4/25 Callie AMPS 68, +1 114 (both AT)

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-13-callie-amps-90.261961/#post-2937274

Callie went pretty low yesterday and earned a reduction down to .25 U.

We just got 68 on the AlphaTrak for her AMPS and I gave her 1/2 tspn of HC with her breakfast (not sure if that was the right thing to do but I went into autopilot...)

Since she was just at 68, do we not give her insulin this am? (I can't remember whether you can shoot 68 and over or only over 68.) Thanks!
 
Since she was just at 68, do we not give her insulin this am? (I can't remember whether you can shoot 68 and over or only over 68.) Thanks!
Yes. 68 is the equivalent of 50. So you can shoot 50 and above (and 68 and above). WHat is she on the ReliOn (asking out of curiosity!).

Congrats on the reduction :D
 
Yes. 68 is the equivalent of 50. So you can shoot 50 and above (and 68 and above).
Thanks, Bhooma. Just gave her .25 - even though we've been at this for almost a year, shooting the 68 made me nervous tbh. We'll get a +1 to see if she needs more HC.

WHat is she on the ReliOn (asking out of curiosity!).
We didn't get a Relion reading this am. When she's in lower numbers than her "norm", I find that she's much harder to test successfully with both meters -- both because she's really agitated/squirmy and because she doesn't bleed very much even when we warm her ear and poke twice. This morning I prioritized the AT because of the lows yesterday and there wasn't enough blood left for the Relion and I didn't want to poke her again. We did get both readings during her lows yesterday though - 36/ 58 on the AT yesterday was 61/66 on the Relion. I am not sure whether the 36 was real (sometimes the AT throws us a crazy low number when there's not enough blood for a good reading) but she was definitely acting the way she does when she's dropped - starving, agitated, etc.
Congrats on the reduction
Thank you :joyful: Hopefully it holds this time...
 
Back
Top