Re: 4/24 Mooch AMPS 501
hi lisa!
just looked at mooch's condo from yesterday and spreadsheet - i think this 501 is a combination of the dry crunchies and possibly a bounce from hitting 40's yesterday. although, he has several greens in the past few days and nothing nearly as high as this morning, so if i were betting, i'd bet on the kibble over a bounce.
mooch looks like he's wanting to go you know where. if i were you, i would put all of my energies towards getting him 100% on canned low carb and eliminating the dry food entirely. when you said yesterday that he had about 1/2 cup . . . well, about 6 weeks ago we had Elie (now OTJ) who kept getting 10 crunchies as a treat here and there - his bean stopped it when we pointed out that every time she gave him crunchies he went high and stayed there for hours. even 1-2 individual crunchies can make a cat soar if they are very sensitive. 1/2 cup is a ton if mooch is sensitive.
i know you're working on the canned food issue, so i'm not trying to beat you to death with it! promise! :lol: i just thought from what you said yesterday that it sounds like he's eating enough canned food and you were worried about him being low and that's why he got the crunchies. technically, a requisite for following the TR protocol is to have them on all low carb canned food. there is some thought that the canned food is protection against a symptomatic hypo event - that's pretty important.