be getting a call back from my vet today, too. This will be the time I finally tell her that I threw out all her instructions and have been following the protocol here. Yikes!! Wish me luck. ;-)
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289

+2.5 is 289, he actually might drop lower this morning, but I won't be here to catch it darn it! Maybe he will have a good evening after his PM shot too!
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289

Hi guys .. nice yellow at +2.5 guinness .. hope the slow drop continues all day and you have a nice surprise for you bean at pmps! I hope you get your vet visits scheduled so you can get this taken care of ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289

So, after many reminders from me, my vet finally called and made Guinness's appointment at the imaging center for his thyroid scan and cardiac ultrasound for Wednesday. AM drop off, PM pick up. I asked the vet tech who told me not to feed him after 8:30pm the night before if she happened to mention he was an insulin dependent diabetic cat...nope. So I reminded her that I still have to feed and shoot on my 12 hour schedule if possible, so she had to call back and then call me back and then call them back because I had additional questions about my feeding schedule. I finally asked to have the number of the place myself so that I could discuss his feeding and shooting schedule directly with them. So I called, and they still don't know and have to call me back. Don't they deal with this stuff all the time??????? Not instilling confidence at this point.

Is there anything else I should mention to them regarding his care while he is there all day? Also, how far beyond my 4:30pm shot could I safely shoot and still shoot again at 4:30am. I really need to try and stick to our current schedule. Here's our shoot, feed schedule:

4:30am Test, shoot/feed
10:30am Feed
4:30pm Test, shoot/feed
10:30pm feed
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289 Vet update-questions...

You can move the shot time by 30 min. without a problem. If numbers are really high, you have a little more flexibility if you need to shoot early.

This may come up with imaging centers less than you think. Also, the shorter/intermediate acting types of insulin are a little more forgiving with regard to a 12/12 schedule. They have about a 2 hour window in some cases. The trade off is there's no overlap between doses.
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289 Vet update-questions...

Thank you Sienne!

Came home at 2:30pm today to a very vocal cat meowing on the other side of the door as I put my keys in. Decided to test him. Figured he was either very low or very high. Based on our +10, very high. Gave him some chicken treats and he calmed down until his PMPS which was, thankfully, lower!
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AMPS 354|+2.5 289|+10 447|PMPS 339

I swear that Guinness and Champ are calling each other, conniving to keep their beans off balance with their damn high numbers :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/25 Guinness AM354|+2 289|+10 447|PM339|+3.5 357|+5.5 3

And we've spent another day on the upper floors. Really looking forward to visiting the lobby soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top