MauiGuppy
Member Since 2011
Happy Easter everyone!
Yesterday I realized I only had 3 AlphaTrak test strips left. The new shipment will be arriving tomorrow so I decided to save the 3 for emergencies. So no actual numbers today but just wanted to report that Junior's improvement continues to astound me.
This morning I woke up finding Junior sleeping next to me, something he hasn't done since January. I wanted to go back to sleep but he kept waking me up. Junior does not understand the concept of snooze alarms.
I didn't see him drink anything yesterday so I added water to his canned food last night and this morning. His litter box looks fairly back to normal. It looks like he pee'd once, maybe twice in the last 24 hours. The kitty litter is about 6" high and covering the pee, but the pee underneath it was soaked. I switched from clumping to non clumping last month and after shoveling sandbags full of pee litter over the last 4 months, I think it looks normal but not 100% sure.
It's hard to believe that just last week he was on 5u and trying to soak up as much water as he could. I'm sure his BG is still high but it's amazing that he's back to his old self, so much so that I almost forgot to give him his insulin today.
I do have some more questions but will post them in the general forum later today or tomorrow.
A HUGE thank you to everyone for helping make this the best week since last November! And special thanks and gratitude to MommaOfMuse and Julia for first raising the question of 5u when I posted my first question about a fur shot last Monday.
Have a wonderful Easter everyone!
Bonnie
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily and not weekly home testing (now being done).
Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken) and his BG dropped 190 points. Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Watching how this new direction will work and posting daily numbers to the Lantus forum.
Yesterday I realized I only had 3 AlphaTrak test strips left. The new shipment will be arriving tomorrow so I decided to save the 3 for emergencies. So no actual numbers today but just wanted to report that Junior's improvement continues to astound me.
This morning I woke up finding Junior sleeping next to me, something he hasn't done since January. I wanted to go back to sleep but he kept waking me up. Junior does not understand the concept of snooze alarms.
I didn't see him drink anything yesterday so I added water to his canned food last night and this morning. His litter box looks fairly back to normal. It looks like he pee'd once, maybe twice in the last 24 hours. The kitty litter is about 6" high and covering the pee, but the pee underneath it was soaked. I switched from clumping to non clumping last month and after shoveling sandbags full of pee litter over the last 4 months, I think it looks normal but not 100% sure.
It's hard to believe that just last week he was on 5u and trying to soak up as much water as he could. I'm sure his BG is still high but it's amazing that he's back to his old self, so much so that I almost forgot to give him his insulin today.
I do have some more questions but will post them in the general forum later today or tomorrow.
A HUGE thank you to everyone for helping make this the best week since last November! And special thanks and gratitude to MommaOfMuse and Julia for first raising the question of 5u when I posted my first question about a fur shot last Monday.
Have a wonderful Easter everyone!
Bonnie
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.
Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily and not weekly home testing (now being done).
Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken) and his BG dropped 190 points. Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Watching how this new direction will work and posting daily numbers to the Lantus forum.