4/24 Trixie PMPS 146 +2 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Ick on this bouncing nonsense. I'm still not thrilled with her SS...not given that she once had such a lovely flat green past.

Do you guys think her recent bounciness could be related to the food experiment? Can food cause bouncing, or is this just one of those "She's a cat with FD" things? She started the bouncing the day after I switched her from 50/50 Fancy Feast/BG Chicken to 50/50 Wellness Chicken/BG chicken. Coincidence??

Yeah, I know it's crazy to actually try and figure this stuff out, but it's what I gotta do. Any thoughts or opinions are welcome!

Have a great day everyone. It's my "day off" (I always use that term loosely), so I'm heading BTB for a bit.

Amy
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

Amy, hope you have a good day off.

I think that bounciness can happen with different foods. Simon does the same thing when I give him Wellness. He usually goes down with Wellness but will bounce back up with FF (of coruse he will not eat Wellness for more than a day or two in a row). Maybe the opposite problem is happening with Trixie. Of course, all of this is a total guess. I am also trying to figure out why Simon is bouncing all over the place lately. Very confusing indeed!

Come on Trixie...let's see some good Trixie numbers!
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

I've been thinking about this while I've been having my dinner and I'm going to have to go for no. There's the varying food spike depending on the food of course but I can't see how food would cause bounciness since that is a liver thing. Will be interesting to see what others think.

Hope you're having a nice snooze.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

Hi Amy. I don't know where my post is, but a few months back, I mentioned that the Wellness Chicken seemed to be raising Checkers numbers. I thought it was my imagination, but then others agreed, that it could be.
Just as Fancy Feast Turkey &Giblets can and does raise # for some kitties.

Hope Miss Trixie comes down nicely for you today. :-D

Thank you for all the times you offer encouragement and support, and a friendly word in Check's condo. :-D
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

Hi Amy, I just did one of your btd things and felt good! :-D
On the bounce, gosh I know with Mags certain foods cause a food spike. It took a long time to find one that agreed with her with being so carb sensitive.
You have probably tried different flavors, like turkey? I know those aren' Trixie numbers.
It will be interesting to hear what others have to say.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

I think different food can raise the BG, but I wouldn't think it would be a bounce as in the liver reacting. Of course, that is all speculation. Tarragon has only ever eaten FF classic since he went to wet food since he won't touch anything else (and I have tried it all). If that is the only variable you have changed since Trixie has been doing this, then there must be some correlation.

Hope you enjoyed your btb and have a great day off!
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

Hmmm interesting question, what about switching back to the FF/BG mix and seeing if that brings her back down? If not then its prob the cat!!! :roll:

Trixie please come down from up there, you are going to drive your bean bananas!

Enjoy your BTB Amy, that's where i'm headed too :-D

Have a great day.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 - Bounce opinions??

Jill had made an observation about foods some time ago. Any change can effect numbers. With food, you need to give a change ample time to settle. When I began using food to manipulate Gabby's curve, it literally took 2 months or more to see the effects. I would give the change at least a week or two before you decide that Trixie and the new food don't agree with one another. FWIW, I feed my two exclusively Wellness -- either turkey or chicken.

This could be a bounce. You don't know if Trixie went lower than the 88 last night. This could also be a high before a break.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Thanks for your thoughts! More than anything, I was curious as to whether or not anyone else had observed actually bounciness, as opposed to spikey-ness, with a particular food. It's not something I had really thought about before...the idea just popped into my head this morning, when I saw yet another bouncey pre-shot.

In the past, I was always suspicious that Wellness Chicken raised her numbers...but that was back when she was on just about 1.0U. Back then, she was eating a mix of Instinct Chicken and BG Chicken, but she got sick of it, so I needed to find something new. I'd try Wellness, and her numbers would start to creep up, so I'd go back to the BG/Instinct mix and her numbers would improve, but she was getting more and more stubborn about eating it. So, I switched her to the FF/Bg mix, and sometime after that - but not quite immediately - her insulin needs went up to the "Upper 2s". I recently started thinking that maybe the FF caused that need for increased insulin, so I figured - since her dose is already up there - I might as well go back and give the Wellness a shot again, and within a day of making that switch, the bouncing started. I suppose it's probably a crazy cat coincidence, but the timing IS interestig.

FWIW, she was eating Wellness chicken when she was diagnosed, too (and had been eating it for as long as we've had her...7+ years now). But, she was also eating Orijen, which is grain-free kibble. Of course she's now completely off the kibble...except when she gets her paws on civvie contraband, of course. (She is FAST!!!)

