4/24 Junior +11 374 on Alphatrak. Bought Contour w/Exp Strps

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Happy Easter everyone!

Yesterday I realized I only had 3 AlphaTrak test strips left. The new shipment will be arriving tomorrow so I decided to save the 3 for emergencies. So no actual numbers today but just wanted to report that Junior's improvement continues to astound me.

This morning I woke up finding Junior sleeping next to me, something he hasn't done since January. I wanted to go back to sleep but he kept waking me up. Junior does not understand the concept of snooze alarms.

I didn't see him drink anything yesterday so I added water to his canned food last night and this morning. His litter box looks fairly back to normal. It looks like he pee'd once, maybe twice in the last 24 hours. The kitty litter is about 6" high and covering the pee, but the pee underneath it was soaked. I switched from clumping to non clumping last month and after shoveling sandbags full of pee litter over the last 4 months, I think it looks normal but not 100% sure.

It's hard to believe that just last week he was on 5u and trying to soak up as much water as he could. I'm sure his BG is still high but it's amazing that he's back to his old self, so much so that I almost forgot to give him his insulin today.

I do have some more questions but will post them in the general forum later today or tomorrow.

A HUGE thank you to everyone for helping make this the best week since last November! And special thanks and gratitude to MommaOfMuse and Julia for first raising the question of 5u when I posted my first question about a fur shot last Monday.

Have a wonderful Easter everyone!
Bonnie

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WHY I STARTED POSTING TO LANTUS FORUM THIS WEEK: Junior was diagnosed in Feb and began on 2U of Lantus on 2/21. It wasn't until 3/17 that we increased it to 3U. Vet said to test him once a week and we'd adjust Junior's insulin accordingly.

Monday night I gave Junior a fur shot and posted a question on the main forum. Julia & Bandit were kind enough to provide some add'l thoughts: at 5u his dosage seemed too high, suspected his high numbers was b/c he was on dry food (he was), recommended daily and not weekly home testing (now being done).

Thursday I switched him to canned (Wellness Lobster & Chicken) and his BG dropped 190 points. Julia cautioned about the possibility of hypo b/c he had been on dry. Dosage has lowered from 1.5u (Junior's 14.5 lbs) and feeding canned only. Watching how this new direction will work and posting daily numbers to the Lantus forum.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Bonnie --

Murphy's Law always seems to operate in this kind of situation. Can I strongly encourage you to run out and get a back-up meter? (I have 2.) Often, the chain drugstores, like Walgreens, will run a deep discount on a meter and a small number of strips (e.g., 10). I picked up my last Bayer Contour meter for under $20 with strips. (The only caveat is to not buy the TrueTrack or other house brand that has the name "True" in it. They are unreliable meters and are carried by Walgreens and CVS.)

You're running into the big problem with the AlphaTrack. Strips are not readily available. This reason is why we encourage having a back up meter. Please do not shoot blind if you can avoid it.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

I agree with Sienne...always have a backup meter with strips on hand.

Walmart had that nice inexpensive relion meter and you can get a box of extra strips of $20 or so.

In fact...even since Attie started throwing some lumbers lately his allotment of FS strips ran out on last nights last reading before bedtime. This morning we're running on my old Relion and strips. But if I had needed a few more tests last night...all was cool. I had a back-up.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Bonnie (great name, same as my daughter!),

my cat's dipped down into numbers as low as 32 and i have yet to see a single symptom of hypoglycemia. people have told me that because lantus is slower, gentler acting, cats here most often don't have hypoglycemic symptoms, but that doesn't mean you aren't in a very serious situation that requires you bring up your cat's numbers with immediate action. i don't think you can count on his behavior to tell you if he needs your help.

sometimes packages don't arrive on the day promised either. it won't hurt you to have 2 meters!

have a great day today!
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Welcome, guys!! We used to use the Alphatrak as well, but the cost and availability just became too much of an issue. I'd echo the backup bandwagaon. :) I had an AT shipment not arrive before leaving for the Christmas holiday, and Willie went unexpectedly low while we were visiting my parents. Actually ran out of strips Christmas Day! I had gotten the Relion, so it was seamless and there was no stress.

Looks like you've got an action plan in place to help Junior get on track! Please ask any questions you might have... we're here to help! Hope you have a wonderful Sunday!
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Hi everyone!

Yes, yes...one thing I forgot to mention: I do have a to do list and put them in on Junior's medical history where the link in my signature. This includes getting a new meter and using AlphTrak as a backup.

Been researching between the Contour and ReliOn yesterday. On one hand there are 6 Walgreens (count 'em SIX!) within an 8 block radius of me so it's nice to know I could go there in a pinch. That doesn't include the 1 grocery pharmacy and the 3 CVS stores within this radius too. On the other hand most people on this board seem to like Relion. I also like how it's more economical but the Walmart I'd go to is near my parents' house, which is an hour drive. Then again with Relion I could get a free meal out of mom's house....

So yes, I'm definitely getting a new one and I do appreciate everyone pointing it out! I think it's safer to raise the question than to assume I know what's going on. Because I don't. LOL!

Thanks again everyone!
Bonnie
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

I saw a flag when you said "I wanted to go back to sleep but he kept waking me up." Maybe, just maybe he was trying to tell you he was low, and to get up and feed him quick. I would try to get a back up meter today, if possible.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Hi Bonnie! Just thought I'd say welcome to FDMB.

