4/24 Mooch AMPS 501, +4.5 485, +7.5 465, AMPS 453

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Mooch's blood glucose dropped from 241 at his PM shot to 107 at +3 and I either overdid his kibble/carb snack or he bounced and went to 299 at +6 and 501 for his AMPS. I kept his dose at 0.33 unit and he's eating his Trader Joe's turkey food today so hopefully his blood glucose will come down through the day.

Mooch sends purrs and smoochies to everyone!
 
Re: 4/24 Mooch AMPS 501

hi lisa!

just looked at mooch's condo from yesterday and spreadsheet - i think this 501 is a combination of the dry crunchies and possibly a bounce from hitting 40's yesterday. although, he has several greens in the past few days and nothing nearly as high as this morning, so if i were betting, i'd bet on the kibble over a bounce.

mooch looks like he's wanting to go you know where. if i were you, i would put all of my energies towards getting him 100% on canned low carb and eliminating the dry food entirely. when you said yesterday that he had about 1/2 cup . . . well, about 6 weeks ago we had Elie (now OTJ) who kept getting 10 crunchies as a treat here and there - his bean stopped it when we pointed out that every time she gave him crunchies he went high and stayed there for hours. even 1-2 individual crunchies can make a cat soar if they are very sensitive. 1/2 cup is a ton if mooch is sensitive.

i know you're working on the canned food issue, so i'm not trying to beat you to death with it! promise! :lol: i just thought from what you said yesterday that it sounds like he's eating enough canned food and you were worried about him being low and that's why he got the crunchies. technically, a requisite for following the TR protocol is to have them on all low carb canned food. there is some thought that the canned food is protection against a symptomatic hypo event - that's pretty important.
 
Re: 4/24 Mooch AMPS 501

Come on down from there Mooch! It definitely looks like the kibble is the culprit. Hope you get switched over to canned completely soon. Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/24 Mooch AMPS 501, +4.5 485

I'll definitely keep off the high carb kibble that I used yesterday but he's not eating enough wet so far to provide enough calories. He's 10.5 pounds and since he's not very active at the moment he needs probably ~150 calories a day. I've been weighing his food to see how much he eats by the end of the day and if it's less than 100 calories I've been making up the difference with EVO kibble. That is high calorie stuff so I don't need to give more than about 1/8 cup but he's been getting some most days. I've tried lots of canned food, cooked meat and raw and a few times I've thought he liked something but after a couple of days he decides he doesn't like it anymore :roll:

Re the kibble yesterday the spikes came about 6-9 hours after eating the kibble which seems a really long time. My previous diabetic cat Jester used to eat a couple of kibbles at a time spread evenly through thd day and loved wet when I switched her over so I never really saw any food spikes before.
 
Mooch's blood glucose has been decreasing slowly. I injected the 0.33 unit again tonight and hope he gets to better numbers tomorrow.

He didn't eat much of the Trader Joes food today but has eaten some of the EVO Core I gave him tonight
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top