I'm pretty sure I also tried the Turkey Wellness, and if I remember correctly, it did not meet her approval...but maybe I'll try it again. And maybe I'll try bringing back the Instinct, too. I'd really like to get some variety going for her...it does make me nervous when there's only one thing on the menu: if something goes awry with that one food, we're up a creek.

Got lots of jewelry to make today...of to the studio!

Amy
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Technically, bouncing is due to a physiological reaction to lower numbers -- the liver is releasing a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones.

I would just make sure you are allowing any food changes to settle before evaluating whether or not you're getting the desired result.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Hi Amy,

I just went through your SS and it seems that you have had this issue many times in the past. Wellness is the food most often "implicated". It is true that Wellness is 4% carbs whereas BG is only 1%, so if Trixie is very carb-sensitive, it might make sense to give proportionally more BG than Wellness. Rusty will not eat the Wellness Chicken, but the Wellness Turkey is our staple. Rusty is having a pattern similar to Trixie's these days, owing, I believe, to the effect of the pancreatitis and the greater amount of FF T&G I have been feeding him to get him to eat. He loves FF T&G and it has always spiked his bgs. So before this pancreatitis I only fed it as a treat/snack (only a small amount at bedtime). At present I am feeding it alongside Wellness or BG or By Nature 95% turkey. But I am going to begin diminishing the proportion of T&G in the equation. I have also raised Rusty's dose to compensate for the greater amount of T&G in Rusty's diet (and also to compensate for the inflamation that may still be in his pancreas).

So, I guess what I am saying is that I don't really know the difference between a bounce and a spike! :lol: Have a great day and get lots of jewelry made!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Hi guys .. no advice from me .. But it sure is nice to see trixie back down into low blues .. fingers crossed she heads into green territory soon and hangs there for a bit! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Hey, sure hope you find an answer! I feed Wellness too, as well as EVO, Rupert gets bored with the Evo pretty fast so I tend to alternate, he also gets Friskies now and then too. I too wonder what on earth could contribute to the bounciness. I come up with all sorts of whacky theories trying to make sense of it. Is the food too LOW? is the food too HIGH?, is he just not getting enough? too much? is it the phase of the moon, am I wearing the wrong coloured slippers when I test him? (they are a nice shade of purple?!!) could my meter be possessed, could my cat be possessed?? :lol: :lol:

Rupert is really the king of bouncing, this morning so far he's dropped massively, once again, so I'm guessing a humungous rebound by this evening. It's so frustrating, you get a few days of decent numbers and then blammo it all goes to pieces. Are cats the only species that exhibits this liver reaction type of behaviour? I know that dogs can't go into remission... do they not bounce like this? is it related, does it actually suggest GOOD things are trying to happen? I have a diabetic friend and he is amazed at the range of numbers Rupert can attain in one 24 hour period. He says that if that happened to him he'd be a mess.

I'd love to hear some success stories from people here who have had super bouncy/divey kitties that eventually went OTJ? or at least became reasonably regulated Are there any out there willing to share???
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

Hi Amy, I would like to know the Wellness chicken mentioned, is that the Wellness Core? I've noticed there is vege inside the content of Wellness Core.
 
Re: 4/24 Trixie AMPS 233 +3 133 - Bounce opinions??

This is an interesting discussion, so I'm going to keep the question out there for a while longer!

tortie58 said:
Hi Amy, I would like to know the Wellness chicken mentioned, is that the Wellness Core? I've noticed there is vege inside the content of Wellness Core.

This is the regular old Wellness Chicken, not the Core. This version has some veggies, too.
 
Much less of a bounce tonight, more green today than we've seen lately, and a pretty unsuccessful jewelry day for the bean, who is now very grumpy. Oh well...at least Trix is green.
 
Sorry you had a bad day!! Trix is having lovely numbers tonite--Come on girl, cheer up, things will get better, the evil food will be found & tomorrow will be better--
Guess I am lucky, Moonie is so stubborn, she never liked anything but ff :lol: and you know I'd give her Anything! Have a good evening--Lubs & Hugs from us!
 
Very interesting conversations today. Interestingly, Jetta doesn't eat much wellness chicken, but she eats a lot of the wellness turkey and a lot of FF. However today she's on her second can of wellness chicken and she's getting altitude sickness at a PMPS of 577!!! This is probably complete coincidence but it thought it would add some more fuel to the fire :lol: :lol:

Either way I hope you find the answer to get Trixie back to Trixie style numbers. Glad to see she's green now :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top