You've received some good advice already and I wanted to confirm that it's a good idea to get a box of ketostix ($10-12) to check for ketones (I see it is on your to-do list.) Junior is newish to all this and his numbers are still kind of high and the dose was reduced quite a bit recently. Not that merely having red/pink numbers would be a symptom but it wouldn't hurt to be careful.

AND your photographs are beautiful! I enjoyed viewing them.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

I think you can mail order Relion strips -- I'm in the city so I understand the lack of a Walmart. (I also saw a commercial today about Walmart starting home delivery.)
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

if you go to Walgreens, in the pharmacy they often have a diabetes magazine (I forget what it is called) that is FULL of coupons for free meters and strips. Sometimes you have to buy 50 or 100 expensive strips to get the free meter, but sometimes there are better deals. You can always just ask if there are any coupons or specials. Once you get a meter, you can order test strips for almost any of them online for not much more than the ReliOn strips. The nice thing, though, is if you are like me and forget to order, if you run out of strips on a weekend at least you can run to the store and get more.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

I started with the AlphaTrak, but it just got too expensive. I switched to the ReliOn Ultra and I love it! My Walmarts are far from me too, so I ordered the strips online. And they ship the strips for free! I know I still have to wait for them, but it will now be easier to order before I run out!
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

i'm using a different meter and i order my strips online and have them delivered, BUT it was important to me that i could run out and pick them up if i needed. i don't know if that's an important factor to you or not, but i wanted to be able to do that if i was in a bind, order hadn't come, cat got low and i went through 20 in a day kinda-situation.

the most i've ever needed was 18 in a day . . . in the midst of that situation there's no driving an hour to get more. if you opt for one that you can't get at the 8-11 stores right by you, just make sure you keep plenty spares on hand.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Just an FYI, the Relion Confirm meter is made by Arkray, and compatible strips can also be purchased from ADW. They are actually less expensive online and I've verified that they work in the Walmart meter and give similar numbers. By linking through Mr. Rebates, you can also get an additional 8% cashback.

Maybe you could go with the Relion, then have a meter available from Walgreens as a backup? You can get a free Freestyle Lite meter sent to you in the mail by going to this page. Their strips, while pricey in the drug store, are available at Walgreens, so in a true emergency, you could get them. You can also find strips much cheaper online through ADW or even ebay.

Good luck!!
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

MauiGuppy said:
Hi everyone!

Been researching between the Contour and ReliOn yesterday. On one hand there are 6 Walgreens (count 'em SIX!) within an 8 block radius of me so it's nice to know I could go there in a pinch. That doesn't include the 1 grocery pharmacy and the 3 CVS stores within this radius too. On the other hand most people on this board seem to like Relion. I also like how it's more economical but the Walmart I'd go to is near my parents' house, which is an hour drive. Then again with Relion I could get a free meal out of mom's house....

Just thought I'd chip in and let you know that I am using the Bayer Contour and loving it so far. It was free with the 100 strip purchase, and so easy to use. I am in Canada so I don't know how comparable the prices are.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

the freestyle lite is what i use - i love it, but have never used another to be able to give a comparison. i was getting the supplies at Hocks, although now that they don't give a rebate to FDMB i'm not sure if i'll continue or go to ADW. I can get the strips everywhere around here, but they are far less expensive online.

Definitely it sounds to me from what people have said that the Walmart strips and meters are the cheapest - the nearest walmart to me is at least 1/2 hr away.

:-D looky at how many ideas we've tossed out for you! decisions decisions!
 
Re: 4/24 Junior +11 376 on AlphaTrak. Got Contour But Exp St

Hi everyone!

Wow! I cannot express my appreciation enough for all the support here! I leave for a couple of hours and was surprised to see how responsive you guys all are -- with a ton of great information! Will be looking out for the diabetes mag next time I'm in there.

While I was at Walgreens, I wound up purchasing the Contour. The Walmart I go to is an hour drive so having someplace open 24 hrs/day seemed like the right decision. Plus there's a good chance I need to go out to LA this summer and will be taking Junior with me (will be posting a travel question on the main forum later). The kit was on sale for $19.99 and there was a $10 coupon to use on anything in the store. Guess how I paid for the Ketostix!

So the bad news is that when I got home, I found that the 10 strips in the kit had expired. I called the pharmacist and she said that she's going to call around the other nearby Walgreens so we can do a swap. Hopefully she'll call soon.

Thank you all for taking time out of your Easter Sunday to help me out! Knowing how supportive you guys are has been a huge stress reliever.
Bonnie
 
Re: 4/24 Junior No test strips but kitty looks good

Bonnie --

If you have a travel question you can post both here and on Health (the main board). There are a couple of people who take their kitties on airline trips coast-to-coast here so there should be resources to lend a hand.

(Some of us don't spend a lot of time on the other board. Ummmm....that would be me!)
 
Re: 4/24 Junior +11 376 on AlphaTrak. Got Contour But Exp St

For what it's worth, I have used Contour strips over 1 year past the exp date, and they seemed fine.
I even tested an old one and a new one on the same drop of blood, and results were similar.
 
Re: 4/24 Junior +11 374 on Alphatrak. Bought Contour w/Exp S

Just remember that the AlphaTrack and the Contour are calibrated differently. The numbers on the AlphaTrack run 30 points higher than the Contour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top