4/24 Wrigley AMPS:383 | PMPS=393

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewalker405

Member Since 2015
Wrigley 4/23

Tested Wrigley this morning and he was 383. After thinking more last night, we are 90% sure we forgot his PM shot last night. I tested/fed/shot him this morning and didn't forget anything. We are going to start sitting out 2 needles by his testing stuff each morning so we can see that we used both.

I had a dream last night that I woke up to 75 alerts on this forum and it was all people yelling at me for forgetting his shot last night.

It is weird only giving .25 units. I put the needle in and it doesn't feel like the plunger even has to move cause there is so little in there.

Thanks,
Eric
 
What a nightmare that must have been!! Good idea to lay out your syringes. Now all you have to remember is to do it!

Have a good day today, Eric. I hope that Wrigley comes down for you. Yes, those tiny doses take some getting used to.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I've been meaning to ask: is your other cat's name Comiskey?
 
Your dream/ nightmare made me laugh out loud! How funny! It must have been on your mind. Don't worry, we have all done it.
That is a good idea to leave out the syringes. Before I go to bed at night I put out the syringe, and any meds to be given in the morning so I don't forget
 
I had to laugh at your dream too. No one will yell at you for missing a shot. We've all done things like that. I found Furball's syringe with insulin still in it the next day one time. I hope Wrigley slides down today.
 
Comiskey? No way! We are a Chicago Cubs family. Our other cat is named Addie after Addison street that runs next to Wrigley field. :)
 
Your dream is so funny. I haven't done the skipped sleep thing but have forgotten to return the pen to to fridge, lol!
 
Last edited:
too funny on that dream! good thing you are in good company here. Mistakes are part of being human and trying to do your best with your diabetic cat can be very tiring and demanding. Fortunately no one will yell at you. We've had some doozies of mistakes. One person gave 5u instead of 0.5 for her first shot. Another person was filling in while his wife (the usual cat-shooter) was gone and he accidentally gave the wrong insulin the entire time. High dose cats often use 2 insulins to manage the blood sugar. Another high dose kitty was accidentally given the Lev dose using R insulin instead of the Lev dose. sometimes one person in the house gives a shot and then the other does too. Many people forget shots or leave the insulin out for hours - so you are in good company. No worries.

the good news is that Wrigley will recover from his skipped shot - that's the "best" mistake to make! ;):smuggrin:
 
+2.5 and he is 190.

He is also insanely hungry all the time and begs for food. I think it is because he knows there is more food in his feeder but he can't get to it. He meows like crazy any time we get up and walk toward the kitchen.
 
When his blood sugar spends more time in normal numbers that hunger will resolve. It's pitiful, isn't it, and hard to ignore. I hated how hungry punkin was. I often gave him plain cooked chicken which doesn't have any carbs and doesn't affect the blood sugar much. Some people have reported that it increased their cat's BGs, but i have wondered if it was stuff injected into the chicken, not the chicken itself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top